Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭John arse

A win but a very hard watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Thought VDF was the best player across the 80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

In a lot of ways, we were much the better team. 3 tries to 1, should have been more. Lineout costing us again. Teams also seem to have figured out our attack. Overall, France and Scotland outperformed us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,642 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Crowley brought some excellent energy when he came on, and Casey looked very sharp, but we also lost our shape completely in attack a few times. The sequence after the goal line drop out was appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭roshje

Did we lose a lineout since Gus McCarthy came on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

I'm sure you're very pleased that he didn't, and instead started taking our lineouts cleanly.

Thought Casey and Crowley improved matters hugely, and Lowe is decidedly ponderous these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Piskin

But no answers!!! The line out and handling error's not been addressed since the WC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

have to say but I did say. Kelleher, what's the point. Porter, what's the point. Beirne in the back row. Two inside centres. Just just bullshit selection issues are killing the harmony of this team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,285 ✭✭✭✭JRant

It doesn't seem to matter who we have on the field, the same issues keep appearing. That's a system issue, not a personnel one.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭almostover

Goodish: Keenan, Aki, Henshaw, Hansen, Doris, Beirne, Crowley, Casey, G Mc.

Average: Porter, J Mc, VdF, JGP, POM, TOT, Ringrose, Sam P, Henderson.

Poor: Bealham, Lowe, Kelleher.

Special mention: Cian Healy. One of the all time greats of the pro era. Probably the best prop we've ever produced. Can be seriously proud of what he's achieved in both Green and Blue.

MoM: Doris. Tough to choose as we didn't play well but he carried like a tank and was excellent in the tackle too. Not sure about his captaincy credentials but he may grow into it. Undroppable regardless.

Aussie no.7 had 4 turnovers. Can't be leaving that happen. He should have been marked all game even if that meant sacrificing Josh VdF's normal game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭CptMonkey

Ya I'd agree there. Lineout isn't working with any combination of players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Delighted with the win, Casey, Crowley and Ringrose were great from the bench, brought a lot of energy and got us motoring again. Was also happy with SP and delighted he knocked over that difficult penalty following the poor conversion miss. Pack is a big worry. Getting turned over a lot, not solving the lineout. Big issues there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭mun1

change at halfback got us the win, should have been done at half time.

People trying to put all the blame on POC for the poor performance, letting all the other coaches off the hook, particularly AF.

AF made the selections for today and the last 3 games and outside of bringing on Gus MCarthy at hooker, has he developed anyone else ?

Igniting the Fiji game , He stuck to the core Porter, Bealham, Ryan, McCarthy, Beirne , VDF, Doris,JPG, Lowe, Hansen, Keenan.

That’s 11 positions where he has failed to try others for a significant time during any of the important matches.

As least he tried SP today , which was one hell of a risk.

Are we any further along in our development than a month ago ? I think not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Bench players were the winning of the game, PoM, Ringrose, Henderson, Crowley and Casey all made big impacts.
    I think Crowley is back as clear no1, mistake aside, but he is going to be fighting with Prendergast for a long time I hope, it should spur on both players to better standards.

Casey has really come on, I think he’s pushing JGP hard now.

I think Ringrose is still our starting 13 for the biggest games, he was outstanding from the moment he came on.

Henderson looking like the player of old, PoM and himself seemed to make the lineout acceptable at least.

Played well but let his oppsoite number ruin our ruck ball. Sometimes you have to sacrifice your own game to nullify that threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭exiledawaynothere

the nonsense of selecting Beirne at 6 is costing us.

SP had some fantastic kicks to touch and has a lot of positive attributes, but Crowley showed something different when he came on. I just wonder is it that Ireland are not set up to play the SP way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,083 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Shane Jennings in a big loss from the Virgin coverage.

I know its been a while, but that panel is lacking no-nonsense exponent of the arts of the pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Joma4good

terrible performance from quite a lot of players in green today, but don’t think I’ve ever seen James Lowe have such a overall poor performance. No some good moments that were counteracted by a defensive error as has happened in the past just slow and ponderous in attack. He definitely doesn’t have the legs for the kick chase game and he seemed to struggle with his timing on SP slight delay passing style. By no means the biggest fault we displayed but if our forwards can’t break the line we’re well short of options going wide.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,571 ✭✭✭fitz

We're clearly playing Beirne at 6 to try to improve the lineout with 3 locks, but it's killing us around the field. I think POM made an impact when he came on, combined with Casey's urgency, we were getting better ruck ball. We should have Beirne in the row with one of McCarthy or Ryan. Our pack are just not playing with the same cohesion, speed and intensity as they have. Henderson added nothing, I really don't think he warrants his place in the 23 at the moment. We're really missing Sheehan and to a lesser extent Furlong, but unless we solve the lineout problems, we're going to keep throwing away good possession and territory.

Prendergast was good, Crowley was good. We're looking good going forward at 10, and I expect it'll be back and forth in terms of who's starting in the medium term. Thought the back three were good, centres were ok. Good finish to close it out.

Will say, that was a serious performance by Australia. Think they got away with murder on late hits/shoulders, but they made it a really scrappy game and took their chances. I've been saying it for ages...they have the players, they've just been dreadfully managed over the last couple of years. Think they'll continue to improve under Joe, which is a good thing given where they've been recently.

You'd hope a fit Jack Conan will result in that selection being put to bed for the 6N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Ugly but got the result. Energy at the end got us there but just about . Doris was exceptional, works so hard. Keenan too despite the few errors but gave it everything and more. Nice outing for Sam, Crowley probably cements his starting for 6N based off today, but 2 months is a long time in sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭MurDawg

Prendergast Was bang average let's be honest.

Every good moment came with a mistake shortly after

Let him start for leinster and see how that works first before building an international attack around him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

So this series has been weird, some very uncharacteristic things in this team, poor discipline and unforced handling errors galore.

Limeout is a shambles. Not good enough at this level and really needs to be examined as to why this is.

Whatever problems this team has, 10 isn't one. We have 3 strong options, I know Frawley was poor v NZ but every player has a day like that.

1. Beirne at 6, hope we never see this again

2. Gus McCarthy and Tom Clarkson have given our front row depth a huge boost. We really need Boyle or Milne to push on now and give us an option to replace Healy.

3. Lowe and Hanson were quite poor in this series. Would love to see Stockdale stay healthy and regain his form of 5/6 years ago.

I said he was marginally in the positive column during the first half but was accused of provincialism so I cannot positively comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Good: Ryan, Beirne, VdF, Doris, Prendergast, Henshaw, Aki, Keenan, Ringrose, Crowley, Casey, Henderson, G McCarthy

Average: Porter, Kelliher, O'Toole, McCarthy, O'Mahony, Hansen, Lowe

Poor: Bealham, JGP, Lineout

Excellent: Cian Healy, for the day that's in it

Hopefully there will be a bit of an Easterby bounce in Feb. Good to see that our 10 options are competitive. Both lads have some improving to do and I wouldn't rule out Frawley yet either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

I think Casey is probably the biggest winner in this series

Not sure about Henderson though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Doris was really really good today. I thought he communicated well with the ref.

Not sure I would put POM on he scrap heap too soon though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Sam is like a more wooden version of Ross Byrne, and I didn't think that was even possible.

• Administrators Posts: 56,545 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I was impressed with Crowley when he came on, played like he had something to prove. Prendergast did grand, didn’t exactly grab the opportunity given to him but didn’t blow it either.

I think Crowley will retain that jersey for the six nations. Over the longer term I think Prendergast has the higher ceiling but he’s not there yet.