Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭HBC08

I can't make the game but will happily contribute a tenner to watch it.Doubly so when considering the charity its in aid of.

Nobody is forcing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭TsuDhoNimh

Unless that's said in joy and disbelief at the great value, it's probably said to the wrong person.

I always think a tenner to watch a match I otherwise can't get to is unbelievable value (& I include every minor/underage/club match that wasn't part of an annual pass & the €100's if not more I've spent on them when saying that). When the profits (which should be significant enough between new rules and so many new faces*) are going to a charity too? I'd struggle to find any complaint.

Hopefully I won't be using it tomorrow, though with the weather the way it is who knows.

*New faces:

GgZJMtzXMAAFrLs.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Mayo 1-14 Monaghan 1-16 

Scorers for Mayo: R. O’Donoghue 1-1; C. McHale 0-2 (1 free), J. Mevlin 0-2; C. Dawson, E. McLaughlin, E. Duffy, T. O’Flaherty, D. Prendergast, D. Joyce, D. Duffy, F. McLaughlin, P. Towey (free) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Monaghan: M. Hamill 1-2; S. Jones, D. Garland (3 frees) 0-3 each; R. McAnespie, A. Woods, O. McGorman (1 free), D. Garland (2 frees) 0-2 each; S. O’Hanlon, B. McBennett 0-1 each.

Mayo (Starters): C. Reape; E. Hession, D. McHugh, S. Morahan; F. Kelly, D. McBrien, E. McLaughlin; M. Ruane, D. Thornton; C. Dawson, F. Boland, D. Neary; C. McHale, E. Duffy, R. O’Donoghue.

Monaghan (starters): R. Beggan; R. Wylie, K. Lavelle, D. Byrne; A. Carey, K. Duffy, K. Loughran; G. McPhillips, M. McCarville; R. McAnespie, B. McBennett, M. Hamill; D. Garland, A. Woods, S. Jones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Anyone watch the match? How did it go?

Would like to see Pearse Ruttledge get a run in the league this year, he was v good for Knockmore last year

Listened to the Ah Ref pod yesterday evening, seems like we have a new S&C team involved this year after Finn stepped away

Yeah, PJ Wilson in as the new head of S&C. Looks a fantastic background on paper (Cardiff City soccer, a few different pro rugby clubs including going from an intern right up to head of S&C at Munster back in the day, senior educational role in S&C with Setanta in recent years so likely trained a few of our junior staff and background in explaining/coaching staff which should be helpful with the expanding team there).

Nollaig O'Sullivan in as the Performance Psychologist too, off the back of her All-Ireland win with Clare hurlers (and having previously worked with local clubs here). [In one of the recent interviews, Kevin also mentioned Giles Warrington our high-performance coach. Was around last year & you'd have seen him in with the lads, but the first time I'd come across his name. Again, a super impressive background. Mainly in Olympic athletes, but the culture side of things fairly standard across sports so wouldn't see that as a big hurdle to overcome.]

Yeah, surprising Pearse isn't involved in the panel. You'd imagine he must have been super close with his form last year. Though I guess you'd make a similar case for any of Carter, Slattery, Golden, R or M Murray, Cullen, N Armstrong, O McLaughlin or Ryan. You never know what niggles or commitments could be going on in the background to keep someone out despite solid performances, I guess.

A copy/paste from elsewhere on my thoughts for the game…
    (Sounds like it was a step up from our performance against Roscommon on the Thursday night… so potentially still earlier in our programme than some & still getting our legs for now)

"Not much you’d hang your hat on as a plan or set-up there, but it’d take some time for us to notice real patterns taking shape. Looked like an early “go out and stretch the legs. Try and enjoy it”, which is pretty much what you’d expect with so many new faces all tossed in.

All sorts of caveats on weather conditions, ~12 lads high in the pecking order missing (our bench was down to pre-season squad number 48 – with potential for that to grow more if either of Jennings or Coggins end up involved as they potentially might), focus for the year (you’d imagine Monaghan should be well ahead in their programme with a much higher focus on the league than we’d have) but I guess there are still a few things we can probably take away.

