Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The End of Assad? Syrian Rebels enter the outskirts of Aleppo for the first time since 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

The UN imposed the creation of a Jewish state on the native Arab population living there. 

The UN voted for resolution 181 (II). They didn't impose anything. They sought to solve the issue of the ethnic conflict that was ongoing in the region for 30 years prior. They came up with a plan to partition the area. One side accepted it, the other did not. The other side lost multiple wars, and they still complain about how hard done they were.

You don't hear the Germans bitching and moaning today about all the land they had to give over to modern-day Poland, do you? They accepted their loss and went about their business in building a new liberal modern democratic society. If only the Palestinian and Arab leadership were not so hell-bent in driving the Jews back into the sea. Using the average Palestians as pawns, grooming them for violence, while billions flowed into their bank balance, so their wives could have a nice time shopping in Geneva or Paris.

Many many wars have happened in the world over the past 50-100 years. Yet only this issue is the one, that still gets brought up in the modern-day lexicon by the chattering classes. Banging on about 1948 will get you nowhere. The past is in the past. Its time to face up to the fact that the Palestinians lost and were played by the wider Arab world for their own ends. None of that is the fault of the Israelis. You dont blame the winning team, if the other team keeps losing by continuously scoring own-goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Although I wounded be against Germany taking back Königsberg.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,419 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

You're not worth engaging with, as you are a liar and shill. When confronted with facts, you dissemble and strawman.

Mod: Warned - uncivil

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Great point about Germany/Poland. And another few days pass, still no secular Arab state identified. Must be fan fiction then.

A secular democratic liberal Arab state is like a chocolate teapot. It does not exist.

There is a reason why 1948 happened. If someone, anyone can explain to me a workable alternative to partitioning the southern levant, I am all ears.

Partitioning has been used the world over to solve ethnic conflicts. See India/Pakistan, North Sudan/South Sudan, Yugoslavia, never mind ourselves in Ireland.

Back on topic, the true horrors of the Assad regime is being laid bare for all to see.

A Channel 4 team reported on a mass grave that many claim to have 150,000 people buried there.

For every march for the people of Gaza, how many marched for these forgotten souls? Are their lives not worth the same, or is a country run by Jews held to a higher account, than Arab-run countries? If so, why?

Anyway, there is going to be years worth of investigations here, and I hope those responsible will be brought to some justice. Pity the International community didn't speak up so much for them. Israel bashing is much more popular on the homefront.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,184 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Northern Ireland is a legally recognised entity but Israel is not?? Do you not know anything about the history of Northern Ireland, for example the Border Commission? NI was no less "imposed" on Ireland than Israel was - the difference is that the Irish accepted it, albeit at the cost of a civil war. If the IRA had won that instead of the Free State side, Ireland might well be a basket case now too. At some point, going on fighting can become counterproductive.

I'd say that Palestine passed that point long ago. And that people who are inciting Hamas or other groups to keep on fighting are not interested in the good of Palestinians, just in some sort of ideological grand gesture. The one they wish perhaps that Ireland had made instead of signing the treatly. And it's one that they will never pay a price for either, unlike Palestinian children.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,184 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

There's an article about the gas attacks the Assad launched against his own people in The Times today which is worth reading.

But one thing that strikes me about it is almost an "aside":

For years, often under instruction from experts from the former Soviet Union, its thousands of staff built stockpiles of sarin precursor agents, chlorine and mustard gas. They also developed home-grown missiles to deliver them.

The people who worked there thought the target would be Israel. The moment of truth arrived when the regime’s army came up against rebels and failed to regain control of the Eastern Ghouta — the Arabic word for “garden” — an area that consists of the Damascus suburbs of Zamalka, Ein Tarma and Jobar.….

