Waterford Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,947 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The bulk of the cost there was replacing the water mains under the road; but blaming the cost on the cycle lane sells more papers / gets more clicks.

The cycle lane was the cheap ancillary addon here, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,693 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes, those 100+ year old leaky water mains people are always giving out about, they replace them and people are still giving out

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭azimuth17

The last two posters, with over 100,000 posts between them, seem determined to tell us we cant have something. They just dont get it .. We dont give a hoot what you think. We believe we should have it and we will fight to get it….and 70m was for a cycle track whether you like it or not and split hairs.. All the ancillary work facilitated the cycle track. I have no problem with it, but its a wonder it wasnt paved in gold leaf.

We want something, be it 24/7 cardiology or equal status university investment or small airport and we will fight to get it, for as long as it takes despite those trying to run interference. Get over it, or get off the Waterford city page. Find something else to amuse yourselves.

Pointing out a gross inaccuracy is not "splitting hairs".

Waterford Airport is not commercially viable, and extending the runway will not make it so. Have you got a source of funding to keep subsidising flights forever?

"we believe we should have it" against all logic is the attitude of a child being denied more sweeties when they've already been sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭invara

All Irish airports are unviable, as in their incomes are below their running cost and cost of capital. Airports are civic infrastructure- the benefit is across the economy and society never really to the airport. That is true of almost every airport in Europe.

In the past 20 years, more than half a billion went into Cork airport, pumped by Cork politicans, and our simple question is where is the €12m to fund our airport. There was no national discussion on the future of avivation, or the public spending code- they Cork pols just made it happen.

So the question that people in the South East ask is — how can we end the current economic recession, albeit with a labour market uplift, but general economic contraction. Govt funded expansion and investment, stimulus and infrastruture is happening elsewhere all the time, often without drama or campaigning. The airport is a small part of the economic uplift needed in the region- to stabalise the weak MNC offering and support the tourism sector beyond general quality of life benefits. And if Govts answer is no, they must articulate what the will do to support our economy on equal terms to other regions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭Bards

The taxpayer.. Same as all the other regional airports.. Heck taxpayers had to bailout RTE to to tune of 750 this year alone.. How many billions of taxpayer subsidy for NGOs.. But the moment there is a merest hint of taxpayers money coming to Waterford and everyone hops on it..

Dublin Airport is significantly profitable and funds its own - and Cork's - capital costs. Cork's new terminal didn't get public money.

The 12m will fund a runway extension. It won't fund a single flight.

Nobody here has ever tried to explain where the millions annually required to bribe airlines to fly to a non-viable airport is going to come from.

A dead weight airport is not the answer to the South East's economic problems. It's a way for the councils to have even less cash to spend on anything else.

600,000 population of the SE is enough to make the airport profitable.. It's as much my tax money as it is yours and we have every right to have our tax money spent in this region as you!!

600k people who already have other options for flights that will continue to be cheaper and have other facilities like 24h buses, airport hotels etc.

If the airport was viable, flights would have resumed after the financial crash. They haven't. Extending the runway in some cargo cult like idea that it'll bring in Ryanair without having to give them crippling incentives (no landing fees, marketing support etc etc) is madness.

The airport ceased to be viable as soon as road improvements made Dublin and Cork much quicker to get to. When they were significantly further away, in travel time terms, the airport had flights to half of the UK, France, Amsterdam and Malaga - and yet it has gone to absolutely nothing, because it is not viable.

If, somehow, the airport gets a business case for the extension that passes muster and it gets built; it will need millions a year to keep airlines going. Can't you figure out something else those millions could be spent on in Waterford that would be more useful? And also the insane amounts of political capital that will be required to get that funding.

Yadda yadda.. Same old nay sayers.. Spent years listening to the likes of you telling us that the SE didn't need a motorway either that the population wasn't there to justify it and taxpayers funds shouldn't be spent.. Now it's noe of the busiest motorways in the country

The truth hurts.

The ostrich actions on this thread are incredible. If the airport was viable, you'd have flights to the UK operating right now. There are airlines with the airframes, pilots and slots to do so; but they aren't doing it cause it wouldn't make any money.

Go and find another region to troll

You dont get it. Its our city and our airport and our effort. You dont agree, fine.

If we want to try build the Kennedy Space Centre there what business is it of yours? Unless of course you represent the places with skin in the game elsewhere out to undermine the aspitrations of others, or are just a naysayer.

