Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭8-10

If we get 25m after a few months when we barely spent 10m that's far from a silly mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

I'll drive him to the airport myself.

Deal of the century if €25m is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,822 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

True, that's just my figure for a sale though. Loans to several clubs in Spain and Italy are rumors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭dogbert27

If Chiesa is out in Jan then I think it would confirm Mo is staying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,687 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Cool.

Trent is entitled to do what he wants, but if he goes, I'm not buying the not-so-subtle recent PR offensive talking about wanting to be the best RB ever, and it being about 'legacy'. He can be successful and have that legacy at Liverpool.

That's besides the fact he could've easily signed a small extension at some point to make sure we benefitted from his sale.

Of course, if he signs a contract with us, he's merely played a great game of getting what he wants from us, and my theory will be wrong. And I'll be as thrilled as anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,723 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I don't really like this thing of expecting players to sign an extension before leaving so the club gets more money… that's directly costing players in their future wages and signing on fee. I don't see why we should think that they owe the clubs that. None of this is charity, the teams pay their players well in exchange for their work on the field. And we know very well that that sort of loyalty certainly doesn't go the other way - once a player is no longer contributing to a club, teams will cut them loose asap, no matter how much they've contributed in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Fcuk him if he goes...specially for no fee to them

Personally I'll be disappointed with it.

Fingers crossed he dosent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭brevity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭mormank

Correct. The Bamford one was terrible but this one is atrocious. I'd actually have way more respect for them had they just come out and said "we disallowed the goal cos we got paid loadsa money to do so" rather than the piss they came out with. If they can award a penalty to Man Utd AFTER the final whistle of the match has been blown why on earth can they not award Diaz his goal after a simple restart has happened?? It's not like the match was over already or anything like in the Utd example.

I mean, you should never apply malice to something that can be explained by incompetence and all that but it goes way beyond incompetence for these guys….no one is THAT incompetent and keeps their jobs.

Agreed. And you never know what might happen during that 12 months to convince the player in question to sign a new deal. I wonder what Michael Owen's career/legacy would look like had he stayed on for his final 12 months.

I heard him saying that and agreed too at the time but now that I've thought about it for myself Macca didn't help us win our first premier league title in 30 years did he, or any premier league title for that matter? He didn't help us win a champion's league either did he?

So perhaps a big part of the reason Macca wasn't considered a club legend is to do with the fact that he simply isn't or wasn't a club legend with what he achieved at Liverpool and less to do with how he left.

He was a great, exciting player for us but it takes more than being a very good player to be considered a legend, you gotta ahcieve something too.

McManaman was one of those players way ahead of his time for the PL. When he was coming through the only option for him was winger in a 4-4-2. There were no other formations

But playing style he was basically Eden Hazard. Could run at anyone, had the skills, crossing ability, shooting, incredibly dangerous player but also smart.

Beckham is another example, right winger in the PL because where else could he play? Managers in England couldn't see it back then because 4-4-2 was so rigid. There was a graph I saw yesterday on BBC about how few non-British managers were in the league in the 90's

Beckham goes to Real and ends up playing through the centre a fair bit, same as Macca had before. Much more flexible roles that just didn't exist yet in England

This isn't me excusing him leaving, but I always think if he'd have emerged in 2004 instead of 1994 then he'd have stayed with us and been a massive player that next decade as he was exactly the mould of player being imported to the league by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭atilladehun

I don't like the vilification of these players because they leave. They do lose love from fans, that's fine, but there shouldn't be any abuse. I think the backlash goes too far.

Gerrard going to Chelsea for a big fee had fans acting disgracefully. It's not about the money, it's about the players placing the club at a lower level than Real or Chelsea etc.

It's not as if staying guarantees respect. There's plenty of fans who give Gerrard, Carragher over something else.

I'd prefer if Trent stayed. I think Liverpool is the only club that is ever going to truly accommodate his style. When the sh1t hits the fan in Real they'll crucify him. They're fickle at that club and usually their fullbacks are monster water carriers with enormous energy to compensate for the fancy players. A couple of bad results in the CL knockout and he could just disappear.

I'm definitely glad Trent, VVD and Salah are here this season. Signings are always a massive risk imo. Gravenberch is a success now but it took a season. 3 of those this season would have been a disaster for the new manager. Even if they leave at the end of the season, the belief is now in the club that Slot can manage at this level. Take those three out and put in 3 players having a first season like Grav did last year and then there's still loads of questions. I genuinely feel that when a player is a best in the world player they become invaluable. Replacing Salah could take 400 million in failed signings before the right one works. Obviously, no one is paying that so it's never worth selling them if they want to stay, just play them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭893bet

We can all see Trent being moved up to right wing/midfield and being an unbelievable success.

This is the bottom line.

This is not McManaman or Owen even, because we weren't close competitively then to Real.

