People getting thick for making your way through the crowd?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,998 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

"personal space" in the front row of a standing area…?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭SimpleDimple

I saw a lot of the same at Nick cave, to be honest I think it’s more due to most the crowd being 40 plus and so not in the mood to being jostled and maybe forgetting what they were like at gigs when younger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭ergo

There was none available- and then he was in it - it was unbelievable arsehole behaviour - people are entitled not to have to be physically up against someone who barges to the front row of a gig more than half way through and stands basically in front of them where there is no space - he only lasted a song there- it wasn't a space for a person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I was at a gig in Vicar Street a few months back. A girl from a group beside me went off for a pint/plss/ciggie. Anyway, when she came back a while later, she started giving it loads to some other chap that was standing where she was previously. Shouting at him that that was her spot and asking him to move. The other guy just laughed it off and didn't move. And tried to explain to the girl that it is not like seats. But the girl just couldn't get an understanding of it. I guess if she had been polite in asking for her "personal space" back, it probably would have been alright. But her sense of self-entitlement took over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Rooks

If you're going to be drinking at a gig, stand at the back. That way, you're closer to the bar and you won't be annoying people with your alcohol dependency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,920 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Drink away, push through away, just be polite about it, then put away your phone and STFU when the music is playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

People who equate grabbing a drink with a chemical dependency are so unbelievably tactless and tasteless. I'd be shocked if they spoke to their friends like that in real life. I imagine it's just a sneering internet-only act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

If you're going to be a dry shite, stand in your own front garden and listen to your favourite band on your headphones, that way everyone else can have fun without having to deal with the condescending, judgmental, fun police who think they are the arbiters of what's right and wrong.

I'll stand where I want, drink what I want and make my way wherever I want. I've paid my money, same as you, so anyone who thinks they can lord it over me can go and do one. Same with idiots who give out about others signing at a gig. "I came to hear them, not you"……"and I came to sing my bleeding head off, there's not a goddamned thing you can do about it, sunshine"

I agree with the general principle of your points. Having the crowd sing along to the music adds to the atmosphere.

What's your thoughts on pointless loud chatter between people, whilst the music is on, and that chatter is annoying most people in that vicinity.

Post edited by FullBack Jam on

I mostly go to dance music events: techno, DnB, etc so it would want to be very loud to have an impact. I'd just move, though, if it was bothering me that much.

I've done it before, had to switch seats at Ludovico Einaudi in the Bord Gáis about 6 years ago because two dopes wouldn't STFU in front of me. Staff refused to get involved, so we switched seats. Not before letting them know they were a pair of see you next Tuesdays. A classical music gig with everyone seated is a different ball game though. The pauses and the silence in between notes is part of the music. Kinda takes you out of the moment when all you can hear is:

"And so I says to him, says I, "you wouldn't say that to my face", and he says to me, he says "I would SO say it to your face", so I says to him……."

It's actually more hassle to get a drink at a gig than it is before or after. It's more expensive too. And it's a distraction from the thing you paid to see. It makes more sense to have a few drinks after if you want to make a night of it.

If a person can't go a couple of hours without having a drink then that person might have a problem with alcohol.

Call me what you like, but when I'm at a gig and I see some middle aged bloke wobbling his way through a crowd holding a load of drink with a glazed expression in his eyes I just feel sorry for them.

If you must insist on getting drunk at a gig, then it makes sense to stick to the back near the source of alcohol no? That way, the rest of us can enjoy the show in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭SmallgirlBigcity

I completely agree with the OP that this behaviour is becoming more common. I've been going to gigs for years as well and moving around is part of the experience. If you don't want people moving around in front of you, buy a seat. If you're standing, it's going to happen that people walk by. I would generally go in and out for a drink or the toilet a few times and people are definitely becoming more aggressive about it - getting annoyed when I walk past. It's a shame.

I was in the pit for Springsteen at the RDS last year, fairly near the front, maybe 10 rows back, when this bloke pushed through carrying a cardboard tray with four pints. At least fifteen minutes later, the same bloke pushed through from the opposite direction, with the same four pints, well now about 2/3rd pints, still looking for his mates.

Poor bloke didn't even know where he was, I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

I wouldn't say that was the case at all, can often be difficult to find your way back to an exact spot at a gig in a very large crowd.

Just because you don't like to drink during a gig, no need for the judgements against those who do enjoy it.

That's true in big crowds. But why spend money on tickets and then just wander aimlessly around the crowd looking for mates.

I don't think anyone is judging people drinking at gigs. I'll admit that I definitely need booze to enjoy the gig. Enough alcohol to throw of the shackles of "self-awareness", but not too much that I cannot remember what happened. I think it's ok to form a decision that when I see someone wobblin around the place, or asleep on the ground at a gig, that I think - "feckin ejit". But at least that's still not as bad as the talkers/shouters at a gig.

My point was that I don't think the person planned to be wandering around, just couldn't find their mates right away who the other pints more than likely were for.

I wouldn't be impressed if my mate went to get me 2 pints and then just never came back!

One poster here is definitely judging people, using terms like "alcohol dependency" etc.

He's spent three songs looking unsuccessfully for his mates, on top of whatever time he spent going to the bar, queuing up, getting served, coming back. Triangulate your location, have a plan with identifiable clothing, it's not rocket science - better than wasting your gig and pi$$ing off an unnecessarily large number of people pushing through.

Yeah I get you. Have a few beers before a gig and one at the gig and you should have your motor purring. That can enhance the enjoyment of a gig for sure.

But if someone is going to a gig for the sole purpose of being a drunken mess and being a public nuisance then that's where I'll look at that person with pity.

I don't understand talkers at a quiet intimate gig. That's just pig ignorance. But if you're at some rock gig in the 3Arena then it doesn't really matter I think.

Ye he sounds a bit of a dope and may have had a couple too many but I don't think the majority would have taken much notice for 3 songs at a Springsteen gig.

More condescending nonsense. I'm surprised you can see the stage at all with all that looking down your nose at other people.

People get pints at events, shocking as it may be to your sensitive wee soul. They can miss as much as the gig in the process as they want. They've as much of a right to stand wherever they want, the same right as you do. And you've zero right to tell anyone what to do, where to go and how they should behave. In fact, you should be thanking these guys. If it wasn't for all the alcohol sales, the prices for tickets would probably increase. They're subsidising your entry fee, at least show them a little respect.

I'd gladly pay a higher price to not be surrounded by middle aged drunks at a gig.

You'd be surrounded by a hell of a lot less people if they removed alcohol from gigs.

People would then complain about the lack of atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I don't think people should be allowed back to their original space whenever they go to the bar. I never say anything to them though as I am not a confrontational character.

You could say that they are the entitled ones, if they want to go to the bar and expect the same view then they should buy a seated ticket so that their view is reserved for them. People like them always have an advantage over loners like me. They can arrive late and push to the front where their friend is holding a spot for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,098 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

People who push to the front of gigs and just stand perfectly still, not even nodding their head for the whole show are the absolute worst. Energy vampires that suck the life out of the zone they're in

Ban billionaires