Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,642 ✭✭✭deezell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The one for flu vaccines 'sometimes you need a little extra, like that extra drop of coffee in the morning' cut to a waitress going around the tables with a glass coffee pot topping up people's cups for free, in an IRISH cafe! If you want a little extra coffee in Ireland you have to buy another one.

I kept my eyes peeled when that ad came on, and you are right. The blonde lady wasn't it? When she swigs the stuff, just as it hits her tastebuds you can see her eyelid twitch slightly. She covered it up well though, fair play to her.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The Some More News YouTube channel do ads for that AG1 stuff, they always seem to imply that it's complete piss.

This YouTuber's review found an alternative use as a toilet cleaner.

Screenshot_20250105_204922_YouTube.jpg Screenshot_20250105_204951_YouTube.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Acosta

The Three 5g vs Fibre broadband ad. "Why are they installing Fibre broadband when we have this?" Because it's much faster you dildo!

Also, Irish male jobbing ad actors without the obligatory fashionable big silly beard must be on the dole these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,028 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

They're everywhere, gormless looking thirty something's with the obligatory beard some have a touch of grey in it for that extra "sophistication" or the stressed out daddy look. That stupid fake laughing Ad about the fella who left money to some charity or other is dreadful.

That silly singing Flahavans porridge ad is annoying in a harmless sort of way, but it has reminded me to switch to my generic brand porridge instead of muesli on these freezing mornings. Here's a luxury seasonal porridge tip. When it's cooked and scalding and creamy in the bowl, stick a leftover Lindor roundy chokky sweet into it, it will melt it as it cools. Stir once and yum.

The On The Beach ad with Paddy McGuinness doing the voice-over. The family in it look really annoying, the kind of wacky, OTT people who if you were put near them on the plane you would be sighing internally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,585 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Think that's that point.. even the people on the beach at the end look disgusted.

But yeah, it's a **** ad.. but it does remind me of Brits on Spanish holidays to be fair! 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

You'd need four stomachs like a cow to digest that shyte. It looks exactly like what cows 'do' when they're let out on fresh grass in the spring, and gorge themselves. Stand well clear of their rear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Europarks ad with the stupid woman rapping. I think it’s mainly on UK stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Oh Christ almighty that ad sends me mad every single time it’s on. I hate it with a burning passion.

Mr Otto Motive. Do me a favour! He drifts through about four different accents in one short ad.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Sky, the joy of staying in. The woman at the start looks normal but after discovering 'the joy of staying in' she looks like death warmed up. Like she hasn't slept or showered in days and has been living on ice cream!

She reminds me of Goldie Hawn's character in Death Becomes Her when she shuts herself up in her flat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭thereiver

The ad for a gas /electric company with the lad who looks about 17 years old .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭ollaetta

RTE's new ad for itself is beyond annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

That's a bit like me this week 🤣.

Roll on the thaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭thereiver

this is not america, theres nothing free in an irish cafe

I note Burgerking has closed the self fill soft drink dispensers in two of their outlets I visit occasionally. Were people topping up? Also, one is in an Applegreen, and they stopped doing hot drinks, tea and coffee, directing you to the exorbitant Applegreen tea/coffee station, where you paid separately. If you bought a meal with the drink included, you can't have a tea. I Fkng hate soft drinks with food. Tea with teabag in till it's builders black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yes yes! it nearly seems that they shouldnt be as old looking as they are in the ad? seems they were early 20s in around 2009? they look very old in the ad at present day, one even has a cardigan and glasses for feck sake. they are supposed to be 35 ish not 55. if they were any use or craic theyd go out for dinner in thier local town or city and then have a good old sesh after in late bar or nightclub, no wonder nightlife is dead in irelands cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭oneweb

No doubt mentioned multiple times already, there's yet another terrible alarm company ad with Angela Skanklon, talking with a guy in a dressing gown and gruff voice, who replies with an "ah" when she sez "You should get security! 🤪".

At least she's not faking some cake/biscuit consumption.

It is what it's.

Mobile companies resurrecting their tired ads after Christmas. Three with the farmer and his son are back. WHAT?!

It is what it's.

Hardly surprising, I always try a refill when I se one 😄

Some of them (eg. Vue Liffey Valley) have cups with an rfid/nfc chip in the bottom to limit the number of refills. Learnt this when I tried a sip of a bunch of flavours… only for it to deny me when I went to actually fill my cup 🤦‍♂️

It is what it's.

Ryanair and that fokkin Yank-type shouty twat 🙉

It is what it's.

Lidl and that fokkin [UNDEFINED]-type shouty twat 🙉

It is what it's.

That's gas, I actually like that one. A marketing agency finally put a bit of thought and humour into an ad that's not got an in-yer-face shouty twat.

It is what it's.

There is an ad for a bank I think where a family go from working on a trawler to having their own cafe selling seafood chowder. It has a similar issue with ageing characters, It jumps in time by 20 years twice and the family stay looking pretty much identical! Something else, the cheeky young fisherman on the trawler who grabs the captain's fork and digs in to his dinner 'you could make a lot of money doing that' would be swimming home if I was the captain.