Ryan Tubridy - From Virgin to Youtube **Mod: Read OP**

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Extra.ie article, hilarious read regarding the recent Willowwarm school competition:

"Ryan Tubridy returned to Ireland this week to pay a festive visit to a school in Co Cavan.

The popular Irish radio host and podcaster has been living in the UK since the end of last year, when he landed a job presenting on Virgin Radio following his exit from RTÉ.

Taking a break from his hectic schedule, Ryan travelled to St Joseph’s National School, Kingscourt, Co Cavan as part of the WillowWarm Christmas Schools competition."

And from Tubs himself:

"The WillowWarm Christmas Schools competition is such a great way for me to reconnect with young people in Ireland who I love to chat to and encourage to read.'

Now, please, no derogatory comments about Tub's choice of book.....

Screenshot_20241212-124026.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭supereurope

Extra.ie tends to be the most gushing towards Tubs, I assume NK's minions have infiltrated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,008 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I have visions of Tubridy flinging packs of those logs into the audience, there's one for everyone in the audience!!!

If it doesn't take your head off…

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭nonetheless

Note that the book is opened centre page in which a copy of one of Noel's invoices have been inserted.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Kids look too old for that book too. I'd say they were riveted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭RoTelly

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Tubridy's schedule is never less than "hectic"

🙄

That article could have been written by ank one of a number of NK-bots

All the familiar buzzwords and buzz-phrases are there

Only Darina Allen and her organisation of deviants get more inexplicably good press in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,250 ✭✭✭yagan

Interestingly I just saw a clip about criticism over Tim Allan's lenient sentence for down loading child porn images on that "don't look back in anger" TV series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Oh ffs. 🙄 I wake up to this?

The school gets €1,000 (I think) Tubridy probably getting 25 times that for turning up for approx. 30 mins to an hour I’m guessing? You’d think the school principal would have more cop on that to allow this chap with shall we say “a chequered past” into the school?

You’d have to ask how this translates into sales for the brand - that’s a lot of extra sales of briquettes to sell to break even in this “event”. And that’s before we bring Dermot Bannon’s fees into it (he’s a Brand Ambassador for them too).

The only saving grace is at least he didn’t force the kids to read “Patrick and the President”. 🙄

Nice use of language in the piece too “following his exit from RTÉ” - that’s one way to describe it I guess.

I’ll need 3 Ambien to get back to sleep after seeing that now. Thanks a lot podge! ;)

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭rightmove

Cash-strapped RTÉ to spend €1.75m on giving its staff tax-free vouchers of up to €1,000 each in the new year

Good times are back at Ryan Tubridy Extras (RTE)

Any link to this? Not doubting you, I’d just like to read for it myself if so.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cash-strapped-rte-to-spend-175m-on-giving-its-staff-tax-free-vouchers-of-up-to-1000-each-in-the-new-year/a418538713.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/companies/arid-41535575.html

The last RTÉ pay claim agreement was in November 2022, when RTÉ staff received a 6% pay increase, over a two-year period, with a 3% increase in January 2023, backdated to December 2022, a 1.5% increase in October, and a further 1.5% on April 30, 2024.

IMO I have no real problems with a bonus, however you'd think staff would understand this year its not on the table or being offer. I got a reduction in my bonus this year from my company, and when the announcement came you could here a pin drop, very ungrateful of us, but when your bonus is cut by 25% it is disappointing. But then nobody expects a bonus nor should they. RTÉ seem to think they are entitled to one.

It would have been nice to see those in RTÉ under 60k getting a bonus of €1k and the rest having to suffer through their own hard earned money. but then I wonder how many people in RTÉ are actually on under 60k.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Yesterday

Some are under €60k…..a month, for as much as 25ish hours work in that month. The hardship.

It is a breach of employment law to pay employees in vouchers. They might be back in front of the WRC and Revenue trying to explain the vouchers really are a bonus and not part of a pay deal.

Labour laws and such matters don’t apply to RTÉ - don’t you know this? 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Hence why Mr. Backhurst was so keen to retain the services of the HR Director - even though most of the “shenanigans” of the last few years happened on her watch. Those HR Directors really do know where the bodies are buried……

New scandal: Tax payers money used for private book launch. Note: Ryan was not paid.

