Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,292 ✭✭✭enricoh

Putin will be happy!

Is this all that ye have left- scraping the barrel now!

Now now paddy , no complaining that yer government has zero backbone to throw out foreign criminals or else you'll be called friends of Putin.

Yer kids can head to Australia paddy where they will be let in if they are of use to the country and sustain themselves, they will be thrown out if they commit crimes.

Paddy you will get that wonderful diversity that has enriched Holland, Sweden , Germany etc n your kids will live in a country that takes immigration seriously.

I wonder how passport flusher Peter dube would get on arriving in Sydney. Pick a name n get a hotel room same as paddy does no doubt! 4 star city west for you Peter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭Damien360

I'm afraid it's you who is cherry picking in that case. This thread deals with foreign people so I would expect foreign names .

A very quick look across boards and you will find the "ridiculous sentence handed out" thread and that is primarily Irish nationals in court and also reported in the media and RTE. Do you feel the same about that thread or are you ok with that one ?

Another look and you will find the numerous "roofers" thread. That deals with the more mobile breathern among us who are a mix of English and Irish. Is that one ok also ?

You can't have it every way !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

That's a thread that deals with court sentencing? I'd expect it to contain crime reports.

They make no sense here other than as an attempt to falsely conflate immigration with crime.

As I said, there are a lot of people in the country who are immigrants or from an immigrant background. It's not shocking or noteworthy that some commit crime.

Putin will be happy. It looks like he's getting plenty of value for his propaganda rupee.

It would be one thing to post actual facts or considered arguments about immigration…

Posting lies, misinformation and cherry-picked crime reports is another thing altogether. Given our nations support for Ukraine and the EU it's arguably treasonous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭mullinr2

There will be because the Irish public will get fed up with it and demand something to be done. A country without borders is no country at all.

Aye Putin paying us in bitcoin!

Fact is rest of Europe has had enough enrichment by refugees n electing right wing governments.

If you want facts Google employment stats for Africans here or the black axe gang.

Treasonous - maybe Helen can add that to her hate speech bill, certainly worth asking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭prunudo

Question I always wondered, considering the country had 32 counties back then, was the 8m an all Ireland total?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭mullinr2

After watching the BBC doc it took 15 years of high immigration for Nigel Farage and Brexit to happen. Don't think something like that cant happen here in Ireland unless we get a handle on the numbers coming in.

I wouldn't think Putin is paying you at all, some people are happy to parrot his propaganda for free.

More pro-Putin lies in this post.

Africans have the same employment rates as the general population.

As for your 'black axe' crime gang, there are very many crime gangs in the country. Some are ethnically Irish, others are not. Hardly surprising or noteworthy.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&opi=89978449&url=https://emn.ie/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/EMN-Ireland-Labour-Market-Integration-of-International-Protection-Applicants-in-Ireland.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwidp7W7pNWJAxXwXEEAHUqEHfoQFnoECCkQAQ&usg=AOvVaw10Pe58YnDZGe-4jeIgXDV8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭Damien360

You may read what you posted. Section 2.6 is the relevant section. Data from 2018 shows low uptake. The number of IPA applicants rose significantly in 2022 (graph in that section). It's night and day difference in numbers Vs 2022 and previous. Data for 2022 (most recent) had to be pooled to get a larger sample size and then then it states the sample size of data is too small which is strnage given the numbers. The demographic profile of each African nation was too small so they pooled it. It also oddly adds professional people into the mix but I'm unsure from the paper without further reading if those are IPA or visa applicants. It's called muddying the waters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I think this throwing the 'You're doing Putin's work' is likely something that goes around on the lefty loon websites re debating online immigration tips

4) If you are struggling, equate what they are saying to supporting Putin

It's a ploy that won't get much traction here I'm afraid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,699 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

That Putin guy how dare he hold a gun to our Governments heads forcing all these illegals in, how dare he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Morning Ireland had a segment today asking people in Limerick what are the issues they are concerned about and not one mentioned immigration, amazing when it and the related housing issue regularly feature as the top two concerns in polls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭prunudo

I see the department are pushing on with the 2nd Ipas camp in Athlone despite the local council saying it doesn't meet the planning exemption guidelines.

Seems a risky strategy from the government parties to be pushing it through during the run up to the election. If the pou cause trouble the optics will back fire, particularly O'Gorman and Harris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

"Must supply documents" has now become "expected to produce documents". We are getting somewhere.

Now that you have been proven to be wrong, you have pivoted to "why wouldn't they?"

Thats the crux of the matter.

Why do you think they wouldn't?

