Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor thread (MMA Talk Only - Read 1st Post Before Posting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Post edited by RoyalCelt on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Watching this breakdown, the £64M question is:

When she got home to her partner, did he have rough or violent and vengeful sex with her, after which photos were taken and a tampon used. Was the tampon forensically examined?

I hate Mcgregor and his ilk, but his initial reaction to the allegation of preserving all evidence is not that of a guilty man. As a juror, these are questions I'd be asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Deleted.

Post edited by Sunny Disposition on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,353 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

They’re certainly “drawing a picture” with CmcG in the hot seat this week - what impact it might have is up for debate

Not sure I would agree with your outlook -pretty much all of these cases come down to just two things:

1. the account of the alleged victim
    2. The account or statement of the defendant / accused

Then the evidence that backs up their account
    let’s see how it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,505 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This claim of 0 chance conviction seems way off to me. Plenty rape trials have seen convictions with what some folks would deem to be very “suspect” evidence, and conversely, plenty rape trials see acquittal based off some solid evidence for a guilty verdict. It’s an extremely delicate and complicated area at times.

Sometimes certainty is just not possible. This case, not certain, but seems fairly solid evidence to say it happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You regularly see cases in the court where the incident happened years ago and there isn't a lot of physical evidence included in the article at least. (There was the case of a certain President of a Sporting organisation that you will be aware of which did appear to have some text messages etc. But other cases don't even seem to have that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I wasn't questioning guilt. Just reinforcing your point that there can be convictions.

Although a legitimate question , you’d have to think both them despicable to conjure up something like this, and years later this woman still fighting for justice. Very very unlikely this the reason for her injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,996 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

ff

Post edited by Sunny Disposition on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Titanium11

That she is fighting about this all these years later, does show consistency in what she's saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Didn't her friend witness her bruises and take pictures of them before she went to the BF?

I think so.. McGregor in his evidence mentioned her jumping into a bath and thud, and also that their sexual encounter being athletic, enthusiastic and prolonged. This comes across as a reason to maybe explain injuries/bruising, without specifically doing so.

btw, I am not medical expert. But can bruising take time to surface/appear? May explain how Danielle saw no real injuries/marks.

Almost sure that bruising can take time to actually show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭LastApacheInjun

On the making it up for profit point:

1. Her BF would have needed to beat her up, insert a tampon and push it so far inside her that it needed forceps removal. That can't be done with a finger.
    2. After the assault by her boyfriend, she would have had to agree with him to an elaborate plan to extract money from McGregor. This involved:
    • telling her mother she was raped;
    • be subjected to a hospital rape examination including the forceps removal. Crying in the ambulance and in the hospital and curling into a ball when not being questioned or examined;
    • give a 150 page statement to the Gardai;
    • risk whatever reprisals may or may not happen in her area given the links McGregor has with the Kinahans, as she would know it was a fake story and McGregor would be livid;
    • attend her GP and give the same story;
    • attend a psychiatrist for multiple sessions, give the same story, and be convincing enough to fake PTSD;
    • leave her job, faking panic attacks and stress;
    • keep this going for SIX YEARS.
    • tell the same story again to new solicitors for a civil trial;
    • sit in court and fake the crying and shaking when giving testimony

I'm sorry but that's just so far fetched that not even an oscar winning psychopath would be willing to do. For what, a slightly nicer house and back pay for her hairdressing job? This is where Occam's Razor comes in, "when faced with competing explanations for the same phenomenon, the simplest is likely the correct one".

Some people bruise like a peach. I remember back in college days some of the wilder women would be black and blue the next day. When people are out of their mind on drink or drugs they don't feel the pain of a few bangs. And I'm not talking about sex here. Just acting the bollox at house parties.

Bruising takes about 18 hours to show up.

I bruise like a peach. I once fell through the floor of Flannerys while drunk (there was a hole in the floor, I didn't actually break it) and had pretty spectacular bruising all down my right side.

