Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Attoned for his mistake."

How so? He got a fecking suspended sentence, not a day's jail time served so far.

I look forward to him doing something out of order and getting slung into the chokey to do some of that suspended time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,261 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The chances we ever hear about this topic again on Liveline are nil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭mountain

all this would be moot if there was proper sentencing in the country,

He should of served the 3 years, and he wouldn’t be in the running for an All Star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭Deeec

He probaly still would get the award. RTE would have a live feed into the jail to speak to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Limerick is a big rugby town. Im sure they could find someone who does not share the GAA mantra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭ElBastardo1

He didn't attone, he pleaded not guilty and most of the charges on the day were thrown out. He got away with the more seriuso charges due to the great work of his legal team.

As for the Doctor who rang in to defend him, how in the name of god can he defend him with a straight face. He seriously assaulted a guy for no reason other than he was talking to a girl in Hayes's group. Also, his group assaulted the poor guy again outside the club. He should do time, there is literally no deterant.

How those clowns of journalists gave him an all star is laughable. I also checked back on Diarmuid Connolly and he won an All star the year he was convited too. Our court system is a joke, Connolly should have served time and got all he got was a slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Actually a good solid entertaining episode of Liveline today.

MVP goes to Siobhan who took on all challengers.

Fair play to them all, who, despite all differences and surity of righteousness across the board, entirely failed to put across a single coherent argument - particularly Joe who brought David Drumm into it for absolutely no reason at all.

Maybe they add Siobhan to the team next year. They'd be sure to win another all ireland with her not on the sidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,977 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I don't know if someone made this suggestion as I dropped in and out of today's show. But could Hayes be suspended from being nominated for Hurling All-Stars for the length of his suspended sentence?

A few of the callers defending Hayes said he's young, we all make mistakes and that he comes from a lovely family. I had no idea, having just read this, I have to ask, are they sure about that?

Brothers of Limerick hurler Kyle Hayes plead guilty to assault and weapon charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Do my eyes deceive me or did Joe manage to bring David Drumm into a discussion about Kyle Hayes?

Tedious links are one thing, but how on earth did he manage this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Ironically, when Joe was in his Social worker phase, he'd probably be standing in court advocating for lads guilty of similar to Kyle Hayes

"He made a youthful mistake"

""He comes from a good family "

"He's very active in the local community"

Would all be phrases familiar to good ol' Joe

He certainly wouldn't be referring to Loughan House as a "holiday camp", which he did today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

I remember saying to a bar manager that I worked for, that a particular lad I was at school with seemed like a sound person,

"...is that why he's barred from every pub (in the local village)..."

Anyone got a telephone number for an Irish bar in Melbourne? #melbournecup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,386 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

they could try the clifton hill, not been there in 20 years, but it's no doubt a yuppy bar at this stage !!

Would Joe not be a sworn enemy of the gambling? Without the gambling, there is no horse racing

You joke, but my mother was an art teacher, and I myself am a dab hand at the painting. When the Community Games Art Competition winner was announced, in my parish at least, every single year, the winner just happened to be a son of a GAA Club member or was in the club.

I'd nearly say, when the likes of whats-his-name from yesterday was in front of the judge, someone pointed out he is a great artist and a hero in the community, "Shur didnt he win the art competition 3 years in a row?".

When the Scouts had a recruitment drive, the word was put out that if you joined the Scouts you would never be put on the team because "your mind would be unfocussed due to that scouting malarky". This was said to kids, aged 9,10,11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,386 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Kyle's victims mam on today. Not sure if that is a good idea ! Hope it works out ok for her. At least Joe seems firmly in her corner

Today in Stage 7.1:

• Just Joe, self proclaimed lad of more intelligence than a Wolfe Tone fan.

Possible shrieking into the void topics:

• Kyle Hayes: GAA Hall of Fame! Victims of gurrier forgotten! Killian's Mother (Loraine McCarthy) reaction on Kyle's suspended sentence.
    • Remains of Father: Remains of de aul lad lost by cemetery.

Banned Topics:

• Macrones for de friends of Montrose
    • Welfare raided to fund RTE Digout
    • Wolfe Tone vs Montrose
    • Kneecap de Kneecapping picture
    • State of Hospitals
    • De Missing Ducks of St. Stephen's Green
    • De Unwell
    • De Undocumented
    • RVM Machine Tax
    • Inflation, except for sausage based products
    • Lack of Doctors
    • Lack of Dentists
    • Lack of Gaffs
    • Lack of punishment for Crime/Goal Accommodation

I hope he has run it past the legal team, because with an open appeal before the courts, her giving her victim impact statement on the national airwaves would be ill-advised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Good "Hall Of Fame" cockup in today's promo. Well done Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭mountain

she could be a complete loose cannon,

Or the voice of reason, and Duffy will have his camp voice in use

She's angry. As anyone would be. I don't know the victim or the assailant and I'm feckin angry.

The thing with a suspended sentence is, in most people's eyes, it means "it's not that bad then". It's not even a slap on the wrist. It's a day out, an excuse to wear a suit, for the perpetrator and then life goes on as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

I always want to know what mammys have to say about their adult son's issues.

Can adults not speak for themselves

Why is Duffy continuing with this vendetta ?

In no way ix this responsible broadcasting

Another 75 minutes of pearl clutching on the way, it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭touts

The GAA have been happy enough to give him awards and make him a hero. I think his victim should be entitled to let the public know about the impact his thuggery has on innocent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭Deeec

No apology from Kyle says it all about what kind of a guy he is