Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forming the next Irish Government - policies and personalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭pureza

Have to disagree there

Everybody voting for the independent group knew their position on who they would prefer for government

Ditto the 2 big parties negotiating a government

The fact you try to suggest otherwise betrays how much nonsense you require to continue ranting

Answer is a lot,an awful lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,044 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nobody I know in this constituency who voted independent voted for Lowry to lead them.
    They voted independent and anyrhing independents do after that is subject to praise or criticism. Ditto for those who voted FF FG or SF etc.

You can’t handle those you deem to have ‘lost’ making criticisms. Tough, they are going to be made.

Enjoy the rest of your day Pureza. I have not changed my view expressed in the original comment.

who are the regional independent group T,D’s in Cavan Monaghan ?

None?

Get back up the yard so with your talk of Cavan Monaghan voters having any part in the regional groups mandate(s)

Any other misnomers you’d like to introduce to try sustain your rant(s)

3 out of the 5 T.D’s elected in your constituency do not want to be in government with SF

Reflect on that instead maybe is my suggestion instead of trying to diss the perfectly legitimate course the rest are on

Who knew Lowry would be leading this group? Nobody.
    ‘my’ constituency is simply voicing a voter in that constituency’s view.

As I said, the regional group are perfectly entitled to appoint a negotiator on their behalf

Most of them have worked with him before in a technical group,their voters were well aware of that prior to voting

This you know,you’re entitled to rant about it but that’s all it is,a rant,your latest version

If there was voter fraud electing them,we could discuss that,if Lowry was angling for a cabinet position for himself,we could discuss that

If for some reason those who voted for Lowry are lesser citizens for doing so,we can dismiss that

But endless variations of rants on how hard done by we all are for not having a SF involvement in government,we cannot

Because that’s not the topic of this thread

Start one if you like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Caquas

One thing seems clear already - this will be a "five Budget" government.

So after the Presidential election in October, the people of Ireland will not be consulted again until late 2029.

Stability is a virtue in government but what is the special attraction of five Budgets? Only one, but it is an over-riding priority for FG: Simon must get his full share as Taoiseach.

When the voters trudge to the polling stations on a cold, dark day in the winter of 2029/30, they will feel a special "warmth in the hearts" for those who made longevity this government's over-riding aim. Especially if a superannuated Dáil has passed an austerity Budget 2030😥

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gabija-gataveckaite-new-coalition-to-promise-five-budgets-in-programme-for-government/a235241593.html

And I and whosoever wants, are entitled to criticise it and those who chose to negotiate.
    I could say you are 'ranting' about people having legitimate criticisms but I wouldn't be that desperate for an argument TBH.

I’m not objecting to your ranting

Anyone here is well used to it

I’m just calling it out and your disrespect for the regional groups mandate and Lowry’s to negotiate

He’s an elected T.D,12.000+ first preferences,a lot more than your party leader & running mate combined

It’s utter hypocrisy on your behalf

Some democracy carries less weight than other demoracy

Fantastic hypocrisy from an SF supporter such as yourself

Remember when your party were locked out of talks in Stormont?

Yeah double standards and hypocrisy of the worst order,all to fertilise your ranting about a situation where a majority of the Dáil in a non sectarian way,don’t agree with and just don’t want SF’ in government

Reflection on that needed

FFS, shure your'e doing nothing. 😀

Whatever.
    It is NOT undemocratic to criticise the actions of a government. This ain't North Korea yet.

My criticism on this occasion has to do with SF only in your wee head.

we are all entitled though to express why a post isn’t valid criticism

In my opinion it’s not valid criticism to deny mandates from the electorate between like minded parties or T.D’s

You’re not doing that because you can’t,you’re not entitled to

What you’re doing is saying that we should do that though,that’s the basis of your latest rant

Things don’t work that way in a proper democracy thankfully

we are all entitled though to express why a post isn’t valid criticism

Well you certainly got it off your chest.

I'm giving an opinion just like anyone else. If you wish to characterise that as something something, that's fine.

I disagree and you'll just have to live with that and stop dragging the thread off into your tiresome cross examinations. It's not your court of law.

• P.S. You can 'do' what you wish, as can any one. I'm not telling anyone what to do, only giving my opinion on what should be done.

By the way,are you expecting your opinions to be unchallenged here ? Seems like it

The poster is; Ranting.
    The poster has; no right to an opinion because the poster votes for X…are not 'challenging an opinion' it's attacking the poster not the post.

Now I am done with this. If you have an issue with me expressing an opinion take it to moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,565 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Some of them have worked with him before in the technical group… but as we keep being told a technical group is just for speaking rights in the dail/committee seats, and is not a government negotiation group, that could be more rightly applied to the Independent Alliance which Lowry was not a part of. You can say its not a surprise for example that Barry Heneghan is negotiating to support the government because of his strong connection to Finian McGrath but that has nothing to do with Michael Lowry.

Post edited by expectationlost on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,966 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

That is an incredible scene of two civil servants conspiring with people outside a Department to conceal information from a Minister. That would be a dismissal offence. Simple as.

With that example, you have made it clear that you don't understand how the civil service works.

I just asked a rhetorical question as to why you seem to expect your opinions not to be questioned,I’m under no such illusion about mine

Well it’s certainly a government negotiating group now because there’s no bar on it becoming one,as much as there’s no bar on it having a Céili !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I read on the Indo today that Helen McEntee is heading negotiations on forming the new government. That's reassuring.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/fionnan-sheahan-helen-mcentee-hasnt-blown-any-whistles-on-michael-lowry-so-all-must-be-well-surely/a1529097312.html

• Fionnán SheahanToday at 02:30
    • Nothing to see here. Move along now. Sure if there was a reason to be concerned about Michael Lowry, wouldn’t Helen McEntee raise a red flag?

