Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

right. What about the people from other countries?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

This is a thread about AS so I would imagine that’s why Irish criminals are not pointed out first. In reality there are criminals of both Irish and otherwise descent. Lack of prison spaces and Gardai cuts aren’t helping that. A site that was meant to be used for a prison is now being earmarked for guess what- AS. The huge sums of money being spent on AS could be diverted to much needed services like decent policing etc etc

As much as some of you deny that the current situation has no effect on other parts of society it is plain to see that it all has a knock on effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

I don’t know what you mean about other countries not having the same history. My point is that other countries are further along this path than we are and have shifted to the right. It doesn’t really matter what hymn sheet they’re singing from now. If Ireland continues with the same numbers and the same overall negative impact to society as seen in other countries the shift to the right will also happen here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rgossip30

This can apply to a terrorist so we just keep them ! !

Asylum seekers are here courtesy of traffickers , as stowaways on trucks ,with false passports via Northern Ireland, tourist or student visa overstayers to the UK or Ireland and as undocumented . There is a big difference in comparison to Irish that go abroad !! Making a better life is not a reason to claim asylum !! I don't regard your post as serious post by the way .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,863 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

A black south African can qualify because of job discrimination aparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭Field east

what happens when a person returning - either voluntary or being deported - are not accepted by the ‘host’ country . Eg when they are going through customs and they have no passport or it is designated as fake.
    I doubt very much if you turn up at an Australian border control with no passport/ no relevant papers - and you say that you are an Australian national - that you will be left in. Are you then returned to Ireland again if that is where you have flown from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭Field east

we need to stand back from the bicycle shed and the security hut for a minute.

re BICYCLE SHED

Given where it is built, the security concerns around it, the design required because of where it is and all these matters are taken into consideration in its design, THEN how much should it have REALLY cost. It is a bit ‘naieve’ , to say the least, to be using the actual amount it cost as it ALL being a total waiste of money.

Right, if it was totally unnecessary then the total cost was a complete waiste of money

But if it was needed and , say, it cost €750,000 to build but could have been built for, say, €600,000 then what those objecting to the overspend should be using the figure of €150,000 instead of €750,000.

RE SECURITY HUT

Same as above plus the following. We do not know what is included in the cost eg was all the surveillance equipment included. Did it include bullet proof walls and glass. Is the roof bomb proof? Etc, etc, etc. such detail was never made public and I can understand that for security reasons.

If one wanted to ‘attack’ the Dail physically, say, by using drones, would the hut not be your first/primary target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭creeper1

The South Africans were protesting outside the dail saying they deserved asylum on the basis of high crime rates back in south Africa.

I suppose that adds to the joke like reasons of being gay and job discrimination (if as noted above someone qualifies on that basis).

The reality is all they need to tough it out until they can say they "put down roots" and mcentee will be along to cancel the deportation order.

The best method is for them to have kids in Ireland.

Deportation would then be an infringement of their fundamental human rights to family life

There are actually serious criminals in the UK that avoided deportation on that basis.

you don’t think a gay person from Uganda has a legitimate claim to Asylum?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

You seem to think the vast majority or all asylum seekers are chancers. Is this correct?

If so, who do you think is genuine.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

The context of the post was making a comparison of Irish who go abroad as opposed to how asylum seekers come here . I did not say they were chances that is of your making .!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭creeper1

For me they are going to have to fight politically for their rights at home to be of their persuasion.

Just as laws against homosexuality existed in the past in Ireland and were overturned they can be overturned in Uganda.

It's also one of these things very difficult to prove and to be honest I simply don't care.

”Asylum seekers are here courtesy of traffickers , as stowaways on trucks ,with false passports and as undocumented . There is a big difference in comparison to Irish that go abroad !!”

You didn’t say “some asylum seekers”, the above is a direct quote. So who do you think is genuine then?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Although I agree that they should fight to have the law changed, The death penalty or life in prison was never in place for having gay sex in Ireland.

I think LGBT+ in Uganda have a legitimate claim

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I forgot to mention those that come from the UK via northern Ireland. Perhaps you can enlighten me as to a legal travel route for asylum seekers.

Those that get decided on by the IPO after a lengthy and costly appeals process .This has been too lenient in the past .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You are the one claiming they are all illegally trafficked here with no proof of your claim

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Legally asylum can be claimed by anyone from any country.

Your solution isn't legal. They must have their claim assessed. It can be much quicker however if they are from a safe country.

Where did I state all are illegally trafficked here .I also mentioned other ways asylum seekers come here !!! Read the post . I was replying to a poster that claimed asylum seekers come by legal channels.

so your contention is that none of them come legally?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I did ask you how do they come legally but you did not answer .A small number of visa free applicants do claim but those are accelerated and are rarely accepted. SA is no longer visa free .

Actually, I rejected your premise pages ago. They don’t break the law by claiming asylum, no matter how they arrive. They break the law when they are rejected and don’t leave.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Well if they are intercepted before they claim asylum it's illegal entry they can be returned even from NI . There is a border control but not that effective as the numbers have escalated . I never said they were breaking the law by claiming asylum . How they arrived then becomes irrelevant .Again you try to claim things I have not said . You rejected the premise then why do you continue to reply .

I continue to reply, because you aren’t listening. You claim they are coming here “illegally”, but no law is being broken by the people seeking asylum. If there is no law broken, it isn’t illegal. No matter how many times you use the term.

if they are “intercepted” before they claim asylum, they still haven’t broken the law. They are still free to claim asylum. It’s not complicated

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

So why is there a border control if anyone can come and just claim asylum to stay . Why are passengers returned when arriving at airports with no documents. Why are they not allowed to come and claim asylum. Why are those intercepted before claiming asylum spending 2 months in jail .Why are so many coming even from safe countries .The term irregular maybe more palatable . So who is illegal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The context of the post was making a comparison of Irish who go abroad as opposed to how asylum seekers come here .

I was wondering where you were coming from with that one. It doesn’t matter how anyone gets here, or how Irish go abroad - the point is that refugees who have been granted asylum have used the legal process, contrary to your claims, and they leave their home country because they hope to make a better life for themselves, same as yer man aiming to make a better life for himself in Canada, and trying to avoid a criminal conviction in order to do so, a criminal conviction for setting fire to asylum seekers accommodation.

That’s what the Judge observed was bizarre, the behaviour of yer man hoping to rely on the humanity of the Canadian immigration system, and the fact he set fire to asylum seekers accommodation here in his home country of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,795 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The gay Ugandan has 53 other countries in Africa he could move to but he decides to come all the way over here.

Now why do you think Mr Uganda picked little old Ireland out of all the countries he could have gone to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭engineerws

I actually don’t know if any Ugandans have claimed asylum in Ireland. But, I don’t have a problem with it if they do. They have a genuine reason to flee their own country and seek asylum somewhere safe.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Is anyone who fails an asylum application a chancer then?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky