People getting thick for making your way through the crowd?

• 12-12-2024 09:08PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭

I've been going to gigs for 25 years now, and I've only started experiencing this in the last couple of years. Usually before the show starts and the crowd gets dense you'll have people moving around trying to get close or bunch up, or even bring pints back to their mates, usually no problem.

But in the past couple of years I've experienced a few incidents where people get verbally or physically aggressive because they perceive you saying "excuse me" and sliding past gently with 2 pints in your hand as a great offence.

At Nick Cave there prior to the show there was a woman who was roaring at people and calling them "fúcking assholes you cant just move past like this". Few people turned around and said "I'm meeting my mate/girlfriend" but she would double down and was throwing absolute hissy fits. I slid past her saying excuse me, didn't even touch her and she turned on me. I just ignored her. Her boyfriend looked mortified and wasn't speaking up.

Recently at the button factory I was moving back to my mate with a pint and a fella and his girlfriend physically stuck out his leg to try and trip me even though I wasn't even shoving them he just took offence to me trying to move through a dense crowd.

At another gig I was at last year, the crowd was very spaced out with about 1-2 meters between groups. My mates and I inserted ourselves in an open spot with loads of room and 2 blokes tapped us on the shoulder and said "we were here first" and started throwing a tantrum. We didn't move.

I'm just flabbergasted at how entitled people like this are at gigs. It's a crowd, and it's completely normal to be moving around like this you have to just try your best politely. I'd understand if somebody was barging through being a cnut but this wasn't the case. Personally I dont care if somebody plants themselves infront or near me. The more the merrier and a good gig is dependent on the crowd flowing and moving, dancing etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Ultimate Gowlbag

I dont mind people moving about but if you just move by me and then stand in front of me (usually as the headliner is about to start) i will have no bother telling them to fcuk off,those people are the real self entitled pricks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭sudocremegg

Agree'd if space is tight. But what if there's a space infront of you? You can't expect people to give you room unless you move up and fill that space. Can't reserve space. And equally the person you say that to could just ignore you, then what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭deandean

Sounds like you're getting old and cranky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Packed gig, no room, you've got yourself near the front for a band you love, some shower at the bar for the duration decides they deserve a front pew 2 mins before kick off, can we agree that's a no no?

I'm on record loads in here on how great it is seeing youngsters at gigs but poor gig etiquette defo far more prevalent amongst the kids.

I find most people at the gigs I go to sound, just be polite and there's rarely an issue. The odd asshole unavoidable.

Agreed thats a no no but going back to your mates where ye were all along is fine. We all know the queues for the bar can take ages.

Totally agree that gig ettiquette not as good as it used to be. But entitled people gate keeping where you're going under the assumption you're trying to push forward last minute is not on either.

That would apply more to the folk getting angry about people moving around during a packed gig. I've noticed it too OP. I mean I get that the constant movement can be a bit annoying at times, but it's part and parcel of a big concert - getting drinks, going over to friends, trying to find a better spot. If people don't want anyone moving around them, go over to the side of the stage.

At an indoor seated event with an interval though, that crap is unacceptable. I was at a Reginald D. Hunter stand-up gig a few years ago and people were getting up and going in and out in their droves, phones beeping all over the place. Horribly disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,743 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I've only had one incident at a gig a few years ago. Packed and standing, the crowd moving forward and back a few metres every so often… people usually just go with it but some c0cksnot behind me considered the spot he was standing to be sacrilege and refused to budge. When the crowd moved backwards he hopelessly pushed against me. When his efforts were futile he started to dry ride me to convey his annoyance!! I turned on him immediately, before I could even remonstrate there was a bouncer facing me with his hands up and two bouncers dragging him away.

Turns out they were watching him for a while.