No amount of Trent saying 'this is for legacy' would wash I'm afraid. There's an argument that Macca and Owen HAD to go for a broader legacy, as we couldn't win big and often. That argument isn't there for Trent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Absolutely not true to say McManaman played only in a 4-4-2 for Liverpool. Under Roy Evans, Liverpool mostly played with wing backs and 3 CBs. Macca had a free role between the two midfielders and two forwards. A role in which he excelled. He maybe could have scored more himself, but he had buckets of assists in that role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,587 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Can we? I'm not convinced. He's never been great in midfield because he hasn't learned that discipline from a young age. Heck he has barely learned the defensive side of being a right back. Moving him forward restricts the amount of space he has to work with. Giving him the entire wing from right back makes him potentially lethal as he can strike from anywhere. Moving him to right wing midfield or forward position gives him a smaller zone to work in and makes it easier for defences to contain him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭SM01

You keep on banging on about his legacy comments to justify an irrational vilification of a player. Do you honestly put so must stock in an inference made by a footballer in a random interview?! Really? If you do, I'd suggest you should step away from social media a little.

Also expecting a player to sign a contract extension, forgoing a multi-million pound generational sign-on fee, so that the exceedingly rich club you support, owned by billionaires, can instead get a fee? That's a ridiculous notion right there.

Look i want Trent to stay. But if he does go, he's not the pantomime villain you're making him out to be. I've every faith Slot will fill that role successfully with Bradley or a purchase, and Trent will be an afterthought this time next year. I actually don't think he'll succeed long term at Real but that's a different conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭893bet

Well I can so. Ala Gareth bale.

I still think all 3 will sign up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭klose

Would be begrudge Trent a move to Madrid where he will pretty much play uncontested for years? No I can’t really, however leaving on a free sours it all a lot. The club obviously has a fair share if not the majority of the blame here leaving his deal amongst others run so short and it’s bit them in the arse big time as we are letting a generational talent go for free.

Also basically means we are looking at a 50% new look defence next season as Robbo is over the hill and whilst Bradley looks a good player it would be silly to not buy a 1st choice RB going into next season.

So it is all about money then. Grand.

You seem to be getting oddly worked up about me not thinking Trent's motives are pure. You've your opinion on him, that's fine. I have mine. And I don't entirely trust his attitude. Maybe I'm wrong, but that's how I read him.

Either way, I'd like him to stay. Same as if you'd asked me in 04, I'd have liked Owen to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,476 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Despite where we are in our progression as a team, and it's impressive, we still only have 1 title and 1 Prem in the last 10 years (hell, 20 years if we go back to Istanbul).

Yeah we're competitive but you just can't compare what we win to what Real win. So I genuinely don't see how we can rule out competitiveness as a reason to move to Real.

Yeah I'd hope being a little less competitive than them might be outweighed by the local pull but it isn't non exostant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,587 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

We got him on a free so it's not all that bad if he leaves on a free. We just have to be thankful for the bit in the middle.

Oddly worked up? On the contrary we're chatting on a discussion forum, I'm merely presenting a rational and reasonable take on the situation, in opposition to your stance, which is highly emotive and bordering on irrationally angry. I'm not the one who labelling him worse than Owen. And I've still not seen any semblance of an argument that would justify or support such a statement.

Nor did i say it's all about money. Again you're putting words in my mouth. Can't a young fella simply want to play with the biggest club in the world, enjoy the excitement of living in Madrid, hang around with lots of hot Spanish girls, and make oodles of cash whilst winning loads of silverware?

Again I'd love him to stay at Liverpool, but he doesn't deserve vilification or pariah status 'cause he is enticed by the bright lights of Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Anthony Taylor this evening in charge of our match 🙈

Darren England on VAR for the first time for us since Luis Díaz v Spurs

Good process lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭kingshankly

West Ham missing a good few this evening through injury and suspension nice time to play them

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

This to me is a sort of weird gaslighty post, I can't see an ounce of anger in any of SlickRic's posts, he just thinks Trent is following the money. I wouldn't have thought that was a controversial take.

I think there is a wee bit more nuance than that, but it's not far off, it's the money and the sort of celebrity of it all. I think it's ultimately a mistake if he does it - he gets to be a galactico, which is a rare thing, but there's Mbappe galacticos and there's Rudiger galacticos, and I think he'd be closer to the later category in terms of notoriety. But yea I wouldn't hold any grudge against him in particular, there's no world in which anyone would hold him in the same esteem though if he leaves the club in his mid-twenties, it would be strange to think otherwise.

Gaslighting? Seriously? That's absolute rubbish. Get away with those flippant and ridiculous accusations.

Then you proceed to agree with me by saying you wouldn't hold a grudge (whereas Slickric has said he'll be worse than Owen).

Have you been following the conversation? Weird white knighting on your behalf more-like.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

White knighty? What are we talking about here? I don't think you know what that means. SlickRic isn't some minority that I'm coming in trying to look good protecting, lol.

I think it's gaslighty to be saying that his posts were angry and yours are rational, I don't think yours are irrational, but I do think saying he's in someway acting angrily is just strange, and to me, because I think it is putting forward a false version of events I would say that's like a little bit gaslighting.

I won't hold a grudge per se, he will be ultimately remembered as just another very good footballer who was at the club for a time.