Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hamas strike on Israel - mod warning in OP updated 19/10/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

So you agree Iran taking a pre emptive self defense measure in targeting the IDF to prevent further Israeli agression towards Iran would be legal and justified even if that mean Israeli civilians are collateral damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭obi604

Thanks, so why do Hamas bother firing very expensive rockets and missiles etc at Tel Aviv if they are essentially going to be intercepted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭dmcdona

I honestly don't know. I can speculate that firstly, they're not that expensive, there is possibly a hope that Iron Dome won't intercept them and lastly that Hamas/Hezbollah see the need to do something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,644 ✭✭✭volchitsa

I don’t know what you’ve understood from what I just said but it doesn’t mean that any country can just declare that another country was about to attack them and strike pre-emptively.

If two countries have not declared a war then the country that strikes first has almost certainly committed an illegal act unless there’s evidence that it really did simply pre empt a planned attack.

So I don’t see how that could possibly apply to Iran which has been waging a proxy war on Israel for decades.

Now if Iran had attacked Iraq just before Iraq attacked them, then yes that would have been a pre-emptive attack, and as such, justifiable.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭political analyst

Moran Yanai was a hostage. She told ITN that, when she was taken into Gaza, everyone from the smallest child to the eldest person was celebrating evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,604 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Israel has been killing Iranians for decades too - from military personnel to scientists

With this in mind Iran would have been justified in striking Israel pre emptively If it has knowledge Israel was going to attack its embassy in Syria. I am done with your bad faith posting. Bye now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,108 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Both sides are celebrating evil. We even have lads defending it here. Bloodthirsty acts. It's awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,391 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

This thread still having issues with that page bug?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Review of the One Day in October Documentary from the Guardian.

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2024/oct/09/one-day-in-october-review-hamas-terror-attack-survivors-channel-4

Features the line: "This disturbing documentary about the attack on Be’eri kibbutz is full of troubling interviews and phone/CCTV footage. Sadly, it also demonises Gazans as either killers or looters"

image.png

I guess when you kill and loot you tend to end up being demonized as a killer and looter.

How the hell does shite like this ever get published, you'd think there would be tiniest bit of cop on and maybe such an obvious bit of idiocy would be removed from the review to make it at least come cross as being from a somewhat rational individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,461 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

Nothing from the lot on far left who cheer for Russia and use this dumpster fire in Gaza to argue points in this thread with stupid comparisons with Ukraine war (the whole we hate US hence we hate Ukraine line of thinking) about Russia attempting to sink a neutral ship carrying grain from Ukraine destined for Lebanon and Gaza

Edit; make that three ships now with innocent sailors dying, latest ship was destined for Egypt

Post edited by thatsdaft on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,461 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭engineerws

The article says

It may also simply be looking for new ways to weaken Ukraine. “If you can weaken Ukraine economically, that reduces its ability to resist,” Gorenburg said.

Rather than targeting ports, the “intimidation of commercial shippers is a much better way to do that”.

The grain deal was terminated in July 2023

Don't know what's been happening since then.

It seems horrendous to attack ships going to Gaza and a shame the Russians offer no explanation as per article.

Hopefully aide will get through to Gaza soon and lots of it.

Post edited by engineerws on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭sock.rocker*

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2024/nov/21/international-criminal-court-icc-arrest-warrant-benjamin-netanyahu-yoav-gallant-mohamed-deif-israel-gaza-war-crimes

ICC issues arrest warrants for Benjamin Netanyahu, Yoav Gallant and Mohamed Deif over alleged war crimes

Pretty big news.

Israeli security minister Ben-Gvir: Israel should annex West Bank in response to ICC arrest warrants

A member of Benjamin Netanyahu’s coalition government has called for Israel to annex the West Bank in response to the international criminal court issuing an arrest warrant for Israel’s prime minister, who is accused of war crimes.

Itamar Ben-Gvir, the national security minister said the court was “antisemitic from beginning to end” and the decision “an unprecedented disgrace.”

-.-

Totally normal response. Just annex the West Bank. Screw the ICC.

