Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just an Irish thing,?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

To be fair to the two Johnny's, they had a successful podcast and were selling out decent sized gigs long before rte latched on to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Tornaedo

MBB is essentially an old type of man-in-a-dress British humour with an Irish twist. It's still popular in the UK; in Ireland it'd be popular with the same type of people that would have liked the old UK equivalents. It's seen as very formulaic and repetitive because that's exactly the way it's made.

The 2 Johnnies is a type of culchie/redneck humour that you get in most countries. It's always looked down on by people who are seen as more educated and sophisticated.

FA&H is barely known outside of Youtube and maybe some Irish comedy clubs (as shown here). They get an easier time from the media because they're fairly inoffensive and have a low profile whereas the first two have high profiles and any commentary will get a lot more views and engagement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,875 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Two Jonnie's and Foil Arms and Hog both I find unfunny.

Mrs Brown…. It’s just gone on far too long. There is a point that they run out of good / funny ideas and it just doesn’t appear easy it seems a bit strained, a bit hard work, has done for a while. The new actor who replaced Rory Cowan, well that hasn’t worked, they really should have written that character out of the show. Brought in the priest or whoever to live with them… It was an awful decision really by whoever made the call to recast that part.

At the end of the day now from the show and his property investments Brendan O’Carroll is a ‘multi’ millionaire. Spends the majority of time living in luxury in Florida with his missus and good luck to him, he’s earned it and some.

Can you have your finger on the pulse though of that Dublin working class life, be procuring ideas for the show and characters, living in a three story luxury beachfront home in sunny Florida ? as he has done now for years ? Dunno. He’s no longer seeing really or hanging out with Dubliners, ordinary Dublin people…

also the show and characters have existed in some format from stage to screen for decades. Might be a stage where it’s just a case of no new ideas, an ‘it’s been done’ scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭thereiver

Mbb is popular with people over 50 do the UK audience know the mammy is a man I wonder .MBB would have looked old fashioned in 1975 it's a relic it's like watching an old Elvis movie in terms of relevance to modern life

I,ve never seen fa and h and I listen to comedy podcasts every week I think low profile means unknown outside ireland

Ive never even seen them mentioned in an Irish newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

I'm fairly indifferent to all of them, which is the correct reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,054 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

MBB is basically Panto for children ages 50 and up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

And most of the jokes are robbed from proper comedians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Mrs Brown's Boys always reminds me of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭REDBULL68

It's comedy, if ya don't likei it press the channel button, I can't believe people are so worried about it ,yes I find him funny as do millions across Ireland, England and America so get over it ,

Why would it just be an Irish thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,859 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

BOC, when on the LLS with Tubs, would always say how he loves Ireland, how he loves the Irish people, how proud we should all be of what we offer the world, all whilst living in Florida.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

MBB is awful, but it knows its target audience well and judging by the amount of awards it has won, must be doing something right, even though it's a mystery to most people.

2 Johnny's are shocking and I genuinely thought Foil, Arms and Hog was a restaurant somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,828 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

The thing is whats funny to these kind of lads buddies down the pub doesn't necessarily translate as funny to television comedy, otherwise every "gas" man or woman would have their own sitcom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,763 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Probably one of the stand out things I learned from joining Boards - how offended and upset people get about what others find funny.
    yis will never find consensus nor inner peace, laugh and let laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Bocadilloo

I do enjoy the two Johnnie's. Not everything but for me their humour reminds me of late 90's early 2000's Ireland. This was peak enjoyment in Ireland for me, very sociable time, inexpensive, relatively no phones, no "World issues" enforced on us. A happy and safe country to live in at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,327 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

That's a very odd take.

As has been pointed out they took "lad down the pub" dialogue and turned it into a successful podcast, and a stage show, a radio slot and a TV show.

I'm not in the media (yet) but would love to be able to create my own content based on things I am interested in and make a success of it.

To turn that content into a successful podcast, radio show, stage show and TV show would be an absolute phenomenal achievement.

I don't know why these guys need sympathy for that achievement.

Can you elaborate further please?

I do enjoy the two Johnnie's. Not everything but for me their humour reminds me of late 90's early 2000's Ireland

I think it's very much like what you used to get on The Ray D'Arcy Show on Today FM back around that same time period.

It was very much about the lads, and girls, working in Celtic Tiger Ireland, the theme on a Thursday and Friday was looking forward to the weekend, the theme on a Monday was about the hangover.

Pure Mule the TV series was in the same vein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,564 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Ireland only ever made one useful piece of produced comedy, and that was The Savage Eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's probably a bit of a forlorn hope. But you can find lots of information and links online about Yokels, Bogans, Hillbillies and such like.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yokel

I did not see pure mule the last good Irish comedy on tv was batchelors walk .All good Irish comedians go to the UK as soon as possible.the it crowd was good on channel 4 years ago but the Irish writer of that is now cancelled .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭COVID

A Dutch version of a Danny Healy-Rae accent must be the dictionary definition of indecipherable ... especially if you don't speak Dutch.

culchie in american would be a hillbilly or a hick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭blackbox

That's all well and good when the subject speaks the same language as you.

You can identify Cletus The Slack Jawed Yokel because he speaks English in a different way than other Americans you hear.

Same with a Bogen in Australia. This guy comes to mind

But it's impossible to do if the subject is speaking a language you don't understand.

Anyway I think in every culture certain representations of the population on screen are looked down upon by others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The good ole boys living down a backroad in somewhere like Alabama or Arkansas make our Culchies look positively cosmopolitan.

Rte has a track record of making bad sitcoms .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Steve Allen

One of my favourite Savage Eye sketches was apparently written by Foil, Arms and Hog, youtube seems to confirm this - the communion priest.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=WOrYN2rb3OI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,828 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Pure Mule was a drama series, not a comedy or sitcom.