2024 Irish Gigs (Confirmed & Rumoured Events)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭BurnUp78

Why does every gig seem to sell out almost immediately these days?

Pitbull, who hasn't been relevant in a decade went on general sale this morning and is already sold out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭Fanirish

a handful of big arena/stadium shows sell out for very popular artists. Not really that difficult to understand.
    pitbull is enormously popular and hasn’t played ireland ever to my knowledge and a quick google. So it seems it just demand meeting capacity.

You also have multiple presales windows that can eat up nearly all the tickets and only scraps are left for the general sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭BurnUp78

I doubt Pitbull even had a fanbase when he was featuring on bangers in the early 2010s, let alone now in 2024.

it's just mad to me that a country seemingly having a cost of living crisis has so many people able to spunk 100 quid on so many gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

Any know stage times for Ibibio Sound Machine in Whelans tomorrow or when they might usually be on Whelans site?

you couldn’t avoid his music for years on the radio etc.

Ireland is population of 5m these days and some of those have a lot of disposable income and or they only go to a handful of events a year.

Tbh it’s noticeable that alot of big repeat shows for artists coming back here very soon are the ones dying. So I think people are generally being more cautious and not catching x artist again in short windows

A fair bit in Galway before Xmas, much of the usual Irish stuff just before or during the holidays but other than Hook these are recommended. Varied stuff so maybe not all for you:

Bad Manners (21/12) - Monroe's

Unthanks (26/12) - Roisín

Gurriers/Puca/Really Good Time (28/11) - Roisín

Been Stellar (1.12) - Roisin

Pillow Queens/Shark School (7/12) - Leisureland

Aiséirí (Shampain, Just Mustard, Olan Musk, etc) - Leisureland

Weaker than the rest of the year as things wind down, but enough to keep you happy. Enjoy.

A tad Dublin-centric, no? 😁 But no harm. They played The Telegraph Building in Belfast last night and a fair few posters from up that way. Setlist pretty much the same as recently, 30 tracks so I think we're in for a treat tonight and tomorrow. Enjoy.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Usually earlier in the day they post on their social media.

If i find out, I'll share here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Cheers - Going to head to Gurriers at least

I could end up chaperoning for Pillow Queens, and considering Villagers as well. Paddy Casey and Gemma Hayes also potential options. If I get one ill be doing ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Landers11

Anyone ever attend the silo? Interested in a DJ playing but dreading a very young crowd. The reviews for the venue are bad. Seems like long waits for drinks and toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sean Seoighe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Have a listen to Been Stellar, LowOdour. They sound like a good night out to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Granite Head

As I read it LowOdour was hoping to catch PH&TL in the Black Box tonight, hence I queried his dates and just let him know they are playing the Olympia tonight. Not "Dublin-centric" just trying to help. Hopefully I haven't ignited another 3-5k arena or Dublin Vs Outside the Pale debate😏

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, Royel Otis, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,100 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Anyone heading to Magdalena Bay tomorrow? Just picked up a resale on Ticketmaster and looking forward to it, the new album is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭Acosta

Couldn't make it. His gig in Cork last year was unreal. To be honest, his band are miles better than New Order live. Two bassists onstage is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭Acosta

I enjoy the JD stuff better, as New Order and Bernard Sumner obviously still exist. So it's a little bit weird hearing someone else sing the songs. But tbh, even most of the NO stuff I've seen The Light play live, is more enjoyable than when NO do it these days. Potts sang Regret when I saw them and was great. He's an excellent guitarist too.

Not having a go at all, I promise, just very gentle jibing as he was asking about last night’s gig and there seemed to be a presumption re the Dublin leg of the tour. Hope you enjoy tonight if going and feedback please.

Two bassists? I know his son has taken over bass duties but I’d thought that Hook himself had switched to guitat, or he play both? Two basses must sound interesting. And his son Jack Bates is living the life, bassist for both The Light and Smashing Pumpkins. A Zac Starkey-like career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Great gig in Dublin Seathrun .

We were very impressed with The Light and their rendition of NO . Peter Hook did have help with vocals( from his son I think ?) and they were grand .

Joy Division set was quite simply ..a joy ! Can I say that ? So lovely to hear a full set so well played .

The sound in the Olympia was second to none if the views up in the Gods were restricted ..

Enjoy Galway all ..I know ye will.

Post edited by Goldengirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,872 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Heading into Fibbers tonight for an evening of deathcore curtesy of Dead Flesh and Horrenda. €10 a ticket.

https://www.ourdividepromotions.com/product/horrenda

That's excellent to hear @Goldengirl and thanks for the feedback. And the Olympia the perfect venue to see them. I'll enjoy the NO stuff (love 'em) but it's the JD material I'm there for. Thanks again and enjoy your weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭jams100

Thinking of heading to a comedy event in Vicar Street but the only tickets are on Level 2, does anyone know if these are all seated or a mix of seating / standing? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭TXPTGR1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I've stood there for a comedy gigg before and it's fine. A good view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

On the way out of the Peter Hook and the Light gig in Galway tonight the general chatter was about how brilliant it was. I overhead two ladies behind us decide that, while the New Order Trinity gig was very special, Peter Hook tonight was much better than the recent New Order gig in the 3 Arena.

We really enjoyed it ourselves. We got to hear many more New Order songs than last time we saw them and also got Atmosphere, which wasn't on the set last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭cannco253

Peter Hook was excellent tonight in the black box. Everyone had fun, something that I haven’t really experienced at any new order gig I’ve been to in the past.

Shadowplay was the standout for me, loved the extended bass solo.

Also loved Hooky last night. And I agree @Goldengirl that the NO stuff was very good but the JD stuff suited them far more. Especially loved hearing the very early and less played early material. Would happily go again next month if he was playing all the great stuff that wasn't included.

Great atmosphere and a pity the Black Box isn't used a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,872 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Free tickets for Gruff Rhys and Bill Ryder Jones in Vicar St tonight for the Singular Artists mailing list

I can't make it, if anyone would like me to apply for them reply here and PM me your real name and I can email in. Might be a limited number, don't know