– Definitely aimed to go for 2s, no question it was part of the plan with lads like RO’D or Boland frequently setting up in the pocket (a questionable enough choice in the conditions kicking a frozen block of ice, a big reason we ended up with the 10 shots short [felt like more], but I’d always prefer to see us trying too many than not enough so hard to fault it too much. If we have a malfunction in wet/windy conditions later in the year I can see us coming back to this one in terms of game & conditions management)

– Some kicks from our attacking 65 into the inside line (RO’D, Towey and Prendergast all got some joy from it) though a few too many bounced off the target (conditions a huge part to play there so again nice to see them at least attempted)

– Too few kicks (IMHO) from our own 45-65 in transition. It’d be nice to see that speeded up a bit (or a lot). Personnel could play a part there, none of Kelly/McBrien/McLaughlin/Thornton/Ivers/Reid would be overly known for their long range passing (would hopefully improve with lads like Durcan/DO’C/Flynn/Carney/Loftus/Tuohy in there, though it did look tactical or simply muscle memory from years of running games not broken yet).

– Looked a little predictable in the 1st half for where we made (or tried to make) progressive breaches. Nearly everything was going down Eoghan’s wing, with the majority of it going through Eoghan’s hands.

– No focus on getting restarts away short or in to space for runners, despite having a very young/light middle 8 for large periods. Possibly trying to get the lads in there working on the breaks/battles (it’s a skill to be trained like any other)… but we looked short on ideas too (on paper holding Monaghan to 50% of their own kicks and winning ~58% of our own looks grand… the where/when/why on our own lost ones paint a less positive picture than the numbers suggest)

Imagine the lads will have a lot more competitive and meaningful minutes played between now and Croker. Nothing you’d get excited about (overly positive or negative) but always nice to see lads like Vahey, Morahan, Prendergast & Duffy showing some sparks."

Eoghan played well. McHugh solid. Brick had a stormer in the second half. Of the newer lads Morahan, O'Flaherty, Duffy, F McLaughlin, Prendergast, Melvin, Vahey, Akram & Joyce all had some nice moments. Couldn't even begin to predict what the side might look like hitting the grass in Croker in a few weeks.

Actually, now that you mention it, Mike Murray should 100% be involved in the panel, he was one of the standout players in last year's championship IMO. If he could stay injury-free, he would be a great addition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Interesting discussion on Monday's Ah Ref podcast with Enda suggesting that the new rules / goalkeeper role is designed for Cillian O'Connor.

I suppose the first stumbling block would be that he's not playing this year!

It'll be interesting to see if teams start to play outfielders in goal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Westernview

Mention of Cillian for GK was an eye opener alright. Don't think he is tall enough anyway regardless of his football abilities.

We won't know what teams will adapt to the new rules until a few games in but already in the challenge games we had Mayo dropping 10 shots short while Galway had I think 4 successful 2-pointers? Think it's pretty clear already that we need to drastically improve long range scoring if we want to compete even for Connaught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

I don't see the compelling case for Cillian as keeper. He is a good kick passer alright, although it's usually short range passing within forwards, not long range kick passing that a keeper would rely upon.

He has kicked long range points, but is he that much better at it than other players that it's worth playing him in goal? Not sure about that.

that's before we get to his pace if he needs to quickly get back in goal after a turnover.

Anyway, it's all moot, he won't be playing in any position this year.

The big question, who are our potential long range kickers?

Definitely an area that we could be caught short on.

Boland, P Durcan (if back to best), Carney, Loftus (if he was to kick on)? Maybe they discussed it on the podcast, I was half asleep when listening to it.

yeah, them and Flynn potentially.

Maybe DOC but he doesn't tend to take on shots in recent times

Is Cian McHale good from distance? Maybe not conditioned enough for county level yet but we will need someone new in addition to relying on the names mentioned. Darren Coen was a very reliable long distance kicker who would love any extra space created by the new rules but maybe his time with Mayo has gone now.

I would have Coen at about 32/33... At that age, and considering the years spent not S&C'ing at county level, I wouldn't imagine there is any hope of a return.

