If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Today FM Megathread Mod warning post #1 / #1401

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,482 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Last Thursday I think but it was only part 1 he's doing it again another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭howareyakid

Regrettably, as I really like the fella, I have to admit with above posts re Dave's show. It just doesn't work. He is a positive guy, but the constant waxing lyrical about Sabrina Carpenter and co has just tipped the balance for me.

Post edited by howareyakid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Does Dave still do the stupid guest presenter thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,882 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Seems to be done rarely now and it's usually someone either semi famous for something they've done or are about to do, not just Karen from Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Yes, thankfully the guest presenter has been mostly dropped.

He had Andrew Garfield and Florence Pugh on yesterday, I was worried he was going to ask them about washing legs in the shower. He didn't, well not that I heard.

I filled in the Today FM questionnaire and told them how bad their playlist is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭supereurope

I bet he still referred to them as "legends" though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭howareyakid

Ray Foley has more or less referenced the fact that it’s a pre-populated playlist these days. Now he still has a bit of freedom to play clips of songs and throw requests out to people etc, but nowhere near the same licence as he — and the likes of Tony Fenton and Ray Darcy — had back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I filled in that questionnaire too. I used to be a diehard and have become a real casual fan lately. When asked about the shows I like I double checked the website to remind myself of the full line up. Dear god it is soo stale and uninspired.

Ian Dempsey is coming on 20 years at the breakfast slot.

Dave (& Dermot) are coming up on 8 years.

Foley & JP have been on the books for a long long time.

Matt Cooper has been manning TLW since 2002!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

To be fair, Ray Foley left Today FM for a while before coming back again a few years ago.

In the case of Ian Dempsey, it is actually over 26 years now. He started his breakfast show on Today FM in late September 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭nc6000

Ian Dempsey is there longer than that, I say it's closer to 30 than 20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

I am pretty sure that Ian Dempsey is the longest continuous breakfast presenter (allowing for holidays of course) for a single Irish station among all the current breakfast presenters across Ireland. It is also quite likely that he could be the longest continuous breakfast presenter ever for a single Irish station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,946 ✭✭✭✭siblers

They had some dope on The Last Word today who was even more insufferable than Roe McDermot

She was giving out about Paul Mescal ( she thought his response about being asked to meet Charles was rude) and then Matt gave away a huge spoiler for Succession the fecking gobshite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

David Cawley on Mid West Radio in Mayo has been presenting the Mon to Fri breakfast show solo since 1998, I think October 1998.

Ian has been on Today FM breakfast since Sept 1998.

Himself and Ian are probably only a handful of solo breakfast presenters in Ireland today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭nc6000

Succession finished about 18 months ago - how long should people wait before discussing how TV shows ended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,350 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

The psychologist in Sixth Sense blew up Nakatomi Plaza.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭matrix mick

*Dead psychologist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,482 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Nosferatu is a vampire. Or is 100+ years still a spoiler?

The manifesting brat promo does my head in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭dmn22

I'm sorry but Ian Guider has not got a voice for radio, I have to switch off every time he fills in for Matt.

His voice is like nails on a chalkboard to me, as well as the fact he can't pronounce his TH's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭matrix mick

I'm not a fan of Ian either, but surely your second paragraph could be describing Matt Cooper.

I don't mind Ian Guider's voice at all. I always liked his business reports, going back to when he was the main business presenter in the morning on Newstalk. It is good that he is able to stand in and present The Last Word, rather than just covering the business news. Matt Cooper started off as a newspaper business journalist if I am not mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Chip Whitley

Please Dave Moore, for the love of all that is holy, please stop calling every listener 'a legend', especially when they've actually botched the music quiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭lolie

He must be in a bad mood as normally even the most mundane person is an "'absolute legend'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

That Choir competition on her show is doing my head in.

Bad enough having to listen Mariah Carey herself sing the song every hour, I don't need to hear random melts butchering it aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Can’t find a thread for The Last Word so posting this here:

Roe McDermott discussing her favourite films of the year, firstly picks a film from 2023 and was questioned on that by both Matt and the other contributor but just ploughed ahead with it regardless.

Every film on her list was soooooooo beautiful and sooooooo gorgeous, there was her obligatory reference to “the patriarchy”, and of course Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal were robbed by not getting nominated for Oscars and Golden Globes. My only surprise was that she didn’t criticise the makers of that particular film for casting a straight actor in a gay role - but it’s funny how her criticisms change when the story is closer to home (in this case obviously because it was a film with Irish involvement and obviously everything Irish is amazing).

When she spoke of one film, she commented that she was stuck to her seat for 10 minutes after the film ended such was the impact it had on her. Sure you were Roe. 🙄

Maybe she has a cold at the moment or was feeling under the weather but her voice appeared to be cracking as she spoke and at one stage I honestly found myself wondering is she going to start crying here with all this gushing over how beautiful and gorgeous everything is?

Her film takes are slightly better from an intellectual standpoint than Ryan Tubridy’s, but we are coming from a low base.

I’d love to know what Matt really thinks about her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭statto25

Dave Moore and Jedward….a match made in hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Sean P.Dole

I presume since it hasn't been mentioned here, that Today FM didn't go 100% Christmas music the past week or two? When they did that last year, they were inundated with negative feedback from listeners, Fyona Ryan and those above her learned that all because something works for audiences in Sweden or Denmark or even the UK, doesn't mean it will work for Ireland.