Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harris Vs Trump 2024 US Presidential election - read the warning in the OP posted 18/09/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭felonious_Gru

I wanted Trump to win but it makes little real difference, Trump is fully a creature of " the swamp" in 2024, he is safely institutionally backed and not the 2016 candidate

Harris was a terribly ineffective candidate and the Democrats deserve to loose for their horrific policies re_ Gaza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,303 ✭✭✭crusd

Red wave? One that results in a house of representatives at almost 50/50 and still up for grabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,794 ✭✭✭yagan

Actually if I am to criticise the Democrats for anything it's for carrying over Trumpisms like the China Lab theory. Go back to Bush Jr and he had Fauci up front with him warning of the risk of pandemics. I think it was around 2004 the US cancelled loads of flights from Asia because of that years viral strains.

Biden ramped up Trump Huawei ban with the chips act which is actually forcing Taiwan to find workarounds to retain its mainland China market, but ultimately it spurred mainland China to invest in alternatives which also undermines TSCM business.

The first Trump presidency was treated as a blip, but now no ally can be in doubt that domestic US politics is isolationalist.

Realignments are inevitable, and Israel better not get too cocky, isolationism can impact them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,127 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Maybe I'm looking at the wrong parts of the Internet today, but the liberal shock over Harris defeat seems to be a lot less than Clinton in 2016. Maybe it's because it wasn't as close as it was thought or deep down few people believed in Harris.

I felt she was an uninspiring choice as candidate as she hadn't used her four years to stand out from Biden. She was anonymous, unlike Biden when he VP. Bidens choice to drop out so late though did leave them with little choice but to go with her.

And people wonder why the billionaire class were backing Trump.

After convincing people that they weren't the instigators of identity politics, the second biggest trick the republicans pulled was convincing people they it was the Democrats that were the party of the elites.

Propaganda over facts worked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,870 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"Celebrity bullsht"

Like the president and vice president they just elected 🤔

Third trick - convincing people it was the Dems that had a cult of celebrity, yet here you have Trump and Vance and Musk and Rogan and RFK et al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,625 ✭✭✭✭flazio

There's no question that force of will won over intelligence last night, emphasis on force. The Democrats forced good people to vote Trump by leaving them in the dark as to why their lives were sh+tter then they were 8 years ago. I say 8 because it was Trumps disastrous handling of the pandemic that cost him 4 years ago and intelligent people could see that. As with everything though, this too shall pass.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭facehugger99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭TokTik

At least with the looney left loosing it now means that the resulting riots will be “mostly peaceful”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

"Bidens choice to drop out"

But he was effectively pushed out, his own side turned on him. He didn't have a choice, it's unfair to put it on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Possibly because in 2016 there was a lot of "they can't possibly elect him, can they?", whereas now we know they absolutely can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

There is very few people on the "left" in America.

It's a smoke and mirrors trick by Trump, which worked (again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Novfith

The left has been doing the same thing it has for years. Put its fingers in its ears and told everyone voting for the likes of Trump they are fascists, racists, sexists, xenophobes, conspiracy theorists, anti vaxxers you name it, when they are told of their views and concerns. The media have been supporting it as well with their lies and clear agendas.

The hypocrisy is just so obvious and extreme. Talking about abortion they will say 'my body, my choice' but when it came to the covid vaccine there was people advocating for forced vaccinations, losing your job, being made pariahs in society.

You don't want open borders and illegal immigration? You're called a racist and xenophobe and told that you hate all immigrants.

You think impressionable kids being fed information on trans at a very young age, young kids being read stories by lads wearing sexualised outfits dressed as women, people who can change whether they are man or woman or an infinite number of genders at any given time and pandering to these people is too much, you're called a transphobe etc.

You tell them that the economy isn't working for you, that you are struggling and worse off than you were in the past. You're told you're wrong and that everything is great.

Trump is the greatest example of all of this. The media twist and purposely misinterpret his words to try and influence others. Well people are seeing right through that!

Until the left realise that they have to represent the people and work for the people they want votes from, people are going to continue to vote for the likes of Trump who actually do listen and recognise their views.

Half of America are not fascists or racists or sexists. Anyone who has been in America knows that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭PixelCrafter

It was laughable the way they kept referring to Kamala Harris as "Extreme left" and "far left". On most of her policies, particularly economics, she's somewhere to the right of Mrs Thatcher and on many of her social policies she's more conservative than Fine Gael or most of the Tory Party.

"Left" "Social" "Liberal" "Woke" etc etc are all just terms of abuse in the US. They're meaningless.

They just make crap up and throw mud at the wall and see what sticks. It's a completely broken democracy that has more in common with parts of South America or even Russia these days.

Rules of fair play are just not there at all. You can make shite up and just say anything at all about your opponent without any need to fact check or consequences for just telling blatant lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Compared to Europe, you're right I suppose.

But we always said that, I don't think Americans in general (Democrats) would view it that way though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

He can try. He has no reason not to. He will likely have Republican control of both houses, a Supreme Court in his favour, in addition to all the Trump/MAGA appointees already in place and he's spent ten years sowing distrust in the media, the State apparatus and anyone that disagrees with him or he disagrees with. He's said plenty in his campaigning to suggest he wants to try it and the voters have given him the keys.

This will be a test of how strong the Constitution is if he actually wants to try it. That is the question.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,010 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

The democrats are right wing, your logic seems to imply that if a Republican is pro choice or has an abortion, they are suddenly left wing. It is not one policy or view that makes you left or right wing, it is the sum, of your views. They are left of Republicans and members like AOC and Saunders, as well as many card carrying members are left wing, the party, as a whole is right wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

Trump will be president.

The Republicans will control the House and the Senate.

Trump has complete control over the Republican party.

The Supreme Court is Republican controlled.

Is the Constitution the only remaining "check and balance" to US democracy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Ekerot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Novfith

Well yeah, it's all relative. Fine Gael and Fianna Fail are right wing. They're not right wing to Saudi Arabia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I hope they enjoy Trumps Israel policy. Of all the gripes/excuses this was always the stupidest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭Shelga

Two weeks ago I felt fairly sure Trump would win, but in recent days I let hope and an echo chamber get the better of me and put €100 on Harris to win.

As expected, now that he has won decisively, the post-mortem tearing her and the Dems to bits has begun. A lot of it is more than justified and can be applied to our own left wing parties here also, but I just don’t know why they think Trump will solve any of the decline that has been accelerating for decades.

And it is depressing that it feels like any woman candidate is held to such a much higher standard, whereas he is held to no standards at all. Or is that too simplistic? I just wish they had had a primary, and probably should have just run a man to eliminate that risk altogether, whether I’m imagining it or not.

Listening to his hate-filled shite for the next 4+ years is gonna be tough. Does anyone know if he’s legally allowed to run again in 2028?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Also remember 2 Chief Justices are in their 70s.

If they retire which has been suggested, that is 5 Trump will have appointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭PixelCrafter

As long as the House and Senate don't get anywhere near a 2/3 majority for MAGA the constitution or 3/4 of State Legislatures, at least can't be amended. If that shifts, the US is basically going to end up with massive shift into something unrecognisable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

AFAIK, it's a two terms in office only rule which applies whether the terms are consecutive or separate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Butson

There is an American contributor, her name is Patty I think.

She lives in Ireland, and is on Claire Byrne now, crying on the radio.

My word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,602 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

A great day for the cats and dogs of Springfield!