Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,005 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Outrage over Kyle Hayes getting an All Star to he covered on Liveline. When Joe's neighbour, Diarmuid Connolly, got all Stars after being convicted of assault it never warranted a discussion on Liveline.

Did I miss the Promo or is Joe stuck somewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,371 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I caught a few seconds, something something fillum something something eighties something camp voyis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭Sigma101

A discussion about a bad lad who plays a sport that Joe knows nothing about, followed by a debate about a wonderful Irish move that Joe hasn't seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,734 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

That sounds like IFTA nomination material right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,528 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Antoinette Keegan is running in the next election. Is Joe going to be all over this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭johnbarrett35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Probably just gonna be orange man bad for a couple days......bonus points if one of de yank 'callers' has a husband or a wife who's voting opposite to demselves. Full on RTE agenda.

Speaking of which......

Herself was flicking through the idiot box last night and caught some of dat Ricky Tomlinson fella on dat Meaning of Life.

JESUS CHRIST ! Duffy is absolutely shocking as an interviewer.

Not news, I know, but ideal opportunity for anyone who needs dat reinforced for dem again. Repeating questions, not listening, de works.…

One moment that raised an eyebrow was when Tomlinson was talking about the time he spent in de big house on hunger strike and so on, which then follows up with Duffy saying - 'I was surprised to find out dat you were a member of de National Front years ago ?' Tomlinson follows up with a, to be fair, quite erudite response about how he believed certain things at de time, how he enagaged with a lot of family men who had concerns etc. Duffy, of course, jumps in with 'and do you regret that ?'Tomlinson immediately answers - 'No. It was part of my growing up as a person, a person needs these experiences etc etc'

BEEEEEEEEEEEEPPPPPPP !!!! Wrong answer Ricky !! We dont wanna hear dat kind of stuff on RTE, so rather dan let de already small interview time move on organically with an frank and honest response - Joe remembers de RTE directive - 'Do you have anything to say to people out dere ...... something, something......right-wing......something, something.....anti-immigration ?'

GAA thugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

In the simple minds of Joe Duffy and Ryan Tubridy any movie with even the remotest of connections to Ireland are all just absolutely amazing, wonderful, outstanding, brilliant, etc.; and each and every one of them are the greatest Irish movie ever made….until the next one comes along. Viewing these movies is not required to lavish such praise on them, but if say a private screening were to be offered that will help in securing additional mentions.

"Mr. Duffy"

who's this dose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

How do clowns like this get on radio? Struggling to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Krazy gang

Ah jaysus Joe how much mileage will you get out of Kyle Hayes story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,474 ✭✭✭leath_dub

The All Stars is about getting the best 15 hurlers, not the 15 best pillars of the community FFS

DJ Carey has about 8 of them - should he give them back ??

Whether or not Hayes should be in prison or not is a different question. I personally believe he was extremely fortunate to walk away from that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭archfi

Lol Duffy gets what he wants

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

Ha ha, hush up Duffy.

"Acting the maggot", "mooching".

Whoy does Joe use these lighter terms when referring to thuggish scumbag behaviour?

To me, acting the maggot is shouting on the bus, not attacking someone causing serious facial damage.

A great hurling man for a start. De local PP will vouch for his greatness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Meet 'arry the Bastard. Killed his mum but a great hurler."

Kyle's uncle on

Apparently Gay Byrne had a soft spot for him and gave him a chance at broadcasting.

"Mr Duffy"

🤣

A complete dose

Promising

GAA, a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,812 ✭✭✭Deeec

Umm Joe didn't like this fella implying that other caller is not a gaa fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,978 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

This caller addressing Joe as "Mr. Duffy".

Says he doesn't go out acting the maggot. 🤔

This could be gold, particularly when Duffy will inevitably throw in his "informed" opinion or hurling, role models, acting the maggot, etc

"ideal role model"

"d'ya take a drink"

hahaha fcukin dose

NFL Star Sacked After Video Published Of Hotel Assault

https://www.balls.ie/american-sports/kareem-hunt-401959

In Ireland, we add them to the All Stars.