US 'fundamentally rejects' ICC decision, says White House

The US “fundamentally rejects” a decision by the international criminal court (ICC) to issue arrest warrants for the Israeli prime minister, Benjamin Netanyahu, and the country’s former defence minister Yoav Gallant, the White House said.

Months of being lectured about the left in America being virtulous and moral while those who vote right are immoral and wrong. When both sides are complete and utter shlt. The only good thing about Trump is America being held to actual standards and I hope Europe holds him over a furnace for what he will do.

One side being worse than the other doesn't make the less bad side "good". The amount of Americans I know who are left but also hard right in Israeli politics is ridiculous. Every one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,108 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

arrest warrants for Benjamin Netanyahu, Yoav Gallant and Mohamed Deif over alleged war crimes

Great to see the names of such eminent gentlemen in the same sentence, Very fitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Is Deif still alive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Gazans are all innocent victims of the bloodthirsty Israeli's. Thats the only narrative that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,030 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Those Bloodthirsty Israelis showed with the pager attack how they could micro-target individuals on a widespread scale.

But instead they're attempting to carry out a genocide on Gaza and the Palestinian people.

You can attempt to paint whatever narrative you wish, those facts are irrefutable.

First genocide in history where the alleged victims could put an end to it tomorrow by releasing civilians including small children that the "victims" are holding hostage.

Is there anything comparable that the Jews in the Warsaw ghetto could have done?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,015 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Yes. Fantastic. Thats why Hamas and Gazan's must not be demonized for their murders. They were brave defending themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

You're lying. The Israelis have said many many times that releasing the hostages will not end the attacks. Their stated primary aim is to completely wipe out Hamas and their ability to ever reform.

(Their actual primary aim is to clear out most of Gaza so it can be settled by Zionists)

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,481 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Genuine question, do you realise that these repetitive posts of yours on these threads aren't remotely as clever as you clearly think they are?

The Jews were horrifically targeted, and suffered in years before and during WW2.

That doesn't give their supposed current day leaders and military the right to attempt to do the same.

And I've no time for anyone who attempts to absolve them of their crimes because of what their ancestors suffered at different hands.

Never Again was supposed to be for everyone.

I said in intense detail a year ago, that Hamas should be held accountable for their crimes.

And I still believe that should be the case for Oct 7th, but that was a year ago. All Israel has done since is shown us why Hamas emerged, gained power, and will have recruits for decades.

The last year has revealed the evil that exists within part of the Israeli mindset. You and I will be long gone before that is forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

"Never Again was supposed to be for everyone."

I don't think it was Meir Kahane's intention that it was 'supposed to be for everyone.' It was about preventing another Holocaust.

https://mosaicmagazine.com/observation/history-ideas/2017/06/what-is-the-source-of-the-phrase-never-again/

No, some Israelis have said all that. Others are protesting against that approach. The government of national unity collapsed over such differences of opinion. But since Hamas have refused to release the hostages, those arguing for that to be an end point have literally nothing to use to push their case - and Hamas know that.

As for what you think their "actual primary" aim" is - as opposed to some who think that is the only way to ensure that military groups in Gaza can never again pose a threat to Israeli citizens - then wasn't it extremely stupid of Hamas to provide Israel with a justification to do that?

Their stated primary aim is surely a reasonable one? And at this stage, many in Israel, probably a majority, argue that it has been/can be achieved without further armed conflict - once the hostages are released. So yes, on Oct 8th, releasing the hostages was not the only aim - naturally, since Hamas would just have regrouped and gone again.

But now, it is the only military aim left, and if they were released, the pressure from Israelis whose sons are still fighting would become impossible for Netanyahu to oppose.

I wasn't doing that though. I was comparing the two in terms of how to end them. Could the Jews have released some German citizens to end their own plight? Could Hamas?

It is ridiculous (for that and other reasons) to call the events in Gaza a genocide, and cheapens the concept. It's a war in which civilians are paying a terrible price, but one which the losing side chose to inflict on their own people, and one which they could end tomorrow. They don't want to because it suits them to use their own people are pawns.