I honestly don't know why some people like this person and the people described in the opening post bother going to gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭antfin

I don't mind the odd person moving back to a friend with pints etc but it can get annoying when it's constant or where it's people just pushing through a dense crowd to get nearer the front. The pinnacle of the worst behaviour is at festivals and you get younger people pushing through the crowd in chains holding hands. In that situation I once did the usual slight movement/rotation to let them through but when it became obvious that there was probably about 15 of them linked together and just pushing through in a chain I just stood back into my spot and refused to move. The abuse I got was mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I'd just like to apologise to anyone at Fontaines on Friday night that I might have pushed through. I am generally polite in making my way through the crowd. But on Friday, I was out for a good few hours before the gig, was well steamed up, and basically had only one focus in mind - get near the front.

Was worth it though 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭irelandrover

One of the big issues for me is a crowd getting in early to get a spot close to the front. Then they are continually in and out for drinks/ bathroom.

If you want that then don't go towards the front. Every time one of them leaves as well the crowd fills the space. So when they do come back then there isn't room for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,931 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If you leave a spot right up the front then your spot is gone. You'd want to be a bit of a deranged solipsistic oddball to think it's going to be waiting for you when you come back.

Generally these days in my older age (!) I avoid the front so I can go to the bar. Would still be in the front 1/3 of the crowd though so would work my way through the crowd to get back in. Politely, mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

I’d agree, so people moving up past you with pints like the op are dickheads? I’d say yes. I pint away toward the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Couldn't agree more OP.

I politely nudge my way up where there is space, but some people think their ticket entitles them to a 1m squared plot of land around them. Noticed this especially at EP when Billie Eilish was playing - people from about half way back were grumbling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭recyclops

Had this at Vampire Weekend recently group of girls stood in front of us and proceeded to hold there phones above us blocking our view they were politely told to stand aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,362 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Recurring theme seems to be the fact that people seem unable to listen to an artist for 90mins without needing to move and get drink.

Load up before and after. If you are really there to see the act, surely you can live without a drink for a while?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

As someone that doesn't drink in gigs (just one drink when I get in), I find the constant back and forth to the bar very annoying.

I have stopped trying to get too close to the stage, as the constant movements can be quite distracting. I know most venues well enough and try to get to spots where normally there isn't much interruption.

I understand it at smaller gigs, where it is nice to listen to some music and have a few drinks. And doesn't cost a forune. I mean like Vicar st and Olympia gigs. But I find it hard to understand the logic of paying like €120 to €150 for a ticket and then spend 15/20mins queueing at the bar, then wander around looking for the mates. Have the drinks, and then an hour later queue again for another while to get more booze. And then in and out for plsses. Loses the whole momentum of a gig. I find that I'm half afraid to go out for a ciggie break, in case I miss some tune that I really wanted to hear. When I hear the opening riffs of some some song that I'm not too concerned about, I do a runner, wallop in two cigs, and back inside again for the next tune.

Master of the Universe

I usually bring two pints into the crowd with me at the start. When they're done, I'll stay in the crowd till I need to go to the loo and then pick up another two on the way back from the loo.

So it's only really one trip out and back in again. Barely miss anything and it's four drinks.

I had a vaguely similar experience at Nick Cave, funnily enough. I wonder was it the same grinch? It was the first night (Tuesday?) and front left side of stage.

It's fairly impossible to move through the crowd without some degree of disruption. I must have brushed through more than a hundred people, but just one decides to take a loud huff. If they'll just let you push through, you'll be gone in five seconds and they'll be back to where ever they were.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,985 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Yes, fair points.

As I said, this is just me and my personal preferences. I don't need a drink (or a few) to enjoy the music.

And you are right, I am thinking more of the bigger venues. Mind you, I had one occasion at Vicar Street where the same person went to the bar 3 times to get rounds in the space of a 90 minute concert. They didn't annoy me much as they were just standing close to me and it wasn't extremely crowded, but do you really need 3-4 drinks in short sequence to enjoy the music? I honestly kind of thought he was there for the company and didn't care much about the music, so volunteered to get the drinks. This indeed happens more frequently in places like the 3Arena, especially in the standing area.