His friends who worked on the chemical side are now terrified, he said. But none of them had been complicit in what happened, in his view. “We always thought these weapons were to be used on Israel,” he said. “We never thought they would be used against our own people.”

https://www.thetimes.com/world/middle-east/article/syria-assad-chemical-weapon-stockpiles-6ltkhg5df

That's the level of hatred that Israel is up against. Syrians were quite prepared to make chemical weapons for use against Israel, but were shocked when the regime turned the weapons against its own people.

And that's also why Israel is bombing the weapons facilities now. It would be reckless of them not to.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

That's the level of hatred that Israel is up against. Syrians were quite prepared to make chemical weapons for use against Israel, but were shocked when the regime turned the weapons against its own people.

Israel is used by the regional dictators as the bogey man. A way to keep its people in check. I wonder what makes Israel 'special'? Is it the fact that they are Jewish? Hmmm, couldnt be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

It's an American proxy which is the true bogey man of the middle east. But yeah I'm sure being the only Jewish state in the Muslim middle east also doesn't help its cause.

Most of the time defenders of israels actions use a lot of whataboutery. But ultimately Israel is the only state that can act like a madman dictatoship and face zero consequences fr the west. Because its essentially americas left nut.

That's why they get so much hate from pretty much all sides. The antisemitism aspect pales in comparison imo. Even tho of course it exists.

That's what made 'making mustard gas to kill Israelis' o.k. in the eyes of the Syrian workers? Think about that for a bit. Why not true for the Syrian Druze that want to join Israel?

I think antisemitism is way more the reason than the actions of the Israeli government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Hate from all sides is less antisemitism driven. Especially in the west. It's more to do with being a proxy of the US and being allowed act like an unhinged dictatorship with zero consequences from the west.

Who are the moral police for every other despot nation. So it's double standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,147 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

The Israeli's don't care much for public opinion or optics at the best of times. They see threats or even the appearance of threat and where possible they hit them. Oct 7 marked a much more serious "gloves off" phase for them in the entire decades-long conflict.

So with Syria for example they saw that Syrian military assets could potentially fall into the wrong hands (or worse hands), so they destroyed them. If you were an Israeli, that's an absolute no-brainer.

Yes there's a lot of history, etc behind this - but there's a grim practical side to it too. If for example Jordan started to collapse and there was even the merest hint Jordanian military assets could fall into the hands of e.g. Hamas (or any enemy) they wouldn't hesitate in the slightest to destroy it all. Even though Jordan is an ally at the moment.

They don't care, they cannot afford to take the risk.

This is their mentality. Only it's even more extreme now. Security is everything and (since Oct 7th) **** anyone and everyone who even thinks about trying something.

I don't want to drift off into the Israel thing, only mention their approach in relation to the situation in Syria. You can bet your ass they will be watching it closely, and if any sort of serious threat starts to grow there I wouldn't be surprised to see them hit it hard. It's horrendous and it's tragic, a lot of innocent people are getting caught in between but I suspect they'll be in this full on smite mode for the foreseeable future - which, as mentioned, will include Syria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,566 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no, we did a deal because the traitor michael collins and co signed it against the wishes of dev who obviously knew very well the consequences of signing it which he was proved right on.
    we were not grown up hence why that deal was signed, if we were grown up we would not have signed.
    we would have got our independance eventually and in full, and we would be in a better position now because there would have been no border and no troubles.
    dev should have gone himself and not sent collins.
    the palestinians would never accept a deal that ultimately prevents them from having astate, they were correct to not sign the last one and they would not sign it this time either.
    the only deal on the table and it will be coming, is israel going back within it's borders, that is what will be happening.

it will take time, maybe a long time, but eventually enough will be enough.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

no, we did a deal because the traitor michael collins and co signed it against the wishes of dev 

More unhinged stuff from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

Boy oh boy, Where to start with this and your other nonsense posts. Comparing post WW2 Germany to Mandatoty Palestine is one the most brazenly stupid comparisons I have seen anywhere. You understand Germany was being punished for WW2, and they had zero moral ground to argue on, Oh you took our land!! Well how many countries did you invade, people killed, holocaust etc, etc? The Germans moved on out of sheer guilt and are still living with it to this day, also they didnt lose 60% of their territory. How on earth is that anyway comparable to mandatory Palestine. These was no pre-mediated plan to give the German lands to anyone prior to the war as happened in Palestine.

