Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dash cam videos thread 3.4 (embedded car dash-cams only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭J_R

But the other driver might read it that you were indicating to change lanes, leaving him the inside lane to enter.

😥

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 6,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

You are meant to give way to all traffic on the roundabout even if it's in lane 2 and your entering lane 1, if the van driver was expecting me to move to lane 2 they should still wait until I've passed them.

I don't see any reason to get irate, unless they were planning on doing something they shouldn't and are now annoyed that they can't.

But there is no such signal as I am not turning left. You gave a superfluous signal that could possibly be misinterpreted.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 6,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Everyone else seems to understand, surprised that the only person who seems to be upset at it was a person who drives vans professionally for a delivery company. I'm going to continue to err on the side of indicating that way so that any drivers in front of me don't pull out, that seems to be the safest option for me and anyone else. I'd rather a person be upset at the extra signal and not moving than for me to be involved in an accident because they assume I'm taking the first exit and pulls out when they shouldn't.

Our duty as drivers is to be safe on the road, not to be technically correct in every manoeuvrer. Like I said, I use this roundabout twice a day, nobody else has felt the need to gesture and use the horn to admonish me for continuing around a roundabout.

If the signal is misinterpreted, what impact would it have on the van driver, the signal should either be interpreted as I'm continuing around the roundabout, or I'm moving lanes on the roundabout, either interpretation has the same effect, the van driver should not enter the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭Gooser14

If a driver indicated in this manner during their driving test I wonder how it would be viewed by the examiner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭chooseusername

It's how a driver would indicate if turning right at a roundabout, ie entering at 6 o'clock and taking the 3 o'clock exit.

Indicate right until after the previous exit, then indicate left and move to the left lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,955 ✭✭✭cml387

Not mine I hasten to add. Some absolute classics here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

The bit from around 5 mins was absolute mayhem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The second next one, that's Shneeem, probably a Healy Ray canvassing.

But fair play to the cam man, the man on the bridge was lucky that day.

Not good. It would depend on the situation but I'd say a Grade 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭wassie

How was yer wan parking at Londis.

Must of been a time limited offer on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭sundodger5

That fella following the silver Merc was in the 60 kmh zone, so the guy overtaking was impatient at best. I assume the Merc accelerated?

Two eejits together.

You are meant to give way to all traffic on the roundabout even if it's in lane 2 and your entering lane 1,

Of course, but how can you be certain that the van driver knew that. Or he could have assumed you were being very polite, moving to the right lane and leaving the left lane free for him to enter.

All drivers should follow the rules of the road exactly. They can not and should not make up their own.

My advice would be to try and find the cause as to why the traffic on that roundabout junction moves out in front of you forcing you to resort to inventing your own "rule".

Perhaps on approach you are anticipating that they actually will move out, so you slow down. This can be enough of a "signal" for some that you are slowing to take the turn. Or maybe you are going quite slow and they reckon if they take off quickly they can safely do so.

Take a drive with a good driving instructor or even just a good experienced driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭boardz

Panda truck barrelling down the bus lane …..I think he clipped the path as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭tommythecat

**** hell. He very nearly flipped the truck there. So dangerous. You should send that into them. He should not be driving.

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

Which part of the rules of the road say when your unhappy with an indicator you should gesticulate and distract the other driver by using a warning signal (the horn) whilst remaining stationary and out of harms way.

My actions are not a made-up rule, they're an application of the rule

image.png

The way I interpret this junction is that the exit is at about 12:30, making it borderline either way. That's why I think it results in a safer option if you apply the >12 rule, which about half of motorists here do.

If you think everybody is going to follow the exact rules of the road in a black and white manner, then you are probably the dangerous driver. Real life driving often involves picking the safest option not the technically correct one.

More of this, including The Most Unsuccessful Driving Test Ever.

The car on the cycle path @1:55 is near where I live, I've seen it happen more than once, I think it's caused by people driving up the old bray road and getting confused. The lack of signage doesn't help

https://maps.app.goo.gl/f6c1Yy7GVVUmvXZp8

The main functions of indicators are to advise traffic your intentions as to what direction you are going to turn and to more safely share the road with others.

You quote

Taking any later exits (those from 12 o’clock to the 6 o’clock position)

Approach in the right-hand lane

You are in the left lane. Another of your interpretations ?

If you were in the right hand lane and indicating right then other traffic could legally and safely overtake.

In the left lane indicating right could and did cause confusion.

You've conveniently left out the important part which is in brackets (unless road markings say otherwise). The road markings show that you are to use the left lane for turning left and going straight, and the right lane is for going straight or turning right. If two lanes are shown to be the correct ones to use, then the general principle of keep left applies.

When a lane marking shows a straight and left arrow that means that both the first exit and 2nd exit are for that lane, even if the 2nd exit is past the 12 o'clock position. Notably the instructions on use of indicators is after the bit on which lane to use, so according to how it's written, you should use the right indicator in lane 1.

Either way the situation shouldn't be that confusing to a professional van driver, it's pretty easy to interpret what's going on, school run drivers seem to understand it with ease.

Lanes, Arrows ? who mentioned them

He was not admonishing you for the lane you were in but for your signal.

Which I tried to explain above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭nearby_cheetah

You're talking a load of shite here lad and your driving is probably the same which is why the DHL got irritated with you.

Approaching on the left land, taking an exit that is prior to 12'oclock - as displayed on the approach sign at the start of your video - while indicating right is just wrong.

Be a man and own up to your mistake instead of talking nonsense about erring on the side of caution and the 50/50 12.30 clock position waffle.

Post edited by nearby_cheetah on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,756 ✭✭✭✭josip

Lads, there's been a roundabout discussion thread every 6 months or so for as long as boards has existed. Maybe ye can continue that discussion on one of those. Here's the latest from our Antipodean friends. I mainly watch them to be reminded of the lovely weather.

Post edited by josip on

I misread the OP's post. I thought he only indicated right briefly to signal the driver at the first junction. Now I see he appears to indicate right from the moment he enters the left lane. In that case it would be a grade 3.

If he believes that there is no difference indicating right in the right-hand lane and indicating right in the left hand lane then he definitely should not be driving.

Jebus give it a rest…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,565 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

I will never get used to the ones not indicating at all. 3 turns taken without a blink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭JohnC.

They need to top up the blinker fluid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭magnavox

A few recent of mine. I think the phrase "amber gambler" has officially been replaced with "red risker" these days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Wouldn't it be a nightmare to hit a prison van.