Swan diving into a bath giving you bruising on your legs, torso, arms, chest and neck though? Don't buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭dockysher

Qoute Mcgregor "He said he booked hotels as a "place of rest" and sometimes for after parties and sex could take place, "if he was lucky enough"

😆 wonder how long Dee will take to post a happy family photo 😆 planing a wedding together.

He openly admitting in court, he does this all the time 😆

We all knew he did but didn't think he be so open about it in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭The Rooster

The judge has some discretion but it tends to follow the same formula. The loser pays the costs, so she’ll most likely have to pay Remy’s massive costs if she loses. Her own costs are probably no foal no fee.

There have been cases in the past where the plaintiff won but the compensation awarded was lower than what had been offered by the accused, and so all costs were awarded against the plaintiff resulting in the ‘winnings’ being wiped out.

Courts value major injury at about 500k. Jury could give any amount if she wins, especially knowing what he’s worth, but if that happened I’d expect it to be reduced back to close to the norm on appeal.

I don’t know what offer McGregor made pre trial. But I’d be sceptical re the social media story that she turned down a massive offer because she wanted her day in court and to highlight exactly what he did. Although it’s also hard to understand how McGregor didn’t offer a 6 figure sum to make it go away (Even if he thought he was innocent of the charge, he’s guilty of cheating on his partner and sourcing coke. I know we all knew that anyway, but it’s gone from being deniable gossip to being on the official court record for eternity for all his kids, grandkids etc to view).

I didn't think he'd be so open about it either. I'd say it's one thing knowing that this was happening in private, and another when it's plastered all over the papers. How do you explain it to your kids when they're older? And it's not even papered over with a PR-style "I made a mistake and Dee has decided to stick with me and work on things" pretend-regret. He's grand about it. Maybe Dee is too but jaysus, the looks and the judgement she'll be getting for sticking with him after this. She's not his wife, so her options are limited, but good god I'm not sure I'd be able to put up with that for long.

“Mr Gordon puts it to him that that’s not true and that he came out with the bag of cocaine in his hand. Mr McGregor says the cocaine was already present.

Mr McGregor confirms both girls were given cocaine. He confirms he also had cocaine as well.”

I wonder will there be any American travel attempted post that statement?

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/live-updates-conor-mcgregor-takes-30369179

You know they could well of had an open relationship from the start of his rise to fame. I wouldn't waste too much energy worrying about what she thinks. As seen from that video from Warren point this week she is still very romantic with him.

Did I hear today no semen from Lawrence was found? Is it possible a condom would prevent that being detected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Did you have your humourectomy in the public system or did you go private? It was clearly a resounding success.

I read any DNA profile for Lawrence in relation to sexual intimacy with Ms. Hand was excluded. There was none detected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

in fairness , they probably have an open relationship? It’s not as shocking these days as it used to be. Not sure what age you are…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

You genuinely think she didn’t get a massive offer? Lol

Why lol?

‘if she got a massive offer (say 250k or more) and turned it down in favour of putting herself through this public torture, and significant risk of getting nothing and going bankrupt, then she is an absolute moron. And a badly advised moron. I think it’s highly unlikely that she is a badly advised moron, therefore, my opinion is that I doubt she got a massive offer.

To put it another way, going through this court case is bad for both parties. Really bad for him, and much worse for her. So one of them messed up by letting is get this far. Either her through turning down a big offer or him though offering a low ball amount.

I don’t know anything about her. I do know some things about him, including how he’s stiffed people in the past who he owed money to. While he can seem very generous to his entourage, he’s instinctively a tight person in my opinion. Therefore, and this is only my opinion, it’s more likely he offered a low amount hoping she’d easily clear off and refused to increase it to a proper offer. Pure and utter discussion board speculation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,518 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

There is only one thing that seems way off there and that's the length of the statement. Normally it's hard to get much from a rape victim.

Just to make it clear I'm not saying it didn't happen. Tbh I'd be more inclined to believe it did happen but proving it to a jury is very difficult unfortunately.