Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I'm gobsmacked with what I'm reading - The solution proffered for the abuse of our asylum system by, what we do know, are the majority of people arriving here fleeing nothing, is to ramp up building homes for them!

It's like I've entered some twilight zone - Utterly bizarre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

We do have to provide accommodation for genuine asylum seekers. So best to prepare a plan.

Its not good for anyone to live long term in hotels and the like, I think we would all agree on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Joe 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭creeper1

I can't find the post to quote it however if anyone is wondering why the left support a policy that enriches a small number of hotel owners and brings in competition for limited housing the reason is because the left have been completely co-opted by the fraction of one percent (the elites).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

My inability to spell his name is indicative of my inability to spell people’s names in general. That’s it.

You argument is completely facetious

As for Meneer Fortuyn, how popular was he really?

The Netherlands is a weird place. In the North East and South it’s extremely conservative. In the big cities it’s very liberal. Below the rivers they are constantly at odds with above the rivers. It makes for an interesting mix

But there’s consistently been an anti immigrant part for decades. it’s never been close to a majority though.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Pim Fortuyn was extremely popular and would have been elected prime minister, had he not been brutally slaughtered. There was a huge collective mourning at his passing. He was deeply concerned about the growing influence of Islam on Dutch society. Imagine that, an openly gay academic sceptical of a retrograde ethos on the values of his country. He was popular.

You might recall what happened to Theo Van Gogh around that time for expressing similar views?

How does Wilders popularity today rate relative to past performance? The trajectory looks pretty clear to anybody with even a passing interest. Let’s watch this space.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I don’t know what the point of this discussion is. Dutch society is a great model for any country to follow. The problems currently being experienced are very little to do with culture wars. The economy is shifting away from traditional industries and people feel left behind. So they blame the immigrants. Not just the refugees mind you, all immigrants. It’s the same problem all across Europe. People like Wilders are exploiting it, I don’t believe they care about fixing it.

Wilders is doing extremely well for a right wing populist, but he will never be Prime Minister. He’s too toxic. If his policies were actually implemented the Dutch economy would be destroyed.

Pim Fortuyn wasn’t going to be elected Prime Minister, even after his death the LPF got 17% of the vote. I googled it to be sure, they were polling at 17% before he died. No chance he was the next prime minister

Like most populists, they are great at hurling from the ditch. They shout a great game, but they struggle to actually govern. So much so, the current compromise Dutch Prime Minister is a civil servant. You’re consistently over estimating how popular these people are, because you agree with them. It’s confirmation bias at its finest.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Try claim asylum if you have not been fingerprinted change your name put on an accent .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭rgossip30

But but but 23 percent are working well most in low paid jobs minimal tax and getting state accommodation the win for the Ukrainian only ! Paddy says shur it's grand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The left have been "co-opted" by the right. Seems legit.

All this left, right bollíx, sounds like a dance class.

Dizzying.

And you’re consistently underestimating the degree of popularity due to your own confirmation bias. The emergence of Wilders is just part of the broader trend sweeping the continent.

I do agree that the Dutch get a lot of things right. I like their logical, pragmatic approach to organising their society. Their proposed cap of 20 million on their population is eminently sensible given their geography and the recognition that resources are finite. Something that several contributors to this discussion could certainly learn from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭aero2k

To be fair to the Dutch, pragmatism has always been a hallmark of their society. They're very grown up when it comes to making tough decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,416 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Oh sweet jaysus, derek bligh after a brief spell keeping a lid on himself to win over the electorate has gone full bligh

https://x.com/BligheDerek/status/1865470900407079002?t=LGwsbNNzZ6RtREst_Zw1qg&s=19

My opinion aren't great back in Ireland but they are a little bit better than sharing a room or a tent with random Afghans and Somalis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

One of a group of very vocal left troll accounts on X. Free speech and choice is only good if you agree with her world view, if you have a differing opinion or question policy, you're a fascist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,319 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The Sunni majority have regained control of Syria. I'm sure the EU/UN will help rebuild and re-emigrate our Sunni Syrian friends back home?

Christian and Kurdish Syrians it's too early to say.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,050 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

No settled asylum seekers are ever asked to return home - that is not how the asylum system works in any country. If they want to go home, fine; if they don't want to, that's also fine. Asking them to leave would be akin to saying they were never welcome in the first place and were only granted asylum by the state under duress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭engineerws

Didn't realize that was advertised to Ukrainian people.

"We are Ireland, a neutral country, and we are keen to take as many people as possible because we're not a member of the military organization NATO."

Missed that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

When the Ukraines temporary protection runs out and they go back home, when their country is deemed safe, that will free up the accommodate for the new arrivals..😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Was watching The Week in Politics earlier on, a political reporter was saying Bacik is still keen to get into a coalition government and would be looking for Justice if it happens.

Nobody would ever be deported if that one gets the job.

Not a hope any of them go back home.

The lie that all of this is temporary is exactly that - a lie.

That's how it is sold however.

The hotels are filled with them and not going back to tourist use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

That would be damn scary.

McEntee was dreadful but Bacik would take it to another level altogether

Post edited by Headshot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭tom23

I really hope FG / FF go in with Independents. McEntee to be kept away from Justice and Integration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭halkar

I think opposite will happen. Once dust settled Hts will form some form of Sharia law and most seculars from Damascus and West Syria will start leaving the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

That would be the sensible option, but when have FFG ever taken the sensible option recently?

Many Syrians might well go home. There's talk that nearly all the 3m Syrian refugees in Turkey will probably return home, especially if things remain settled there in the coming year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

Yes, senior ministerial posts are highly likely to be handed out like smarties to well behaved returned candidates who kept their nose clean.

I don't care what the Syrian refugees in Turkey do.

Yeah they probably will go back because having moved a small distance they probably had it in mind to return when possible.

The ones in Ireland won't be going back

Why not? It wouldn't be a surprise if many of the Irish based ones 'do' make the decision to return home. A lot of them had a good quality of life before they were displaced by the Syrian civil war in 2015, were university educated and so on.