Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1** 27th Jan Forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,738 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Oh dear lord D'arcy playign some horsesh1t by a crowd called the bog men. I can hear the cat screeching and I don't even have a cat. 😕

More licence fee money has gone to great use yet again by RTE radio 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Only had to wait five minutes for Ray to mention a link between alcohol and cancer. Positive start to the New Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Ray quickly into preachy-mode today.

"Try not to look on Dry January as a test if endurance...."

Compared to your show, Raybo, nothing is a test of endurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭avfc1874

He just can't help himself, imagine the joyless judgy Christmas he had, if he happened to go out over Christmas, watching people drinking and enjoying themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Ray's never heard of an icy blast, and him married to Jenny for years.

Ray sharing his "Soup of the week" with his audience 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Marriage to that lad must one hell of an exciting helter-skelter ride for Jenny

Yesterday, he was equating 2025 with Buck Rogers in the 25th Century. He then realised he was mistaken with his calculations!

1736265898153835564628184646342.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Like I keep saying , only subject that lad is ‘comfortable’ with is music.

Ray's obsessive terror of AI rears it's head again today. You've nothing to worry about Ray- creating an AI that would be as dull and incompetent as you. is no easy task! You're safe in your seat for now

The AI bot Ray is talking to is not in the least bit convincing. Starts slow, speeds up and finishes each sentence by asking for an opinion at the end of every sentence

If Ray is fooled by this, I would fear for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I only caught the end of the segment but he obviously wasn't fooled by it as it appears he was interviewing the person who created it unless I missed something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

So we can add numbers to things Ray doesn’t understand. Himself and Joe Duffy have that in common at least, to go with their bulging bank accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I’ll make it easy Peadar, only thing he knows anything about is music .

Forget everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Sam Tyler

I’ve been a regular listener since the pandemic times but in the past few months I feel like the quality has gone down. Most of the guests are on rotation and the real human interest pieces are few and far between. Anyone agree or disagree?

Ray doing his best interviewing Emmy.

"Any news Ray" says Darcy after the 3 p.m. news read by Ray Kennedy. "That was a very short bulletin". Ironic coming from the man who "works" for one and a half hours a day.

Then we had Ray's new fascination with living to 200 and/or having his consciousness download into an AI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭patrickc

He has a new quiz the 1234 quiz, or maybe it's the 234 it was so unmemorable I can't remember.

He said several times he may mess up with buttons as it was a new quiz, and to bear with him as anyone would do the same.

He doesn't need to be running a quiz, new or otherwise, to mess up the buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Brendan Courtney.

Hurry back, Ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭plodder

Caught a bit there where he was chatting to a woman caller (maybe a quiz contestant?) Very stilted and awkward, despite her best efforts at lightening the mood. Just shows there is a bit of skill to that kind of banter, no matter how easy it seems.

Very true, but surely you're not suggesting that Ray possesses that skill?

His pre-quiz "banter" is always awkward , it's obvious the researchers have grilled the contestants before they get on air and constructed questions for Ray, one of which is invariably: "So, what are ye having for dinner tonight?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭plodder

I'd say he's not the best and not the worst. Sure, the dinner question is a reliable fallback for him, but he does manage to knock some craic out of some people. It's not always awkward imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,391 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Conor Pope just said "feic it" at 16:26 discussing a consumer query 😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

Train driver just been on Ray; he was driving the train close to Harmonstown station on Sunday and spotted a puppy on the tracks, did the decent thing and stopped the train and rescued the pup.

He brought the puppy back to the depot but doesn't have a clue what happened to the pup; like if he is going on National Radio to talk about this surely he'd have found out what happened to the dog… Or the RTE researcher could. Makes no sense coming on radio and not knowing the outcome!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,012 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I passed the hotel on my way to pottery the other day says Ray.

Just when you thought he couldn't get any duller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

I wouldn’t advice you listen to Liveline if you’re dissatisfied with the host of this show settling for half of the story……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭robo

So I thought I'd post something positive about the Ray D'Arcy Show - well the one on a Friday
    But I was kinda surprised to see that this thread was on the 2nd page of the Radio forum, so I thought "oh no one must be giving out about Ray these day…" Oh I was wrong!

So back to my reason for coming on here - I LOVE Reeling in the Ears, the 50 odd minute slot that does every Friday, playing music & reading stories & texts about things that happened in the year - like Reeling in the Years on the telly box

I checked out the website and although due to music rights, they can't podcast the slot, but you can listen back to it from the website (one or two of them won't work) - https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/ray-darcy-reeling-in-the-ears/?page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

The pre Quiz "bants" yesterday was even more awkward than usual.

The woman with her casual sexism "my husband is a French man, I let him do all the cooking, I never know what he'll make, but I give him a little pat on the bum regardless of WTF concoction he comes up with" ...har, har...

If a man came on and said that about his wife, Ray would have had a meltdown.

The 2nd contestant was doorstepped by Ray "You are on a quest"

"Tell me more" replies the coolly evasive contestant ;-) and then totally left Ray hanging and filling dead air time for the rest of the interterminable bants. Incidently he was buying a car, but gave nothing away to the Radio Ray, presumably in case the seller was listening in.