Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it just an Irish thing,?

• 13-12-2024 11:07AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭

Why the hate for Mrs Brown or The two Jonnie's and not Foil Arms and Hog?

Before anyone says not funny, what's funny is subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭NattyO

I dislike all three equally, and don't find any of them funny.

But to answer your question, I'm guessing Foil Arms and Hog are seen by a certain element of society and media as acceptable, but Mrs Browns boys is for the Dublin oiks, so unacceptable, and the two Johnnies are for the culchies, so equally so.

It's a bit like how the same element of society would see the Healy Raes as an insult to Democracy, but see, say, Roderic O'Gorman as the righteous defender of all that is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭littlefeet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Aurelian

I'm pretty sure lots of British people hate Mrs. Brown too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,320 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

No it's not just an Irish thing, it happens in every society, but because we don't know as much about other societies and don't understand their language or culture we cannot identify it.

We can however identify it in Irish culture.

A Dutch person once said to me that Eric ten Hag the former Man utd manager was sometimes looked down upon by Dutch people, because he's a Dutch version of a cluchie and speaks with the Dutch version of a Danny Healy Rae accent.

That's obviously something I would never be able to identify, and equally don't know if it's true or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭littlefeet

No, it would be more..don't get it, or not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Exactly funny and good or bad is subjective. There is no hate. Just find them terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I see plenty hate for Mrs Brown from British people on social media.

I think Foil Arms And Hog are more of a "cult" act, they wouldn't have as much mainstream exposure as the others mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

No "hate" here, just for me, personally, FA&H are quite funny and the other two are cringeworthy to the point of pissing me off at times.

Full disclosure - born-and-reared mucksavage living in the leafy 'burbs for ~30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

I don’t like foil arms and hogg because I just don’t find them funny. I don’t hate them just cos I don’t them funny tho.
    I like the 2 johnnies. I don’t find everything they do funny but I can identify with a lot of their humour and observations cos I’m a culchie I suppose.
    Im not a fan of Mrs BB mainly because I just find it’s crass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,848 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

" I have friends but I don't have many, I have no hair on my f......"

If that's the best line they could find from MBB to use as a promo, it shows you just how bad it is.

It'll be one of life's greatest mysteries, how BOC made a mountain of cash out of that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭csirl

Dubliner here. Never found Brendan O"Carroll funny, dont know anyone who does. But dont begrudge him for spotting a niche in the UK tv market and doing well out of it. Two Johnnies - just dont get them. Always thought they were pushed by RTE (like many others) for no logical reason.

What's foil arms and hog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Despise all 3 in equal measure whether an Irish thing or not. Happy new year a d a packet of crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

Re MBB, It's not the fact that it's unfunny that get's my goat, it's the lazyness of it all.

The whole thing is centered around one joke.. It's a man dressed like an older woman who says shyte!

That's it, or as McBain would say…

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I can take or leave Mrs Brown. Small doses only. The Two Johnnies are just not funny and all hype. As for Foilarms & Hog, I'd never heard of them until this thread. I had a look at a few videos and I have to say they are woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I think that's it in a nutshell. Mrs. Brown and the 2 Jonnies are well known at this stage and rarely off the TV (unfortunately, in my opinion). FAH are almost never on TV and consequently the majority of people won't know their stuff unless they go looking for it.

The only reason I know who FOH are is because I once had the misfortune to be dragged along to one of their shows. To me, it felt like D'unbelievables for people who love Starbucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The class division in the Netherlands is very pronouned, as much as it would be in England but harder to get out of in many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

That is honestly the funniest thing I've read in ages. I'd love to find people from various countries who post on here and explain whats the equilavent of a culchie in their country. Might be worth it's own thread.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,796 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

MBB for me is in the category of "comedy" along with some of the popular US comedies that have no artistic value whatsoever but are comedy for people who don't like comedy. It seems like some kind of lowest common denominator where these shows become inexplicably popular because they appeal to some base level of wit.

It's the same for a lot of pop music that is intrinsically without artistic merit but is what you'll hear when you go out and about.

OTOH, I enjoy Foil, Arms & Hogg and the 2 Johnnies because on some level their jokes require at least something more than passive engagement. Yeah they are not the funniest comedy acts for me but they're a long distance ahead of MBB and that they are even in the same discussion would surely offend them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I just wish Ten Haag was still around so I could picture Danny Healy-Rae every time he was interviewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'd love to see Danny Healy-Rae interview him. That would go down a treat both here and over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 IsThatSeatTaken

The two Johnny's are possibly the second most embarrassing thing to come out of this country after Conor McGregor.

I refuse to believe anyone finds them funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,054 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

MBB: British saucy seaside postcard type boomer humour with Irish setting. Lowest grade of humour.

TJs: Kilinascully for Millennial culchies.

FA&H: Updated "left the immersion on" Hiberno-centric humour.

Of the three I enjoy FA&H, not really interested in 2 johnnies, can't stand MBB.

Post edited by whisky_galore on

While I personally don't find them funny, I'm puzzled by the strong feelings they seem to arouse. They are no more or less funny, or embarrassing, than any "life and soul of the party" type lads of similar age you'll find in any pub in any small town in Ireland of a Saturday night.

Those "life and soul of the party" types aren't getting paid well to make eejits out of themselves on a Saturday night these lads are. They are about as funny as a case of crabs on your wedding night.

So the anger is because they are being paid (presumably if they are on RTE, by us)?
    I'd be a lot more annoyed at my taxes being used to pay the biased journalists, and overpaid "stars" RTE hire than two chancers from the back of beyond that at least aren't pretending to be anything they aren't.

I'm not angry at them. If anything i feel sorry for them.

Why? They are being (presumably) well paid for doing what they pay to do on a Saturday night in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,142 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Foil arms and hog are leagues ahead of the other two gobshites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭thereiver

They make MBB because it's cheap to make someone must be watching it I don't think it's funny at all

The only funny comedys Ieft on UK tv are the trip and Gavin and Stacey which has only one episode left . There's plenty of good American comedy series to watch .just don't bother watching SNL theres maybe one joke per episode

Post edited by thereiver on