Most Overrated Tourist Attraction in Ireland

• 27-11-2024 02:07PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭

Here we go - in modern Rip off Ireland what's the the most overrated tourist attraction you have experienced?

I'll start with The Giants Causeway - it's a bit of a let down in reality and nowhere near as big as it looks compared to the imagery you see on tourist brochures and other media…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭cml387

Cliffs of Moher. Completely over commercialised, and now overrun with suicidal selfie takers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Giants Causeway - seconded here. I was so underwhelmed by it. Everything about it was to fleece the tourist and lacking in anything worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The cliffs themselves are cool, and lovely on a sunny day, but that intepretative centre or whatever it is that comes as part of the admission fee is very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭FCTwenteBenson

A boat trip to the cliffs is the best way to see them, they're really impressive when you're looking up at them

Dublin City 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭randd1

Temple Bar - An expensive drugged up drunk-fest.

The Spire - It's just a tall bit of metal.

For the most part though you know what you're getting in this country, a lot of the under-whelming is based on the weather or mood. For example, one time in Mahon Falls in Waterford was a dreary cold day lashing rain and could barely see a thing, another time I went was dry and warm, saw for miles around, absolutely lovely, a perfect day out.

The ones that really annoy me is the pet farms that amount to one pig, a llama, a long-horned highland cow, and a tractor by a sand-pit. The worst kind of tourist grabber you can find, you know the types of places, they're ones that put no effort into them at all and still charge a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Giants Causeway…very disappointed when I got to visit it for the first time…some lovely drives around the area though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

Galway City.

Let's go to Galway, get stuck in traffic, look at an arch and smell sewage whilst paying premium prices for pub grub and badly brewed local beers. I hope the pub band plays Wagon Wheel and Galway Girl. City of culture my hole.

Yay so glad I didn't go to Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Mike3549

Just change the title to:

"Most Overrated Tourist Attraction - Ireland".

That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Another vote for the Giant's Causeway,it's so small when you get there,plus even from Dublin it's hours away by car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 113 ✭✭Sid 1984

Tour bus driver here....

Many tourists do a coach tour as a taster & then come back under their own stream and invariably ask for advice....

1. First thing you do when you arrive in Dublin? Get straight back out of it; dirty, crime-ridden over priced kip.
    2. Forget Cliffs of Moher. Sliabh League way better & not over-run with aforementioned suicidal selfie takers.
    3. Ring of Kerry... Again over-run & over commercialised. Slea Head drive all the way or Achill if you want the scenery.
    4. As already said, Giant's Causeway.. Long way to go for f@@k all.

"We'll never be as young as we are right now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,678 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

There are cliffs just as good all over the Clare coast but nothing beats good marketing.

Galway is nice but the amount of bollix talked about it makes me hate the place. Here in Limerick it's constantly used as a whip to Mattie Hislop ourselves with by people who walked down Shop St. for an hour and think they know everything.

I always tell people avoid it and head for Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,371 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Titanic museum.

Didn't even have the actual Titanic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,106 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Not overrated at all. The Cliffs are stunning, particularly if viewed from below or from Aran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,263 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

The Buron. I remember being there on a school trip and being so dissapointed with it. The books made it sound and look so better.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

The Burren?

The Burren is **** amazing and a genuine one-of-a-kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

Didn't read other responses

My own opinion

The Little Museum Of Dublin in Stephens Green

By a country mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

@sid1984

Your point 1 is nail on the head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

titanic museum drove me nuts playing the song from the film. the dry dock where it was built was much more interesting.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

We need an underrated version of this thread now!

@Sid 1984 Agreed on Slea Head, it's bloody lovely, isn't crowded, and doesn't take long to get around. Have done it many times over the years and it always leaves me in awe of how beautiful parts of Ireland are.

Not really one I would expect school kids to appreciate.

I liked the museum but it wasn't anything special. The drydock blew me away though the way the had the maps and death rates built into the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,018 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Yeah, but not on any day its foggy or raining. Which is most days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Has to be Guinness store house. It’s actually embarrassing how we immediately jump to it when anyone “important” visits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 313 ✭✭queueeye

Any of the Santa experiences that are on the go this time of year.
    They don’t even give you a jar of Vaseline after you’ve forked out for it.
    Ridiculously overpriced and shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

I found the ole carrick a rede rope bridge and that little island way more impressive, couldn’t believe the size of the causeway haha

"Over-run"

Ya cause ye fekin tour bus drivers keep taking them there 🤣

(I know it's not really your choice)

I love Dublin for a visit but I wouldn't recommend it to a tourist. If you want a city break there are better around Europe and those wanting "the Irish experience" will find better in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭jackboy

It's run like a concentration camp. Too expensive, the staff abusing tourists who drop people off at the entrance or who they think have not paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

The Cliffs of Moher were amazing years ago before the built the huge walls. It was really something to sit with your legs dangling over the edge or lying on your tummy to stick your head over.

image.png

That's the thing. There's loads of places to do that where you don't have to act the bollix with walls, overcrowded car parks and visitor centres. Ide always tell people to do Loop Head from the Kilkee side but that's just the one I know and there are loads more all along that coast road.