Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

That's what I used on fresh concrete.

You'd imagine it'd work on muck but not as refined as one with a rubber blade. But maybe ignorance instead of refinement is sometimes needed. ? Bought them in power plant hire enniscorthy. Though maybe there's cheaper types available. But these are aluminium and still very strongly made. Very easy use with the no weight.

20241023_164251.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭148multi

How about a scraper like this, with longer arms back to the axel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭older by the day

Hi lads, the pipe coming from the turbo down to the exaust up right is burnt out all holes and wafer thin.

Is it easier to buy off a garage, looking online about 1200, comes in two parts or are there pipe benders company's for that type of work. I just think 1200 for those pipes are dear. It's not stainless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭mayota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭148multi

What type of tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Markcheese

They're grand on a straight run, but a pain on any awkward areas.

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Bought a bag of these in Aldi today, €4.99, they seem like good quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,864 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I bought 2 of those before in Woodies. You'd be amazed what you'd end up using them for. Fierce handy.

I've heard you say many times that you're better than no one
    And no one is better than you
    If you really believe that you know you have nothing to win
    And nothing to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 984 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

I second the recommendation for Mulmuff. If they have the jig for it then aren't too sore on the pocket at all.

Thanks lads, I'm in negotiations with a crowd at the moment. Il post how I get on as soon as I get it. Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

20241112_194220.jpg

Started a MIG welding class tonight.. Tuesday & Thursdays, 6pm till 9, for ten weeks....

if you can stick weld, they say you should get the hang of MIG welding handy enough.

And nothing to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I put up an outdoor switch today on the wall for the lighting in the cow housing. For the last 14 years it's been a blue plug up on top of the wall inside of the shed. To access said plug I had to climb on top of a five bar gate and stand on top when turning on or off the lights. Yes that's how stupid and lazy and antiquated things are here with me. 1 year with someone else is 5 years with me. Anyway it's done now a rolls royce of a job and guarrenteed to 100m under water.

The thought now occurred to me that the electric fence should also be on an outdoor switch. Currently it's to switch off is to go inside the garage and unplug the fencer whilst not falling on the tools or gardening equipment. An outdoor switch just at the garage door would be a nice simple labour saver. And yes I'm that lazy (as above).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Yes that's how stupid and lazy and antiquated things are here with me. 

I've a long list of "small" jobs like that to address…still…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,912 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Our fencer is in the old dairy which has a sliding door. If the door is open then it means the fence is turned off and if the door is closed the fence is on. It's a simple indicator but it works for us cause we're simple people 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭kk.man

My electric fence switch (jaw type one) is outdoor on a post and rail fence less than 10 yards from the front door. Now herself and the kids change the ponies but often leave it off. It's the biggest cause of rows. Handly doesn't always mean best 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Get a sim smart switch, and work it with the phone, you check whether it's on or off or turn it on/off with your phone when you're down the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭emaherx

Or Wifi one if in range. I have mine set so I can turn it back on with a timer, I can give myself plenty of time to do what ever repairs are needed and it turns back on itself so I can't forget. I can also extend the time up the field if I realise it will take longer than expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,680 ✭✭✭enricoh

Lost oil cap a year ago, I can't understand how I have so many issues with machinery with my shortcuts to!!

IMG_20241114_125829402_HDR.jpg

Funny, how things work out. I want to hang a gate off an existing girder in the yard. To do this, I will have to make up special hanging irons that will go to one side and angled back a bit. The pillar already has a gate on that side.

Now the standard hanging irons have a 50mm length of pipe that the gate sits into is outer diameter 42 with 36mm inner diameter. Plan was to visit a few local steel places to see if they had that size. I remember a few years back checking my pile of metal cut offs in the shed and couldn't find that size. Walked into that shed again and holding the door closed was a length of that size. Not only that but the shed is an old cow byre with stalls all made from that pipe size. Eureka !!

Cut it handy too with the pipe cutter.

20241114_121905.jpg 20241114_115156.jpg

And nothing to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

same here we’re in a wifi switch. Very handy when out fencing to turn it off for a few minutes and then back on.

I’ve set up a timed routine on the switch that switches on every evening at 9pm so if I do forget it will bring it on anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭cjpm

Good man @Nekarsulm best of luck with it

Who said you can’t teach an old dog new tricks….

0D4E4DAC-245A-4978-8D5F-294CD09F05DB.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭limo_100

concreted the passageway of the shed during the week and the barriers are just less that 15 inches about the concrete. Put in 2 6x3 timers in brought it up to 12inchs from the floor to the passageway with roughly a 2 and half inch’s of a gap between the bottom of the barrier and the timers. Would I need another timber to fill that 2inch gap or should I be ok? Just to note the passageway is roughly 3inchs higher that the slats before someone says the barriers are two low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I taught someone said to put inch or 2 inch block spacers under the bottom 6x3 to protect timber from rot should do the job

I’d have an issue with that in that I feed the meal on the ground and it would go under the boards then. Only for that that would sort my job out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭green daries

Your gap on top will cause no issue at all 👍

I got it after from a crowd called pipefab, I found online. Made and delivered in 24hrs after ringing. Unfortunately my old exhaust didn't fit down on the end pipe too well, so had to do a bit of butchering, but got it eventually. I reckon I saved 500 over just buying the pipes from a massey dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭green daries

Okay 👍

Put them in anyway will see how they get on. don't look to bad. will take a picture tomorrow. The passageway was poured last week on Wednesday so can't drive on it that's why I will be leaving the cattle out for the next two weeks. But Would it be ok to put in some springers and just barrow the silage up to them as there calving at xmas. Think that would be ok as they won't be walking on it to get on and just eating off it.