He may not have been paid by the Embassy. Eoghan Murphy and his publisher may have organized Ryan's appearance fee.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,555 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

The vouchers are a cheap way to give employees a bonus, a lot of employers around the country use it. Although knowing RTE, they will have some agreement with a newly formed company (with definitely no links to anyone, definitely) where they charge 2k for a 1k tax-free voucher.

You really do have to wonder how anyone thought this was a good idea? The arrogance and general “couldn’t give a flying fück” attitude of these people is truly breathtaking. A grand total of zero self-awareness by everyone in that room.

100% on this.

The Embassy allowing it to take place there with scandal boy Tubridy as the host though is just such a bizarre and “bonkers” decision it beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

There is a something quite apt about Ryan Tubridy gleefully sharing a stage with the grandson of the man who cleaned out his mentor and role model.

If he had ANY integrity whatsoever he’d have declined that gig on that point alone, but after his Oireachtas Committee appearance I think it’s fair to say integrity is not something the chap is overly familiar with. Though his salary is enormous, it doesn’t affect his soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭hawley

I won’t go through the storyline other than to point out that Paul Mescal is a megastar and it shows, Denzel Washington is extraordinarily mischievous throughout, the two demented emperors are terrifically terrifying and there’s a monkey in a dress. This is before we get to the rhinos in the Colosseum! The whole film is an epic spectacle that was built for a cinema visit. Book a seat and don’t waste something this big on your television at home. https://evoke.ie/2024/12/15/entertainment/ryan-tubridy-pat-kenny

Does he really think that he deserves the support of people? He has never taken one bit of responsibility for what happened with the hidden payments. Pat Kenny has a grudge against RTE, plus he's a NK stablemate, so he's biased in his support of Tubs. The rest of it is just, all celebs are amazing. Everything is amazing.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Are you saying that Tubridy should have refused to do Murphy's book launch because Murphy's grandfather stole money from Tubridy's friend? It would hardly be fair to hold the grandson responsible for the grandfather's actions, particularly since Russell Murphy died in 1986 when Eoghan Murphy was four.

He did more than steal all of Gaybo's money. Russell was also Gaybo's best friend and Godfather to his daughter, which is worse than your accountant 'just doing' a doing a runner with your life saving.

Then again, Todd Andrews tried to give Gaybo the boot from RTE.

Yes, but in what way is Eoghan Murphy culpable for what his grandfather did?

He is free to do whatever he wants, and clearly does where there’s money/a fee involved. People are also free to judge him by his actions.

You either don’t see anything wrong with this, or you’re possibly just trolling for a reaction.

Others however might find it a tad uncomfortable considering his relationship with Gay Byrne. He could of course have said no to this “opportunity” on such grounds and I assume Mr. Murphy would have understood. But “a gig is a gig is a gig” it seems for almost all of the NK stable, and as Ivan Yates always says he doesn’t speak Latin and doesn’t understand pro bono.

The embassy said no fee was paid to Tubridy by them. Why would they be paying a fee, they were merely the host venue for this event, the organisers (Murphy’s side, his publisher) would be the ones footing any fees to Tubridy - which begs the question why the embassy (the taxpayer) picked up the catering costs? There are legitimate questions to be asked about this.

I'm still not sure why you think that Tubridy should hold Eoghan Murphy accountable for what Murphy's grandfather did to Gay Byrne.

His film reviews are always hilariously bad takes. The starting point is everything is amazing, but by golly if it has even the most tedious of Irish connections it’s amazing, delicious, gorgeous, beautiful, going to win Oscars and definitely the “bestest” (I have heard him say this) film ever. It’s all over-simplified platitudes and banal compliments, there’s no actual educated criticism of the film’s plot or themes or anything of depth. The “monkey in a dress” line however is pure Partridge. Monkey tennis anyone?

I assume part of Tubridy’s logic here is if he plays cheerleader to the actors then one day they might appear on his show so he better not be a big meanie and say “actually, this film is crap” (which is what an actual critic would do) lest he offend said actors.