The ethnic divisions that happened in Palestine were as a direct result of the policies of Britain/France through the Balfour Declaration, Sykes-Picot, San Remo. All agreements the people who actually lived in Palestine had zero input into. As has been pointed out you to several times, the WW1 Jewish population of Palestine was 10%. I saw you banging on about the right to self-determination, how is it that an area that was over 80% Arab was never given a right to self-determination for some 30 years?

As for Yugoslavia being partitioned, the fact you think that shows how little you understand about international politics. Yugoslavia wasn't partitioned, it split up into the States that had come together to create Yugoslavia post WW1. There was very little outside involvement either in cresting Yugoslavia or its collapse. Most of the fighting centered around Bosnia as that was the state most ethnically mixed and is still that way. It had been ethnically mixed since Ottoman rule centuries before. Also even though Yugoslavia was an ethnically volatile mix, the Allies had little objection to its creation post WW1 as it was of zero value to them and they recognised their right to self-determination. It does show the absolute hypocrisy of the time as the British/French put their own interests above those of the locals in the Levant who were much more homogenous and wished for a pan-Arab state, yet had no rights to self-determination.

India, Pakistan, Sudan, NI, there is a common thread running through all those places, it involves a certain Colonial power to the east of us drawing lines and inventing countries. Is it any surprise they ended up in ethic conflict? Ýet none of them are similar to Israel, as all the various ethnic groups had been in place for centuries beforehand. They were not outsiders like the Zionists were.

Just a reminder, when NI was created the Catholic minority population was about 32%, roughly the same as the Jewish population in Mandatory Palestine post WW2. How is it the Catholics got nothing whilst the Zionists got an entire state? They also didn't have to move borders in Palestine to create an Arab majority as they did in NI. If you clipped Down, Antrim instead of Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, it would have been a Catholic majority in Ulster. The Zionists controlled less than 10% of the land in Palestine when Israel was created with over 60% of the land. At least the Protestants were the majority land owners and had been there over 300 years, not just arriving in the 30 years prior to partition.

You have been presented with the facts about the Arabs being ignored in Mandatory Palestine multiple times, yet continue to pretend it didnt happen as well as the politicized decisions of the UN in the creation of Israel. You simply choose points to fit your narrative whilst illustrating your don't really understand much of what you are blathering about.

As has been pointed out you to several times, the WW1 Jewish population of Palestine was 10%. I

And in the 1940's it was approx 40%..

I saw you banging on about the right to self-determination, how is it that an area that was over 80% Arab was never given a right to self-determination for some 30 years?

Ask the British and French that, and before them ask the Turks, as they ruled the area for the guts of 400 years… Why didn't the Turks give them self determination?

How is it the Catholics got nothing whilst the Zionists got an entire state?

The Catholics in Ireland did get something, they got the Free State.

The Zionists controlled less than 10% of the land in Palestine when Israel was created with over 60% of the land.

Those figures are questionable to say the least.

"How is it the Catholics got nothing whilst the Zionists got an entire state?"

Huh? Vatican City anyone? Always forgotten as the official Catholic country, incorporated in 1929 but existed for far longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Packrat

The thread has finally descended into total farce....

Reminds me of the old adage about trying to reach a pig to sing...

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,147 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

A piece from the BBC on how HTS has run Idlib for the last 7 years

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8ew16391rdo

"The rise of Islamists, however, has raised fears that minorities, including Assad's Alawites, could be at risk, despite the messages from HTS reassuring religious and ethnic groups that they would be protected.

"In the last two years, they [HTS] started changing… Before, it was very hard," Friar Azar said.

Properties were confiscated and religious rituals restricted.

"They gave [our community] more freedom, they called on other Christians who were refugees to come back to take their land and homes back."

