Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan 2025 - Snow & Freezing Conditions - Discussion PART II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭TTLF
    save the trouble and jazz it up

I know this sounds crazy but some method to my madness, I try do long exposures with my phone in the direction of precip to highlight where cloud actually is,

we may be on to something

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭piplip87

Very light covering here in Virginia. You can use all the apps you want. YR, AccuWeather both had snow for here over the weekend but ME had sleet. ME had snow today and it came. Not expecting much at all but happy dogs running around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 snowaholic

watching from the sideline in Gorey, not a flake and grounded below 100 asl, boohoo, loving all those snow updates and photos, so keep them coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭selectamatic

IMG_20250106_175925_HDR.jpg

Some good drifts gathering on some of the back roads around the NW Roscommon/Mayo border area. A good lot of wet snow fell in a pretty prolonged shower from about 10:00 until about 11:30 this morning. A few hit and miss showers since then.

Temp seems to have risen from -1 at about 18:00 to just above freezing the last hour though. So there's a very slight thaw on at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭adocholiday

Met Eireann forecasting a chance of snow in Wicklow until 3am tonight. I really hope not, came home from work this evening to find a large boulder in the road from my dry-stone retaining wall. Frost-heave at work I expect so I hope it stays dry now for the remainder of this cold spell, I've enough to be worrying about without that craic!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,415 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

that just passed over me, I wouldn't feel too bad on missing out on it, ye need a magnifying glass to count the individual snow flakes. It's alot less intense than what's showing up on that radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Artane2002

The snow has arrived in Artane 🎉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Aye passed over here already in D9 it seems. Maybe Netweather radar is not aligned correct on the map and I skimmed the outer edges but I don't even think a snowflake hit the ground it was so light.

But look, tick the box. Tick the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Donegal Ken

Another interesting set up on Friday with rain moving up across the country during the morning hit that colder air over Ireland again. We could see further falls of heavy snowfall in places through Friday morning and the afternoon. One to watch at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭almostthere12

Can’t see anything significant coming Cork’s way, if that’s where you are at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭mcriot29

snowing here in Beaumont north Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Artane2002

Only a light flurry here but agreed, at least I can say I saw snow falling this winter (also my first January snow in three years). That aside, I'm surprised by how hard the frost is already.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

A few isolated thunderstorms, especially in coastal areas overnight perhaps.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭teddybones

appears to be a rapid thaw now in East Mayo so assume we have hit the slightly warmer sector of upper air temps. Closest station to me is 0.3 degrees. Expect it to chop and change tonight. Maybe more sneacta in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

Snowing in Dublin 5. Trumpet playing! It's light snow, it's a flurry but snowflakes nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭lordleitrim

Flurry in Donabate

light snizzle, as John.Icy said, tick the box but nothing much lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭esposito

Can the snow shower make it to south Dublin I wonder. Probably not

18z GFS quite the upgrade on the 12z alright. Much better disruption SE of the energy and no secondary barreling through of the wave NE to bring in a quicker transition to rain and milder air. Delaying the overall end by only half a day or so but would be a fair enough chance of 10+ hours of snow again in favoured inland and higher spots.

Need ECM and co. to start churning out some more interesting options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

Northsiders are thieves. You're getting none of it. 🤐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Looks like we are going to be lucky and get away with it again...will be very cold though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,488 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Sleety shite in Galway.

And just like that a proper moderate flurry started despite it having 'passed' on radar and its sticking.

The alignment on the Netweather radar must be absolutely goosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭john why

Very light snow in D15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Bumpstop

3 degrees here today, all calm.

I was shocked to let the cat out just now, and we have a light dusting of snow.

Cat is back in now.😀

East Meath.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,748 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,563 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

A lot of stuff coming down from the northwest. Might get something alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

Slightly heavier snow now Dublin 5, starting to cover road and footpaths but might end up a brief shower