Explain how you intend to fund the ongoing operations of the airport?

Nobody even tries to answer that one, as they've got nothing.

Also, when you're demanding taxpayer money, it's everyones business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Ye keep forgetting lads, it’s parish pump politics if we cough politely and ask the question about regional development. It’s sensible economics to pile more and more money into smaller overpriced spaces in Dublin and Cork.

Remember it takes a population 500K to justify 24:7 cath labs and the SE ends in Ballyhale. It is also thought provoking that on the Herrity cath lab necessity principle, Dublin has a population of about 12M and Cork 3M. It’s no wonder they need all our taxes to keep going.

Extending a runway for the hell of it is not sensible regional development.

The airport is non viable and will remain non viable with an extended runway. There isn't a coherent business case for the extension.

I think you'd be in for quite a shock if a tax spend versus dependency calculation was done for pretty much every county other than Dublin, Meath, Kildare, Wicklow and Cork… it's those counties taxes paying for everyone else and absolutely not yours paying for Cork and Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Wow! Who who have thought if you cram half the population into one small part of the country, cram it with universities, the national airport, the seat of government, the national children’s hospital, a tax dodging financial services centre, national stadia, concert halls, national broadcaster and invest, invest and invest that that area would be where the most finance is generated? You could have knocked me down with a feather there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭914

Continued government support as what happens with Kerry and Knock airports. Very few if any regional airports are profitable.

That's a given, but the economic benefits that it could bring could offset the government support.

No one is expecting Waterford to get to the heights of Cork but achieving similar to Kerry airport is very do-able.

The airport would require some level of operational support but in the scheme of things it will still be small money each year.

You say the €12 million could be best spent elsewhere, you couldn't even build a new teaching building at an SETU campus for €12 million as it is small money.

The airport is already home to R117, Waterford Aero club, Atlantic flight Training school and private flights. It is currently operational so why not remove it's restriction and see if it can attract an airline/airlines to service flights to UK and Europe, allowing it to operator at greater capacity?

We will do like Cork. Run up a debt of 200 million Euro and then transfer it off the books to the DAA. Go mind Cork interests for a while.

If the airport loses money we will beg for support as is normal in Ireland. Go put your tiresome posts esewhere.

So you have no plan on how to make it viable then.

Could just have said that. It's not my fault you find reality tiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭914

Well there is, the airport has received no operational funding for the last few years despite still operating Rescue 117, Waterford Aero Club, Atlantic Flight Training Centre and private.

Yes they are on minimal staff but all current staff are fire and security trained. The current fire tenders meet the category required for Jet Aircraft.

The extra expensive would come from meeting security and fire needs and increased staffing numbers. (The type of funding already provided to all current regional airports)

Over time one would expect the airport to grow which would be requiring less operational funding.

How does Kerry, Knock and Shannon currently operate, some level of income and the rest of operational funding covered by government, the same would apply to Waterford.

Increase in staff, jobs relating to the airport, inbound tourism and the possibility of increased FDI would all go some way in off setting the government support in taxes, job creating and tourism spend.

The airport needs to be looked at in a wider context.

I recommend stop feeding the trolls.. We've all been here before with M9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭dan575283578

Yeah we need to just ignore em honestly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,693 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If we want to try build the Kennedy Space Centre there what business is it of yours?

You're welcome to do so but the council will have a hard time funding it.

You'll find that every country in the world has a capital city.

In the case of Ireland you'll also find that the flow of taxes with regard to our capital city is very strongly outwards. The abuse in return is normal and expected.

Would that be one of the busiest roads in the country, really? Or the least used motorway in the country after the jokeshop M17/18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,365 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Can't be many business ideas that expect to be instantly profitable from the moment they are proposed.

Having said that, it's no easy task for Regional airports to recreate themselves. No harm in a discussion about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

I'd love to see a map showing the counties that make up this purported 600,000 population that's going to use an airport at the bottom end of Waterford. Wouldn't be surprised if it includes Bray or Portlaoise or some other places that are nowhere near it and whose people would never go near the place. WAT isn't even the closest airport to parts of County Waterford, never mind the rest of the south east.

Anyway the whole thing is likely a complete bust now after the election. The one big chance to deliver something unsustainable like this would have been to elect an independent TD at the right moment and Waterford did the exact opposite, booting one out instead. A pair of shinners sitting in opposition will deliver a lot of shouting, potentially the odd embarrassing scandal and absolutely nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭gw80