Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Not sure on the definition of sucklers done right,like without a lot of the suckler scheme payments it's hard see how they are profitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,386 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

You just do not have the output and all costs are taken off too few animals. Boards bia inspection a few days ago, got over 95% must have more issues the next time and get it below 90%.

However he commented on the fact that I had no farm loss in two years knock on wood

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭WoozieWu

my own profitability has increased significantly in the past 3 years as a mostly suckler to beef farmer

when had you cows last?

you have shown a few times now that your information about sucklers is well out of date

breeding my own replacements and culling the bottom couple of cows or one with a dead calf means the whole place is quite lean and the cows are of a type

my cull cow value is massive and is an important part of the system

loss wise we have had 3 dead calves in the past 5 years stillborn twins and a random death at a month old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

10 years ago..granted a long time ago,but I see it hard to see a suckler cow compete with a dairy beef calf bought for €100-€200 and killed before its second winter into €1500-€1800 after just a 6-8 week finishing period..couple the fact it's possible to finish 1 of those animals per acre off ground without derogation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I suppose it depends on land, location.

For the last 2 winters here it was 8 month winters, especiallyfor heavy cattle, indeed anything, that's a killer cost wise .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭Who2

good sucklers calves the last two years are coming into fifteen hundred. I averaged over 1400 on last years calves at at 105% weaned . This year I’ve kept a few until the new year but I’ll sit down over Christmas and see where I’m at. Stocked at 132kg per hectare. There’s money in anything if done right.

im not and wont knock any other system, there is something to suit everyone

weanlings are selling v well and beef is obviously going well, heavy u grade stock are killing into big numbers

that is helping a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭kk.man

A rising market helps all in the beef game and often masks what's underneath the surface.

We have no late nights, no cesarian, I had no deaths in 12 years, if you are locked up with tb you are in trouble, if I am they are all going on the hook anyway, you have probably 1300 tied up in a cow all the time, my stocking rate suits current limits. 50k less cows in the system according to the rag tells it own story.

I can see only a heavily sub suckler cow being profitable and those days are over except for marginal land. One cow producing one calf a year just doesn't do it for me. My net margin on one animal is up there with the best suckler but I can have 1.5 more animal than the suckler and her calf. U need to buy a decent expensive bull too to be in the game.

Not knocking anyone's system and I accept it fits into a farm type etc but the ship has sailed with suckler.

yes 50k less cows means further price increases for my stock

with no death in 12 years you must be the best farmer of all time

Beef is beef to the factories and it doesn't matter what shape it comes in. If it did they would pay a premium better than they are. They single handed drove the suckler people out of business in the last 15 odd years.There is more than enough dairy and dairy cross stock to replace those. Why are they pushing dairy calf to beef demo farms and not sucklers.

I wouldn’t say that, I have no calves and very little illness, I'd be expecting that result. Thanks for the vote of confidence all the same.

Post edited by kk.man on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Disagree a little on beef is beef, the factories have markets for certain type of cattle and pay accordingly for the right type of stock, try going to the factory with under finished poor dairy cross cattle and see what the factories will pay for them, there is a huge variation in dairy cross stock at present that’s being produced for sale as calves and being reflected in carcass weights and yields and also in the cull cow market,

A base price of 5.50e a 350kg r minus fs 3 bullock comes into 1,925 before stoppages. A U minus fs 3 is now on 5.62 comes into 1967.....where is the equity in that? That dairy beef animal has to feed one man in general. That big arse suckler probably went to 3 fellas. If it was only 2 fellas it's still not at the races. You don't seem to get my point

No one should be putting through under flesh cattle to a factory. I was a suckler farmer and won't be returning.

I know about kill out and yields in a bonning hall as good as any. Yes the factories love them and their margin is better on them but it's all about volume both in factory and farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Suckler farms are getting smarter and a breeding better more profitable stock. There was a time lads were putting anything in calf with any old kind of Ch bull. If you don't have the right cow & bull combination sucklers will break you mentally, physically & finically.

But if you can get it right there is a nice little profit to be made. But you need a system that suits you.

Mine is calf in April / May, out door with 2/3 generations from dairy , milky R grade LMx cows. Calves are circa 350Kgs weaned on grass & milk in November. Fatten until 26 -28 months killed usually at July / August prices at around 400kgs, R+ or better grade. Very little meal. They are beating the calf to beef cattle big time every year.

Short keep cattle are probably slightly more profitable, but hard to pick up when you are working 5 days a week & have loads of farm jobs for a Saturday.

that u animal in your example would be what weight live exactly

Anto, your suckler cow is carrying herself, her calf and last years calf in your system whilst you are depending on her first calf for a few bob? How many acres is that cow and offspring taking up?

Those are good weights to be fair. But not allowing the dairy calf that second winter is a huge attraction plus you carry more cattle per acre.

I get what you mean but I'm saying for the last time their is no fairness in that grid for the good u versus the poor R. Give him a 50kg advantage on the r minus, still not great for the time, effort and the movements he might do before hanging. The factories have killed sucklers and the evidence is also in the exodus. If you think 50k less cows is going to be an advantage to you, i don't. All they want now is angus and hereford. Those stores are not far per kg off some suckler bred stock. There is easier and better ways to make money from beef.

Your dairy calf is killing somewhere between 60 - 100 kgs less plus coming in at 12 - 24 cent a kg less, that is anywhere between €350 to over €600 less per animal. Plus there is a lot more work with dairy calf, scours,chills, calfs just off form, bedding, feeding, cleaning out sheds then add in a slow drinker. I rear about 20 of them every year & they do ok and maybe if I was rearing 60 with an automatic feeder it would work better for me. But I think in my system if I had access to more land I would increase the number of suckler cows quicker than I would increase the dairy calfs bought.

I agree calves are not for the faint hearted. I'm only doing a comparison of suckler v dairy beef as an example of the unfairness. I don't do dairy calf to beef. I get in when the hard stuff ends and finish them fast and hard. I actually think it pays much better than any dairy calf to beef enterprise. But in the above weight comparison the dairy calf man and I carry more stock per acre.

you can't keep glossing over the huge difference in weight hanging

better suckler stock will more than make up the cost difference over any db stock, so much more potential in quality suckler stock

factories are paying well over quoted prices for high grading continental stock and no limit on weight

You can too with sucklers.

They are paying much more on angus than any u grading bullock and would go to aa yard in a shot before a charlaois yard in the morning. A good friend of mine has 75 aa and Hereford bullocks ready atm and he's having great bidding war with the barons. That be almost 150k in the bank. By the way he bought them very right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭limo_100

Lads have a few cows that I'm looking to feed hard over the winter and try and get them to a good condition have the for the factory fit hopefully by the end of march. Have them weaned now and on just on 3kg of nuts. But there is a place beside me selling a maize ration for 310 a tonne has 45% maize 20% barley and full mineral spec and acid buffer I thought It seemed like great value would feed they 5kg of that plus 73dmd silage could up the rate if needed later on ? What would people think of this ration?

@kk.man you are correct, short keep cattle are the most profitable with the least work. I have had cattle barely 70 days and often made €300+ on them. But it takes time to go around a mart to pick up what you would like. For me who is working full time with a young family, I just haven't that time to spend around a mart. I would go to Carnaross an odd Tuesday evening & bank holiday Monday to pick up a few, (around another 20 so that I have 60 ish a year to sell) I do find it hard enough, and wouldn't like to have to buy all 60 in the mart every year.

I have have the luxury of being able to be on line in work and either tip in to my nearest mart or the other two further away, I have a decent haulier who is reasonable.

Bass will be giving out to you for adding cost to your system using a haulier.... yes that's handy for you. I am a firm believer in there are loads of different systems that work in the beef game, get the 1 that suits you best and if you do it right there can be a nice few bob in it.

fair play to him

what will it cost to replace them

3-5kg is only warming a cow up. 7-8kg and if there’s flesh on them now they will more than likely be long gone by March if not you may still have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Why are they pushing dairy calf to beef demo farms and not sucklers.

There is only one reason that dairy calf to beef demo farms are being promoted over sucklers and it is very obvious. It has FA to do with which is more profitable than the other. The promotion of increased dairy cow numbers after quota abolition and the total short-sightedness of those doing such promotion to recognise that there may be more dairy bred calves on the ground it is the only reason. It is only through dairy calf to beef that they are doing something about. Dairy is the number one game in this country and we are only allowed to exist as farmers as we are dealing with a byproduct of the industry.

I do a bit of both dairy to beef and sucklers and there is a good twist out of both if done correctly. In saying that there is SFA out of either if go outside the lines also. Working off marginal ground makes this even more difficult I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭limo_100

They are some of them dairy crosses and they would be just in average shape so a warming up phase I think is no hard How long would you warm them up for if they got 4-5kg between now and new years and then up it over a a couple of weeks to 8kg in the new year would that be a good time-line? Would that feed be a good ration to push them on? will be mixing there nuts now with the ration to get them in on maize meal

others here would probably know better but if they are friesan type I’d just leave them with the small bit and when they are ready they are ready. It’s been a long time since I had any here but they don’t convert meal profitably. Hi maize mix is ideal but there’s no point getting too fussy with a couple. I’ve a couple of culls here and they are just getting a weanling nut but that’s just me being lazy and not getting a second mix.