But is the change genuine? Can they be trusted? "What can we do? We have no other option," he said. "We trust them."

I asked Sayedissa, the activist, why even opponents were reluctant to criticise the group.

"They're now the heroes… [But] we have red lines. We'll not allow dictators again, Jolani or any other," he said, referring to Ahmed al-Shara, the HTS leader who dropped his nom de guerre Abu Mohammad al-Jolani after coming to power.

"If they act as dictators, the people are ready to say no, because they now have their freedom."

Sums it up, they "seem" to be more moderate than e.g. the Taliban, but no one trusts them not to slide in that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,761 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Isn’t it crazy that one of Israel’s biggest critics is Turkey, talking about illegal occupation while they illegally occupy half of Cyprus since the seventies, have a ‘buffer’ zone into Syria and backed a Palestinian former Islamist terrorist to cease control of the country and are currently attacking and bombing the Kurds in Syria. Are we going to get protests about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭j62

Assad bizarrely that Russia “evacuated” him against his will and he didn’t want to leave

Russians still leaving as fast as they can

No people clinging to their departing planes for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,163 ✭✭✭jmreire

They are not being let on to the departing planes…..Putin wants to try and keep as much a military presence there as he possibly can….he's still hoping that he can retain Tartous port and the airbase at Latakia. He doedoesn't give a damn about what happens Russian soldiers.

apparently the EU made it clear that if they want some of the sanctions begin to be lifted Russians need to be shown the door

I suspect Assad is being held as a hostage which Russians will trade, because that’s how they treat their allies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

This my final post on this as the thread is about Syria, not Mandatory Palestine.

1. The Jewish Population in Mandatory Palestine was never above a third of the population. 40% is an exaggeration on your behalf.
    2. The British would not grant self-determination due to the Balfour Declaration and the promise of a Jewish State. For the most part, the Arab's did not seek self-rule under the Ottomans. Like most of Europe, Nationalism only took hold in the late 19th century. There was a definite Arab independence movement by the time of WW1 which was why the Arabs sided with the British as they had promised an Arab state if the Ottoman empire fell.
    3. I was clearly referring to the Catholics in NI who had no rights to secede from NI even though they had the same minority percentage as the Jewish population in Palestine. Tyrone and Fermanagh had Catholic majorities and could easily have rejoined with the Free State. Take out Antrim and Down and there was small Catholic majority in the other 4 Counties. That's the thing with partition, it depends where you draw the lines. Some minorities apparently don't get choices, other do.
    4. The figures on Jewish land ownership are not dubious. I was going on memory with the 10%, but it was actually lower than that at about 5-6%. The only district of Palestine that had a majority Jewish population was Haifa. Jerusalem and Jaffa were pretty mixed, but everywhere else was largely Arab Muslim.

The fact of the matter is that nowhere else in the World has something happened like that which happened in Palestine, with a group of people who didn't even live there, being promised a state whilst the native population were ignored and it happened within 30 years. N

Like I have said before, the only group that looked into the future of the region post WW1 were ironically the Americans(King-Crane Commission), and their investigations rejected the idea of a Jewish state in the region and predicted any attempt to create one would lead to inevitable violence and bloodshed. Sadly that report was ignored for British/ French self- interests(Sykes-Picot) and again by the UN in 1947, and the story of Israel/Palestine is exactly as predicted from 100 years ago.

getting back on topic, again

IMG_5585.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,380 ✭✭✭✭briany

Youtuber Bald and Bankrupt just posted a video of himself nosing around inside the very newly post-Assad Syria.

Thanks! his previous Syria video had a serious wiff off “paid by Syrian ministry of tourism” feel a year or so ago, tho still interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,380 ✭✭✭✭briany

Yes, although to be fair, I'm not sure if you could have done a travel video in Syria at that time without it being government approved. Assad was, if nothing else, a stickler about control…

Isis leader killed yesterday by Americans he was hiding out in previously Russian held area of Syria

air strikes in Yemen now