Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forming the next Irish Government - policies and personalities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,032 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Out of hours GP services are already fully subscribed; often with people who are using them due to not being able to get conventional GP appointments. So right now there are no resources to use there.

Some of the people going to them, and some of those going to conventional GPs, should instead be treated at pharmacies; but the GP unions are violently opposed to pharmacies getting any further abilities to treat minor ailments as while it will take away some queues; it also takes away easy money from private patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,976 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Our governments have been elected by us.

There is no escaping the personal responsibility side of things. I have a PHEV, cost me a few grand extra, had to make cutbacks to pay for it. Installed solar panels, better insulation. Got rid of the second car and accepted the longer time it takes on public transport.

Savings on electricity and the second car will pay for all this in a few years, all it took was a little personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,178 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

yes, we the electorate play a vital role in government formation, but not entirely, and elected governments dont always do what they say theyre gonna do, not entirely….

…so you want people to take on even more of the stresses, in order to try resolve our environmental issues, definitely cant see an issue here, this will definitely work, as most are definitely not experiencing high levels of stress due to modern pressures such as extremely high rental prices and overall property prices, yup, this approach should definitely work!

its great to hear people such as yourself can actually afford to make such changes, but heres the reality, most probably cant, particularly younger generations, largely due to our highly dysfunctional property market, i.e. they aint gonna be flocking to approach 'personal responsibility' any time soon, cause they simply cant afford to!

many households simply couldnt function without the two, and in many cases, fossil fueled cars, as there simply isnt viable public transport options available to them to do so, so two, or even more, fossil fueled cars it is so…..

This is what people don't understand, preventing climate change is going to cause hardship, less hardship than not preventing it, but most people won't accept that. They want to continue on their merry way, doing what they have always done, building houses at the end of boreens, polluting our rivers and lakes with fertiliser, driving big cars, ignoring public transport because it isn't convenient, failing to invest in climate change mitigation etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭PixelCrafter

The one thing I would point out is the HSE's website is a sprawling mess. They've these generic microsites for individual major hospitals, including huge ones like CUH, which give you almost no information.

Their whole comms strategy on the web could do with a major rethink, particularly stuff like ensuring people know what to do in an emergency and what's available.

disagree, most actually know we re in deep sh1t, especially if we dont get off fossil fuels, people are not stupid, they know, we ve been told so for well over 50 years now, i.e we know!

most do actually care about this, but the reality is, they cant change, they simply dont have the resources to change, they dont have the ability to take on anymore debt and the risks involved in changing to the alternatives, they dont have the time to use alternatives such as public transport, and in many cases, it simply doesnt exist!

again, most countries have been trying this approach of 'personal responsibility', and its not working, due to the above mentioned issues….

yes many houses have been built down boreens, but most actually arent, most are now being built in bigger towns and cities, and most are now being sold at hyper inflated prices, this is ultimately where the problem lies, why most simply wont be changing over to the alternatives anytime soon, as most of their financial resources are going towards debt repayments!

was only speaking to one of these new young home owners yesterday, upon purchasing, wanted to commit to paneling the house, upon realising no grant available, idea now gone, and they may never rethink it again, why you ask, theyre already heavily indebted!

oh and what car did they buy, fossil fueled of course, again, too much uncertainty with ev's!

public transport, ha! virtually none available to them during the snow, this is a common occurrence in rural and semi rural areas of ireland, again, lack of state investment!

Most young people travel abroad on holidays for short breaks, city trips, stag and hen weekends, as well as the obligatory two weeks in the sun, not to mention the year out group. Plenty of personal choice and responsibility in that.

As for the snow, did you not read the advisories not to travel!!

yes many young people do indeed do such, but many simply dont, particularly those struggling with rental and mortgage payments, again, we are expecting them to take on even more debt, in order to meet our environmental requirements and needs, it wont work, cause again, they cant!

again, thats not how reality works, sometimes people must travel under such conditions, due to work and life commitments etc, cause if they dont, they may find themselves eventually unemployed, this is how reality is for many, i.e. taking time off is simply not possible, and the fact many are heavily indebted, no show to work means no pay, so…..

we dont live in this fluffy world, whereby all can simply do what needs to be done, or should be done!

40 years ago, when I was first renting, my wife, child and I had a one-bedroom flat, with shared bathroom facilities.