The Fine Gael deputy leader is heading the negotiations on the formation for the new government for her party.

She is sitting across the table from Michael Lowry, the de facto leader of the Regional Independents, seeking to meet his demands.

In light of the findings of the ­Moriarty Tribunal and his conviction for tax offences, nearly two-thirds of voters don’t believe Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael should be dealing with the Independent TD. The Ireland Thinks poll for the Sunday Independent shows 63pc say the coalition parties should have nothing to do with him, 24pc say they should and 13pc don’t know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,928 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Looks like we're nearly there

Of course the crucial hurdle is the final one

Kerry Independent TDs Michael and Danny Healy-Rae are also involved in the process and it is understood they will review the programme for government when it is completed and then discuss participation in the coalition with the leaders of the two big parties.

Just a point of clarity on your post.

PBP who lost votes and seats did campaign to have a mandate to negotiate with Sinn Fein. All others didn't. To a greater or lesser degree, every other party has been critical of Sinn Fein.

Dismissal offence 😂 Have you forgotten that the Minister (along with all the Government) has been dismissed - by the Irish people and by Dáil Éireann? He resigned and handed back his seal of office to the President a month ago.

The key question is whether civil servants should assist in the drafting of the Programme for Government which they will be required to implement loyally for the next five years. I say yes, even though those negotiations are confidential to a very limited group.

You also say yes but that the civil servants should tell the Minister about the specific questions that interest the negotiators. Bizarrely, you think this is not breaching confidence.

You even doubt that the negotiators would be bothered that public lecture in the IT about their climate plans from the (acting) Minister and (former) Leader of the (soon to be Opposition) party who explicitly refers to the briefing by the senior officials.

And you think all this is routine business😫

Post edited by Caquas on

Lowry the first,was talking about carers allowance’s and disability benefits with the 2 big negotiating parties yesterday on behalf of the regional group

I think we should all recoil in horror at this self serving abominable carry on

Or maybe,just maybe,we should move on

It seems like the policies are mostly agreed, although FG are still pushing 11% VAT for hospitality and FF want the Department of Domestic Affairs. Mercifully, FG's Department of Infrastructure has been dropped in favour of an Agency to ensure efficiency (has anyone DM'd Elon Musk!)

Now we get to the real business - the divvy-up. FF/FG seem to have a deal with an 8/7 split of Cabinet posts plus the absurd/essential rotating Taoiseach (in late 2027). The Regional Independents have been "locked in talks over the weekend" with FF/FG. They are being offered a Super Junior but are pushing for a full Department. The Healy-Raes are also looking for a Super Junior.

FF/FG want this done before the Dáil resumes on 22 January. FF plan an Ard-Fheis next weekend to approve the Programme. FG would do it through regional meetings. Of course neither party will give its members a say on the issue they really care about - who gets which job (that's strictly for Micheál and Simon)

The Indo says FF Cabinet Ministers will be  Jack Chambers, Darragh O’Brien, Norma Foley, Timmy Dooley, Mary Butler, Dara Calleary and James Lawless (Charlie McConalogue to be dropped). IT says Jim O'Callaghan to get Justice but the Indo says he'll get AG. No such list for FG yet.

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2025/01/13/coalition-talks-agreement-close-on-programme-for-government-with-possible-junior-ministry-for-healy-raes/?

These are the existing arrangements for briefing. If the FF/FG negotiators want confidentiality, don't invite the civil servants in.

I have no issue with civil servants assisting in the drafting of the Programme for Government, but they can only do so on an impartial basis, i.e that they can share the information with others.

There are no existing arrangements for these briefings. The Circular you quoted is irrelevant - it makes no reference to coalition talks or Programmes for Government or Ministers resigning.

Are you now saying that civil servants can only assist in drafting the Programme for Government if they brief their (acting) Minister fully? You had been saying they should only tell him the questions raised (as if that were not a breach of confidentiality🙃)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,565 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

because he was the only person who could have done this?

Why not? He obviously has the confidence of the group and the backing of over 12,000 constituents & citizens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The negotiations are now all about who gets what job.

All the policy issues are over and dealt with.

It will be spectacularly embarrassing if they can't elect a Taoiseach on January 22.

Fair play to him. He knew all would be forgotten by those who called loudly for his resignation as a TD. He stuck it out and he has been rehabilitated so strongly by those who once wanted him gone that not even RTE dared ask him in that interview about a file being sent to the DPP about him that very day.

Great wee country, keep maintaining your innocence in the face of overwhelming evidence of your 'breath-taking corruption', never apologise or address what you did, your detractors will forget and come around. You will prevail.

Down in Thurles, they play senior hurling!

Michael Lowry has converted his eight Regional Independents into two Super-Juniors, two plain Juniors and, of course, the Ceann Comhairle. With a bit of rotation (like the top jobs!), he can give all his 8 TDs a spin on the merry-go-round. That's some haul in the face of a fierce media headwind and the Tribunal/Garda/DPP. Lowry could teach Trump a thing or two about political survival 😫

For Micheál and Simon, it's a fair deal if they get a solid majority. It's like the Greens without constant belly-aching and weirdness. Plus, they each have an extra Cabinet Minister to reward their troops.

The Healy-Raes are left empty-handed, it seems, but still full of bluster

Danny Healy-Rae has said “you couldn’t put a figure” on the level of investment he and his brother would seek for Kerry in return for supporting the next government “because it is so much”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,793 ✭✭✭✭zell12

There won't be room for three minsters in Galway? so is FG's Hildegarde being demoted?