Is it because they know that providing proof of their identity would expose their bogus claim?

Is it because they know they will be allowed stay without providing the "expected" documents?

It's an almighty shambles yet you have a couple of people in here hand waving as if there is nothing to see and claiming that it is "pro-putin propaganda" to worry about our border and claiming it is merely promoting hate to notice and talk about immigrants commiting crime.

There is nobody as blind as those who don't want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭I see sheep

If you think immigration is all people care about you're probably spending all your time on looney online rabbit holes.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

It's actually the left that are doing Putin's work.

• The Green agenda suits Putin's purpose by ending European energy independence and deindustrializing the continent.
    • The stop the war movement weakens Europe militarily and leaves it vulnerable to Russian aggression elsewhere.
    • Mass migration fractures European society, there's a reason Putin was trying to push refugees over its border into the EU.

Left wing parties and their supporters are the problem. They are the ones that make the country weak, dependent, and vulnerable.

You might want to take you're concerns about methodology up with the ESRI.

Their approach seems quite robust to me. Sample sizes were not large enough for analysis on the basis of individual African countries, but collectively they were able to conclude that:

While previous research found a higher unemployment rate among African nationals, the reasons for which were believed to be in part due to the length of time spent in the international protection system without access to work, new data indicate that the gap has now significantly decreased, with African nationals and Irish nationals on par for unemployment levels.

Than certainly puts paid to the earlier posters claim that 'If you want facts Google employment stats for Africans here', as yet more anti-immigration lies and pro-Putin propaganda.

I don't know why'd you'd think the ESRI are trying to muddy the waters, unless you're another poster who think they've been 'infiltrated'?

I'm still amazed you are trying to claim people are espousing pro-Putin propaganda for wanting stricter controls over potential bogus asylum seekers and illegal immigrants.

It's such a cheap and nonsense debating tactic.

I'm afraid I'd want to be on NGO dough instead of Putin's poxy roubles to spend the day sifting through that link you posted.

As a champion of railing against fake stats n misinformation can you please get rte to remove the following from it's website. 45% in employment - ouch ( thankfully it doesn't break down that 45% into full-time, part time etc- small mercies etc!)

It has found that 16% of Africans living in Ireland are out of work, compared with 4% of people from western European countries.

The employment rate for Africans in Ireland was also very low at 45%, while 66% of Irish nationals were working

Why would you ignore newer reports and post something from 2018?

It's hard to see it as anything other than using every opportunity to push a false negative impression of immigrant people and parroting Putin's propaganda.

Wanting stricter border controls, especially if your arguments are based on fact, is one thing.

Pushing lies and misinformation about 'bogus' asylum seekers, benefit tourism, cherry-picked crime reports etc is another entirely.

How people can do the later, and claim they have the nations interests at heart, is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭CliffHangeroner

We are slow learners here in Ireland but we eventually come round. We'll wait until nearly every other country in Europe has enforced their borders correctly and then we'll wake up. It will be to late then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The Trump administration has said it is going to round up circa 500,000 immigrants next year in the US who have committed crimes and deport them.

If our government wanted to provide reassurance to the public I don't think they'd have any pushback from the majority if similar was implemented here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

You'd be surprised at the pushback, especially if far left parties such as Labour/PBP/Soc. Dem's are part of the next Government, they won't support any such moves as they'd say it would be a violation of their "human" rights..

However Sweden have now copped on and will deport: https://www.lbc.co.uk/news/syrian-asylum-seeker-deported-sweden-pushing-91-year-old-down-stairs-mugging/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think any party that put forward such a proposal would skyrocket up the polls.

Yes, you'd have a minority giving out as usual but that's the same everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

No, we deport people who commit crimes here. Noone is breaching their human rights. The issue of course is when their own country won't take them back. Same as any deportation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,482 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

It hasn't 'changed' applicants are expected to produce documents as part of their application.

It has been pointed out here many times, why someone may not have documents. That cannot stand against them. In reality, applicants produce documents in order to get their application approved quicker. Obviously.

On the last page you stated that they MUST supply documentation.

"Expected" and "must" are entirely different.

You know this.

So you were either lying or simply wrong.

Either way, we can safely say that it is not a requirement for Asylum Seekers to produce documentation, which means that they are free to claim asylum after destroying their documentation and gain entry to the country without their identity being verified.

And you think this is in any way acceptable?

2018 - a lifetime ago, eh?!

I don't know what genius in the refugee industry came up with linking issues with refugees to Putin's propaganda but it's laughable.

If it's all that's left to try defend the indefensible it'll have to do I suppose! Just no one's buying it.