Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 26.09.24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The ref was being a complete arse at the end though. He stopped play multiple times in the last 10 minutes, the linesman losing comms (do we really need a 5 minute delay for that?). The Mazraoui incident where he made him go off for absolutely no reason at all. Then making Onana move the ball literally a yard to the left and retake the free.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Also frustrating that's media and people online keep saying some the players never change their spots etc. Fair enough but can they not point them out. The majority of the squad is new. And there's only about 4 or 5 mainstays in the past 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,275 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

See yas in 4 years lads.

Back to 13th. Villa and Forrest 2 points off top 4.

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,771 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

And that Jota lad had visible blood on his lips for a good spell right up to HT and didn't have to leave the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭DataDude

All this stuff doesn’t matter. Amorim in a position where league results make close to no difference. Who cares if we finish 6th or 15th.

This season is purely about 1. trying to build an identity and 2. confirm how many (if any) of the players have a future. If refs want to give 3 random penalties against us in every game, who cares. It doesn’t impact on his ability to do 1 and 2 above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭KH25

The ref was bad, but he made it clear Onana needed to move the ball back, and Onana decided to be a smart arse. It’s the carry on you expect from a team defending a lead, not chasing a draw. He should have strips torn off him by Amorim. Keepers make mistakes, fine, but he actively wasted time for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

State of some of the polar reactions per usual. The lack of nuance to any discussion when we don't win is laughable. 'Onana should be sold'. Give over. It was a bad game today where the mistakes were punished.

The fact is, we have decided to go with a manager who has a very specific style and formula and we don't have the required players to play some of the key roles as of yet. Wing backs being the main issue I think. In my opinion we need a natural left footer on the left. The other glaring issue is the lack of legs in the team. We have very few powerful runners.

The encouraging things are that we are to an extent, controlling most of the games already in the managers short stint and there are already patterns developing. Going to be more results like that. I think we actually have a decent chance of going far in the Europa but the league is going to be a slog.

Exactly. Can't the keeper kick it an extra 5 feet? Wasn't like he was on the edge of the box. He was going to lump it up anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

What worries me about Onana is even though he has massively improved theres a silly error in there thats gonna cost points, also look at him after his first mistake, he **** himself and made 2 more errors, he's far down the list of issues but I wouldn't be shocked to see him moved in 2 or so years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭basillarkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭Robson99

Onana was **** v Arsenal as well.....never came for any of the corners landed in the 6yd box

And some on here rating him one of the best in the world ...oh dear

The most important element of a goalkeeper is being reliable. Onana is not. Give him to the end of the season and if he doesn't improve dramatically, get rid. But due to finances, we will probably have to prioritise other areas before we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,220 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Dropped for who?

Don't forget that Dalot was the players player of the year last year, most of it spent at left back.

Its one of the issues with Amorim seemingly being tied to this system of his, he doesn't actually have the players for it. But since he is going to use it anyway, then Dalot is simply the best option the squad has for that position.

Rashford or Garnacho aren't disciplined enough for it, the left backs are perennial sick notes, Mazraoui is needed everywhere else.

Dalot may indeed end up dropped. But when he is, I bet about 2 games later he is back in there again, because there isn't anybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,233 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I wonder if there are any short term options available in January. We won't have the cash for a proper solution but if there's someone out there who has experience playing as a LWB in this formation and can go more than 3 games without breaking down, then we should bring them in til the end of the season.

Ruben isn't going to abandon his system, nor should he. But the glaring lack of a left wing back has got to be a real drag on everyone getting used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,379 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Meh.

Annoying to lose but its another game that the manager can rubber stamp his boys vs his transfer list.

Onana had a shocker but he's had more good than bad lately, other more highly rated keepers have had equally bad days at the office.

Dalot I don't think will work in this system.

Serious questions must now be asked about Licha, he is a shadow of the season 1 player we saw.

Ugarte is great.

Maz should be the first name on the team sheet.

Nacho needs coaching and I dare say he could benefit from a 6 month loan.

Some positivity to be taken but alot of the familiar negatives there too.

We go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Since the first game he played this season, Dalot has been fairly rubbish. I don't know if it's the system because he was pants in a back 4 under Erik this year as well.

Martinez hasn't been the same since he came back from those injuries. He's sloppy in so many areas of his game now and has definitely lost a little bit of pace.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Quags

Supposedly he didnt mean to like the post.

https://twitter.com/TheEuropeanLad/status/1865483160600895778

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭markc91

Dan ashworth gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

whats going on with this club...a mess on and off the pitch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,223 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Cant believe they have gotten rid already. Seems like madness unless something seriously bad was going on behind the scenes at board level. He's only in the job 5 months officially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,902 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

2m a month. Possibly worse value than Antony.

Surely got a nice pay off aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Quags

or maybe it just didn’t work out the way they wanted it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,223 ✭✭✭Jofspring

Seems very early to be coming to that conclusion though no?

Club saying time and patience on the one hand and sacking the sporting director after 5 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,692 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Maybe SJR got impatient, which would be a worry. “Sir Jim Ratcliffe has been pivotal to the call to part ways” - didn’t he say recently around the time ten Hag was due to go, something about leaving those decisions to the football people? Should Berrada feel undermined? What even is his role if SJR is making these decisions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,233 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

20241208_093759.jpg

Yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,942 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Lol, what a mess.

Apparently we couldn't sack ETH in the summer cause ashworth wasn't in place... And now he's deemed useless 5 months after being deemed best in class. After spending an age trying to get him in.

What an absolute effing mess...

I would assume there has been trouble one way or the other behind the scenes.

Will be interesting to see how long we take to replace him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Club is a shambles inside and out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,942 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I reckon wilcox gets promoted and fletcher takes his spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,271 ✭✭✭paulbok

Maybe they cloned his laptop harddrive so don't need him anymore.

Seriously though, this is not looking good for Ineos after all the negative press over ticket prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,692 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Was waiting for you to wake up and share your thoughts 😁

No reports yet about any trouble behind the scenes but from the article this stands out to me:

“This is a hugely significant development that will cause reverberations at United. Ashworth was held up as an example of the new INEOS leadership getting best in class operators, so to concede it as a mistake less than half a year into the relationship strikes as embarrassing for all concerned.”

“What it shows is that Ratcliffe is not prepared to wait around if something is not working to his mind. But a departure at this early stage inevitably brings into question his judgement in the first place.”

Embarrassing is the right word and again, I would be questioning SJR’s level of interference. Maybe some more will come out on this to could possibly justify the decision but for now it seems a bit crazy to do it so early.