Master of the Universe

Nobody 'needs' to have drinks to enjoy the gig, it's just a lot of fun and very enjoyable to do so.

I could go to a concert stone cold sober but much rather to have a few pints with some mates, it's all part of the experience.

Saying that, I'm not going to be going back and forth to the bar 3 times in 90 minutes to get rounds, that's beyond excessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I've always had issues at gigs because I am 6ft 4. So going to the front is not really an option for me because I'm just blocking everyone's view. So I usually try and find a spot along the side or the back. This causes an issue with my 5ft 5 girlfriend who always wants to be up the front at every gig. To the extent that we usually end up enjoying gigs separately, she gets her way up the front and I hang back and avoid the hassle of being in people's way.

Bad gig etiquette is a real annoyance though in general. People being selfish and ignorant barging through crowds trying to get a spot, late because they were at the bar and are carrying loads of pints. Then when they proceed to just talk through the whole gig, they're the worst. They're clearly out for a night out and aren't invested in the music but are spoiling people's experience who are invested. This is far too common in Ireland I find.

You're being a bit harsh on yourself. You shouldn't be restricting yourself because of your height. Rather than saying that you are too tall, why don't you spin it to yourself that it's not your fault that other people are so small. Anyway, if I were you, I wouldn't be thinking like that. We've all come across people that are taller than us at gigs. I just move a little to the left or the right.

You're right - it's the shouters that are the problem. I was fairly close to a shower of ejits at the Amble gig on Wednesday night. There was a big crowd there, so it was difficult to move to a decent position in the crowd. But I did, and enjoyed it much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,231 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

I'm 6'2", I don't let that stop me getting a good spec down the front. But it is part of the reason I'll get myself placed early on and not move. I'm aware of my height if I try to move through the crowd and find a place to settle but, if I'm in place early, people can avoid standing behind me 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭dasdog

Classical and Jazz music shows excel at that. Way to do it:

-Don't be carrying pints
    -Follow a snake of people instead of lots of excusing
    -Have a look around when you get there and don't obstruct someones view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I think it's gas that you complain about how entitled others are, yet you think you are entitled to push through to the front of the crowd.

If you can't manage a gig without pints perhaps you should stay at the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,651 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yeah don't mind this . Or the odd person going through with drinks .

But big gangs shoving through and expecting others to give up their spot I don't like .

I had a great spot at the back near the sound guys at one open air concert and stayed there as could see the stage ( small pint ) and do my moves. A couple , in their early 30s I would say , moved right in front and proceeded to snog and gyrate taking selfies and repeatedly push back in to me , nearly knocking me over . I tapped her on a shoulder and asked them very nicely to take care and got yer man in my face, abusive and threatening . !

My oh pulled me back ( as I was standing my ground ! !) and stood in my place and the guy was shaping up to him then .( Thing is he was average height and my oh is all of 6'5" and very large ! )

He was obviously out for a row which we weren't but at the same time we were both mad at this stage and not backing down .

Luckily I caught her eye, said we don't want a row , and she saw sense and dragged him away but we were glad they were gone, fxxxin brats .

The whole thing upset me and took me a couple of songs to get back into it .

Like just a bit of thought nobody minds the odd push and shove but mosh pits are generally at the front .

Have been to.loads of gigs with rough moshing but mostly good natured and that level.of aggro was the worst I have ever encountered .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,651 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

@Electric Nitwit this is why we go to the back and stay in one place from early on.

He doesn't move so he isn't blocking anyone and I am usually in front dancing away 😁

If I want to move up closer we generally go where he is on the side for the same reason .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭KawaKris

It's everywhere now, gigs, festivals. I'd say 1 in 10 are polite. I've absolutely no problem letting someone through if there's an "excuse me" or "sorry bud" but that's very rare lately. Can you really nudge through someone politely, ask then proceed is fair I think.