Slim enough pickings really

Big demand for the rugby tickets! I forgot about them but herself was on the ball. Stand nearly sold out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Intermidiate club final pustponed. Some tragedy in crossmolina. RIP. Anyone know what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭HBC08

Read the statement from the Club.

I don't think fishing for the exact details on here is appropriate.

Yeah for Cian. He scored some outrageous long-rangers this year, from play and dead-balls. He'd be fairly high up the list.

At underage you'd have a few more with a serious boot on them with potential for the future. Dara Neary (some of his long range scores for Gerald's last year were better than anything I've seen at Senior, nationally, in recent years), James Maheady (left & right), Darragh Beirne, Ronan Clarke, Dylan Gallagher, Oliver Armstrong, Jack Keane, Oisín Cronin, Dylan Flynn and Kobe MacDonald would all have hit a selection of screamers from distance. It'll be interesting to watch if coaches try and lean into it with any/all of them, or if they end up coached away from it if/when any of them progress on with senior clubs (Neary already doing it for Parke and Maheady the odd one for Cross, though most of his damage closer in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Any challenge game on this weekend?!

All Mayo matches and training off until further notice due to Crossmolina situation

Hope for the future surely but most of those a few years away. At least there is something in the pipeline to look forward to. Very difficult to see a potential forward line coming together this year.

Not to be negative but loads of players can pop them over from 45m, it's being able to do it in a tight game under pressure from a top defender that differentiates at county level. Hopefully some of those lads will have the temperament for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭carfinder

I think it's perfectly reasonable for someone to ask what happened especially as the club statement and media coverage is vague. Perhaps the stigma around such tragedies would be reduced if discussing such tragedies wasn't taboo.

Sympathies to the Loftus and Cryan families

I don't see an issue in saying who died, but the cause of death doesn't need to be aired in public - and I'm saying that about any cause of death whether it be heart attack, stroke, cancer, suicide etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

How does a management team go about preparing a team under the tragic circumstances that have transpired in Crossmolina in the last few days? I know football pales in insignificance in the face of such tragedy but practicality means the fixture will have to be fulfilled. Another so far unreported incident means 2 of their best players will now not be available and the rest of the panel, club and community will be emotionally and physically empty. It's a terrible situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭hugeorange

Very sad few days, it has to be said. Hard to see how Crossmolina just get on with it. I'm sure things are on hold in intercounty set up too. Horrific tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

As for the unreported incident, just move on without them. Nothing else can be done with that.

As for Conor's situation, I imagine the team and the club have to make a decision whether they go out and try and win it in her memory or just concede and move on. Very hard thing for a team and community to go through! Sympathies to them all!

I get the feeling they will fulfill the fixture. Whether Conor plays or not is entirely up to him and it will be understandable if he doesnt. If the deceased was directly a player or management it would probably would be forfeited.

As tragic as the situation is there may be a reluctance to cancel a final and set a precedent. The postponement was a mark of respect from the GAA and allowed space for the search and funeral. I think it will be rescheduled for an upcoming weekend.

Spot on. Nothing particularly negative there.

Mental pressure, physical pressure and even just odds against a player making it to play league/championship minutes senior (we've averaged slightly less than 4 per year from a 20s group since the grade changes, though I'd expect a bump there in the next couple of years) are all huge hurdles.

Even without the physical pressure, a look at 50 senior county games in '23 & '24 saw ~70 45s taken at just a 48.5% conversion. Lads like Sean O'Sé, Riann O'Neill, Colm Reape or Sam Mulroy all well capable of kicking them… but doing it successfully & consistently a different beast. Those rates dropping to ~20% from play, even when it's just the sharpshooters attempting them at half value under the old rules. Throw in a few lads forcing shots that aren't really on now and I'd not be shocked to see that rate fall even lower this coming year.

I'm not sure what part of respecting the families wish for privacy was vague in the club statement.

Raising awareness is great. You only have to look to the Crossmolina jersey sponsor to see awareness of mental health being raised.

Discussing the details online in the immediate aftermath is not want friends and families want. Doesn't take much to respect that.