I wasn't outside the country for 10 years on holidays, once I got a mortgage. I couldn't afford to live in South Dublin where I grew up.

Those things haven't changed since, but the expectations of having it all have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,710 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Or a generation who see it as impossible to ever own a house are spending their money now rather than attempting to save for something that they can't see happening?

We have record numbers of first-time buyers, so it is only some of the generation who see it as impossible. They are following a social media led rhetoric that doesn't match the truth.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/first-time-buyers-get-record-number-of-mortgage-approvals-despite-property-prices-rising-10pc-a-year/a1875701843.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

O OK then. Have a look at the machines these lads turn up to work in. Even sleepyhead tried to con the people on his driving habits. Have a look at the background of most of our rural politicians and see how green their lives have been or are.

Again, I'm not saying that green policies aren't needed, just saying that endlesslessly raising taxes without providing the services needed to change the situation isn't the answer.

Your snipe at boreens is just a pathetic little quip at where people find themselves living for various reasons. One of them perhaps is even govt made, their housing program is in effect pushing people to rehouse in the only place there's a bit of housing available, and that's rurally. I know five couples in my local area relocated from Dublin and surrounds to it.

27,000 mentioned in thst article over 10 months, so let's assume it's 32k for a full year.

Based on the average leaving cert year being about 60,000, that means if each year people are buying houses on a relatively equal footing you'd like to see close to that 60k figure being bought. But the record is 30ish. Which means if you're not in a couple, you're screwed.

Hard work and saving only goes so far like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭HBC08

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

The difference between now and sixty years ago is the total lack of council houses (or as they are now called Social Houses) because sixty years ago the Irish Gov stopped building them and sold of the ones that existed at heavily discounted prices. That was a massive mistake.

Now, I would estimate that about 30% of the non-working, working, and retired population require subsidised housing. The balance have either purchased a home on a mortgage or have paid off that mortgage after 30 years or so.

We need to get back to building council housing as was done in the 1950s to the 1970s. You can see all the estates around Dublin and throughout Ireland. Of course, they are all now privately owned and command huge prices.

Of the 60,000 average doing the Leaving Cert, some will emigrate, some will inherit and not need a mortgage, some will work in high-paying bonus jobs and with help from parents not need a mortgage, an awful will be in couples when they decide to buy. The 32k is close to meeting demand.

I would be interested in knowing if you can point to a time in Ireland where it was possible for a single person to buy a four-bed semi-detatched, the most they could ever afford was a small one-bedroom, but that isn't good enough now.

Edit: And of course, some of those, will qualify for social housing.

I have 5 sets of aunts and uncles. All built or bought nice houses in the late 70s to the mid-80s on one salary, none of my aunts needed to work. My parents were able to pay for a big extension on the house (the house was my granny's, so they didn't have to buy it), again on one salary.

The ability to get a house on one salary is now gone.

They are all couples, which only strengthens my point. Single people were rarely given mortgages in those days.

I didn't ask when it was possible for a single salary to be enough to purchase a house, I asked when was it easy for a single person to purchase a four-bedroomed house. If you rocked up in the late 70s as a single 25-year old wanting to buy a semi-detatched four-bedroom house, you would have been laughed out of the bank.

…and many more wont be able to fulfill what we consider normal adult development, including experiencing functioning long term relationships, and the main reason being unable to leave the family home until later than what we deem normal timing, i.e. in their 20's, enter functioning rental markets, in order to help develop functioning adult relationships, this in turn will lead to highly dysfunctional outcomes, short term relationships, with severe dysfunctional outcomes, especially when these 'adults' start having babies, but being unable to maintain functioning relationships, leading to a break down in these relationships….

this in turn leads to long term traumas for all involve, which increases the likelihood of long term mental health issues, addiction problems, other dysfunctional behaviors including criminal outcomes etc etc…

…noting, the above is actually already starting to happen!

…32k housing output a year is no where near what we actually need, with many respected commentators such as ronan lyons, deeming more so towards 60k a year housing is whats actually needed, and possible indefinitely, in order to keep up with the demands, again, noting we re potentially 250k units behind whats actually needed!

Semantics comparing a single salary versus a single person. The point remains - on a single salary it's apporaching impossible to afford a decent house.

…our modern approaches to housing have in fact catastrophically failed, and are now at the point of collapse…..

