Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe? *Read OP for mod warning*

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Well, in common conversation they're referred to as guards. I think most people accept that. 'Gards' is not a proper word as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭slay55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Shocking incident.. not sure if already linked here, a woman almost killed in a brawl between two "persons" in DunLaohaire.. lots of comments online as to the background of the two also..

https://m.sundayworld.com/news/irish-news/shocking-video-shows-woman-fall-below-moving-bus-during-dun-laoghaire-brawl/a278606069.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

She was lucky that she wasn't killed when the scumbag pushed her out onto the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Not an exclusive problem to Dublin city but certainly a very common sight on the city and suburban roads esp. around large housing estates, and one which the Gardai seem unable to tackle head on… Can't say I have seen this happening in any of the European cities and towns I've been to, just seems to be an epidemic in Ireland/parts of UK…

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2024/1219/1487271-like-mad-max-joyriders-bringing-danger-and-fear-to-dublin/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

How can Dublin feel safe when our social justice campaigners get up to this craic 😂

Mod Edit: Issue is before the courts - warning issued

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yeah they're annoying and will probably kill someone sooner or later. In fact just around the corner from me there's a little shrine on the canal greenway where one of the dopes crashed into his mate and killed him on a scrambler. But the Garda can't really do anything regarding anything teenagers do around here, I was speaking to one recently, in and out slap on the wrist and scumbag parents who don't care.

It's a problem in France too, I've seen it myself.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/aug/07/call-for-crackdown-on-dirt-bike-urban-rodeos-in-france-after-child-critically-injured

Yea I'd say in some of the Parisian banlieues where the the Police only go in large numbers with full body armour and machine guns it's common enough….

But this is Dublin city centre where the braindead morons on the motorbikes seem to operate with impunity making a joke of the law and everyone else trying to abide by the rules…

Would like to see the Gards being authorised for tactical contact to ram them off the bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

We effectively don't really have any kind of police force to tackle these kids currently. We'll have to wait for them to kill a schoolkid or something for them to get serious about it in classic Irish style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Dano650

Its an epidemic in Dublin city compared to other parts of Ireland. Been living it Dublin over 6 years and I can say I have witnessed kids/teenagers joyriding around on scramblers and motorbikes every couple of day's that I have travelled through the city on the way home from work. They have no respect for other motorists or pedestrians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

787 Motorcycles stolen in 2023, with 1770 registered in the same period… That alone is an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Saw one a couple of weeks pulling a wheelie the full length of Molesworth St then straight through a red light on to Kildare St. The garda outside Leinster House just stood there looking at him. I will genuinely piss myself laughing if I see one of these little fcuks go over the bonnet of a car.

The petrol scramblers are bad enough but at least you can hear them coming. The electric ones are much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭thereiver

Its hard to enforce the law when the prisons are overcrowded people are reluctant to join the gardai because they might not be able to find a place to rent I think Dublin is about average if you look at interested national crime rates I.m not say awful things are not happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Out last night for Damien Dempsey, got off the bus at Eden Quay, walked up to Vicar Street with my OH and did the same after the gig, town was naturally packed just before Christmas and neither of us saw one bit of trouble or felt in anyway unsafe.

From what you'd read on this you'd swear Dublin was like a GTA game when 99.9% of the time it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

The city centre is very busy and crowded everyday the only time I felt worried was when the riots were going on . unfortunately every city in the world has crime it's part of modern life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,422 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yeah, the city has been amazing over the xmas period, packed with a cracking atmosphere, the Winter lights walk was impressive with the Dublin Castle market afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,377 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

'Gards' is literally just shortening the word 'garda' by removing the 'a'.

Like saying 'cos instead of because etc.

'Guard' is anglicised nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭Comhrá

"Guard" is a proper word though, and "gard" is not.

"Gard" is nonsense, whatever way you try to dress it up to suit your viewpoint. Just used by a few posters here who can't be bothered to spell the word properly.

I hear people in the radio talking about city centre as if it's a scene from gta 5 or the Bronx in New York city I just go into town and see crowded streets with people shopping I think people like to exaggerate for dramatic effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭somuj

How big is your radio and why are there people in it?

Only joking

maybe I need glass,s I go thru the city every day I can't remember the last time I saw someone causing trouble or acting in a threatening manner apart from the riots

open any newspaper or showbiz website let's say it's not unknown for musicians or pop stars to use illegal drugs . I don't think the fact that sound is too young or wearing a black jacket mean they are a scrote. Every city has people that use drugs .thousands of people go thru the city every day and they meet a friend or go to work without any trouble at all

maybe the there should be a sign go here if you want to meet the junkies proceed with caution

What do you mean you travel in Dublin city every day and don't see the dangers?? You need to stay out of the city and spend more time on Facebook, Instagram, boards and TikTok… then you get the real experience of the city from other people that never go to the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

I wasn't in Dublin city centre (only visited southside suburbs) between 2017 and 2022, and then I visited the city centre four times between '22 and this year. And I admit I bought into the fear mongering and was quite scared ambling along O'Connell Street and the quays and the Tara Street, Busarus and IFSC areas. All was absolutely grand - I felt a bit silly.

I'm not denying at all that there are lowlifes scattered throughout Dublin's centre, and places to be avoided at night. Like any city (doesn't make it OK but acknowledging isn't agreeing with) but there is terrible scaremongering. And it reads like Dublin is as bad as Detroit in the '90s. Not even close.

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

Great honest post and I really hope you enjoyed the city. Do you mind me asking where you're main source of scaremongering was? Socials, message boards, the local pub?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Theres 1000s of people that shop and work in the north inner city go where you want Henry street is a great street to shop in I think there's people in this thread that are obsessed with junkies or else they are just snobs .I'm not saying there's certain streets that are best not to go to if you are a casual shopper .I'm not saying Dublin is perfect or heaven in earth .I m sure there's southsiders who just stay on the south side and shop in local shops and maybe think everyone in the Northside is a waster or a potential criminal .

Theres people who use drugs in every suburb and area of Dublin including the Southside Not everyone on the Southside is a saint or a model citizen .

I think every European city has junkies and criminals if you go back to the 80s Dublin was full of old empty buildings it was worse than it is now there were only a few new office buildings

Dublin is now one of the most modern rich citys in Europe if you go by per capita income while other eu country's are seeing recession and economic decline

As our much loved (and dangerously violent Dubliner) Ronan Keating would say; "Fair play" before slitting your throat, raping your handbag and sticking an infected syringe in your eye.

That's where most of the people on this thread are getting their info.