Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people drive unnecessarily large cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

There can't be many left alive now who that applies to, never mind still driving. My father got his licence before the driving test was introduced, but he's been dead for just short of forty years.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭mulbot

You need to be in business or self-employed to do all of the above. It's hardly a big deal now if someone uses a commercial 99% of the time for work, to pop into the shop or drop a child off at a football training etc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,450 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

It is a 'big' deal if they have a commercially taxed car they use as their family car.

It'd be one thing if the ford raptors you see, for example, were clearly being used for purposes a ford raptor was theoretically made for; but so many are pristine and clearly just used to move people around and nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭creedp

No problem with vehicles being predominantly used for business purposes. If your threshold is 99% of the time though then a hell of a lot of so called commercial vehicles would spectacularly fail your test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The Current Ford Ranger is heinous, a big obnoxious thing obviously marketed for passenger use.

🙈🙉🙊

Its not a big deal, so insignificant in fact that revenue or the Gardai don't bother. Anyway, how do you know what tax people are paying on these, unless you're self-employed or have a letter from employer saying you need it as commercial then they're most likely taxed as private

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭yagan

Saw one in Cork with a L plate over the R on the tailgate.

Just like people who use greyed out number plates think its no big deal or using gren diesel is no big deal. Obviously if you benefit from it, its no big deal.…get a life and all that guff.

I've yet to meet anyone driving a ranger who bought it/runs it privately

Greyed out number plates, you'll be pulled on those, green diesel, also a big deal. You'll be pulled and fined, lots of checkpoints for those. Driving a commercially taxed vehicle to the shop=no big deal.

Well then they're obviously proving themselves to use as commercials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭jmreire

They're getting scarce now allright!! Last one I knew was the mother of a friend of mine, who bought the licence " Just in case", but never sat behind the wheel of a car in her life. There were many like her, who when they heard that a driving test was on the way, bought the licence, even if they didnt drive, or even had a car. I suppose that you would be heading into the late 70's or 80's age group or older at this stage? There was another friend of mine, who like you, his father had a pound licence…all categories, and the same name, so when the father died, the son held on to his fathers licece and had a long driving career, he spent years driving throughout Europe, England and Ireland. They only caught up with him when some industrious wide awake person in the licencing department. (but more than likely a computer) put his age at over 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,007 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It was March 1964 when the mandatory test was introduced.

So you'd be looking at a 78+ age cohort.

Yes,78+ would be about right! And still a fair few of those about, but how many would be driving, is another thing, and how many active HGV drivers are out there?

Greyed out plates can't be that big a deal as they're everywhere these days. Point is I suppose everything is no big deal until it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,007 ✭✭✭✭elperello

In 1964 car ownership was not an aspiration for a large part of the population so the numbers taking up the untested licences would have been limited.

It's not all that unusual nowadays for drivers to continue into their late eighties.

HGVs not really but you would see a few oldtimers driving light commercials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

What is it with so many people getting triggered and upset seeing "SUV"s on the road? Range Rover and Ford Ranger Raptor get several mentions here, they aren't that big.

A good few people could do with minding their own business and realise democracy works both ways. The majority don't want green policies (that I want btw) so keep in mind the "SUV" driver could be coming for your pushbike. Coming for your cycle lane or public transport spending too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭forumdedum

Does one have to display this at the garage when choosing size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

you might need to recalibrate that. Even a 6.6 v12 Rolls Cullinan doesn’t weigh3,000kgs

As a family of Skoda and VW owners, you could be doing far worse…… we have 2 x 1.6 Superbs, they are great cars (2 ltr would be even better) never a bother on them only normal servicing. They tick all the boxes, long driving comfort, economical and well built. If I decide to change the MB, I'll be happy with a 2.0 ltr automatic Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭no.8

Fair enough. I was thinking (incorrectly at that) in terms of laden mass. Let's go with 2,500kg unladen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

The main issue I have with them is the fact that they tend to be driven very poorly. It's no coincidence that almost every time I see someone doing something stupid, arrogant or dangerous on the road, they're doing it in an SUV. I'm not sure whether the extra size is unmanageable for a lot of buyers, or if they're just bought by idiots. I mean, who else, other than an idiot, is going to pay a vastly inflated price for something that doesn't provide any practical benefits over an equivalent hatchback or estate and doesn't cost much more to build? They're little more than a marketing scam, carried out by an industry that appears to have run out of ideas. Nothing illustrates this dearth of originality better than Ford's current range of cars. If ever a company deserved to be consigned to history.

The Ford Ranger Raptor thing always strikes me as funny. Always seem to be driven by little men who want to appear bigger than they are. When you watch them comically climbing in and out of the thing, after wasting best part of the afternoon looking for an adequate parking space, it sort of has the opposite effect. A silly toy for silly little men. Sad, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,799 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

boy racer cars vs SUVs and I think you’ll find multiples of those boy racer yokes far more poorly driven. Traffic lights a suggestion to that cohort a lot of the time and many seem to think they’ve a taxi sign on the roof the amount of time they spend in the bus lanes. And speed ! Don’t get the term boy racer from nowhere. 😉

Also, loads with no road legal exhausts, excessively tinted windows to the point they had to give Gardai devices to check, they are not by and large checking SUVs, courier vans, sales vehicles etc.

Most SUV drivers are just in a safe road legal ‘stock’ vehicles. With visible legal license plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

Fair play for genuine answer. My observations would be BMW saloons illegally using bus lanes. All the time, very noticeable. For another poster boy racers.

I wouldn't buy a Range Rover because I don't want one but their owners have the right to buy them an use the road like everyone else.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,450 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

We place all sorts of restrictions about what you're allowed drive on public roads, so it's not a 'right' to be allowed drive one in the sense of something that could not or should not be taken away.

For example, it'd be possible (not that I expect it!) for a law stating that a private vehicle cannot be more than 2 tons, or 1.7m tall say, or else it falls into a different category treated differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭AnnieinDundrum

No point in asking, that user is site banned. No doubt they'll be back with a different name at some point though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭alentejo

My tuppence on this issue. As a cyclist and occasional driver, these giant type SUV's are completely unsuitable for urban driving. They take up valuable road space, they tend to be overpowered (hence driven at speed and dangerously by some), they require more power than normal cars and they are difficult to park.

I do think that all cars have increased in size since the 1990's and policy initiatives should be brought in to decease the overall size of cars. I get the impression that the growth in car sizes was driven to increase passenger safety, however I suspect this has made them more dangerous for pedestrians and vulnerable users.

There are bicycle lanes for cyclists, when there aren't, the law is 1.5 metres for passing, so that doesn't matter whether you're driving a small car, an SUV, a large van, or an Arctic truck. They don't take necessarily take up valuable road space, anymore than a large car, certainly not more than a mid size or large van. They aren't difficult to park, that depends on driver skill, and what do you mean "they require more power than normal cars"?.

There is no law dictating 1.5m for passing cyclists.

There is advice that you should give 1m in 50km/h and lower areas, and 1.5m where speed limits are higher; the law states that you should give adequate clearance, but does not state a specific distance.

OK, whether law or not, doesn't matter, the gap should be left for safe passage, what you drive doesn't matter

As you might imagine, that law is just a paper tiger.