Not really, back in the day, single people accepted that they wouldn't get such a mortgage. That reduced the demand for property, many lived in cheap bedsits, less than half the size of a minimum one-bedroomed flat these days.

People's demands and expectations have changed, and while government has followed suit in setting minimum standards in response to democratic pressure, the ability of the country to meet those changed demands and expectations hasn't kept pace. We would have no problem housing everyone if the housing standards and expectations of the 1970s were acceptable today.

Do we really want to go back to those times?

One of my parents was in a family of six, grew up in a council house of 78 sq. m. with three boys crammed into a room that was about 3m by 2m. That was fairly standard for the times, nowadays, they would be classified as homeless because the accommodation would be considered inadequate.

It's a really good example of the change expectations. We hear a lot of rubbish on here about how we should go back to the 1950s, 60s, and 70s, but who would accept the housing standards of the time?

…the main reasons for our now highly dysfunctional property markets has in fact been largely due to a more global movement of financialisation of our property markets, this approach has been promoted by successive governments both here in ireland and across most advanced nations around the world, whereby it was promoted that states withdraw from providing critical societal needs such as housing, and promote more market based sectors, in particular the fire sectors(finance, insurance and real estate), hence why these sectors play a far more significant role in our modern economies, i.e. hence why investment funds play a large role here in ireland etc.

a part of why we now live longer has in fact been directly related to increased living standards, including the quality of homes we now live in, by advocating for less, or a return to previous generational standards, effectively advocates for a reduction in living standards, which in turn could lead to a reduction in life expectancy for some!

whos talking about going back?

its time for us to be adults, to accept our failures, to accept theres something fundamentally wrong with our approach to housing, and the fact, these issues will not be resolved this decade, im fact, theres a very good chance these issues are gonna be much much worse when we eventually make it into the 30's!

modern family sizes are much smaller, due to many different reasons, such as more life opportunities, but also the fact of the social dysfunctions that are now being induced due to our failures in regards property…

If you are interested in both equality and sustainable living, you have to accept that if the world is to become a more equal and sustainable place for everyone to live in, and you accept a timeframe of several centuries to achieve this, then the living standards of people in Ireland will have to fall gradually but continuously for many generations. If you want equality in a shorter timeframe, you will have to accept sharper drops in living standards.

That is the problem with balancing equality and sustainability.

And there is the conundrum, modern family sizes are smaller, yet, average living space per capita has hugely increased, by a factor much greater than the reduction in family sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Caquas

It looks like Simon will continue as acting Taoiseach for three months after losing the election.

The election of a Taoiseach by the new Dáil will await the process of finalising the new Programme for Government and then getting it approved by FF and FG party members.

The approval involves holding a series of regional meetings, meaning a document would need to be signed off by this weekend.

"The process is likely to model the election of a party leader, whereby you have a number of regional events allowing members to discuss the matter and then regional voting," a source said.

I doubt this Programme will be signed off this weekend - the divvy-up is not agreed. This won't be complete by the time the Dáil meets again on 22 January and it may well be the end of January before MM is elected Taoiseach. Of course, the process of consulting party members is pro forma. Will they even know the make-up of the Cabinet or will that be a tightly-held secret to avoid a rebellion by the disappointed?

In any case, it is inconceivable that the membership of either party will reject a Programme agreed between the party leaders. Some die-hards in each party will let off steam about their party's "values" and "traditions" and the comprehensive inferiority of the other shower, but we'll hear no more of that talk until the next election (i.e. 2029, barring a national disaster on the scale of the Crash).

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/elections-2024/new-taoiseach-election-deadline-in-doubt-over-party-approval/a1005087237.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's an amazing apologist post. Every expert and TD acknowledges that we have no supply and need 50k-60k+ per year to only start catching up but you think 32k is sufficient. The broken housing market is impacting on many social and economic levels. It's a disaster. It's pathetic to deny it.

I rem the 80s and there was no issue securing reasonable rental accommodation all over Ireland if you needed to move. That was during a major recessionary period. Ask young people today and they will show a completely different story.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

The rental accommodation in the 1980s wasn't reasonable, maybe reasonable on price, but that was because the accommodation was way way below standard. When I think of the place my wife and I rented with our first child, I shudder in rememberance. Still took a significant chunk of our salaries.