Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2024 F1 General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Hijpo

No, I agree with the second penalty. Blatant, hands down.

The first one nobody understood. Not even Brundle.

Verstappen even had Sainz on the apex that he had to avoid, telemetry showed Norris was not making that corner. To get 10 seconds for it is excessive.

I'm not deflecting, I'm trying to find the consistency in the decisions. Why was one worthy of 10 seconds but others went without penalty at all. Nobody has any answers to those questions they just rollout the "aw max fan crying" jibe. If anything, that type of post is unreasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

telemetry showed Norris was not making that corner

According to whom? Oh, Horner? Hardly a reliable source.

You have eyes, go back and watch, Norris clearly makes the corner before being shoved off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Dave0301

How did Verstappen have Sainz at the apex!? He was behind Sainz and that is what stopped him from being able to do what he did the week before and get the apex ahead of Norris.

The reason Norris got a 5 second penalty the week before is that Verstappen was ahead at the apex and Norris keep the advantage after going off track. It was reduced by 5 seconds as Verstappen went off track too.

The below gives a good overview of why Verstappen got his penalties. They are both clear cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,758 ✭✭✭weisses

Lando in Austin ..leaving the track and gaining an advantage 5 sec

Max a week later leaving the track and gaining an advantage 10 sec

They give the reason why Norris was given a 5s penalty instead of 10s a week earlier in the document. Lando "had little alternative other than to leave the track because of the proximity of Car 1 (Max) which had also left the track".

Max had no mitigating circumstances to bring the standard penalty down from 10s to 5s. I see no credible argument for Max to get a lesser penalty when you look at the tape where there is a relatively clear argument for Lando a week earlier.

https://x.com/fiadocsbot/status/1848118098626285947/photo/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Will you relax, i said he had Sainz at the apex and had to avoid him not that he beat sainz to the apex. Palmer said Verstappen would have beaten Norris to the apex only for sainz was on it, sounds like he did nothing wrong in the lead up to that corner. Norris stayed in it on the outside going too fast. Verstappen avoids contact with Sainz, and slows enough to stay on track and make both corners. Norris goes off track, gets ahead and stays ahead.

You think Horners data was false? Anyone would be able to challenge that then.

Probably should all be back in the race thread so leaving it at that.

So what the FIA is saying ..Verstappen forced Lando out because he went off himself and Lando had no opportunity to give that place back at all ?

Lando deserved 10 seconds there and Verstappen should have gotten a track limit added.

FIA is correct that Lando had to take evasive action ..But he still gained a lasting advantage by doing so

Verstappen forced Lando out because he went off himself and Lando had no opportunity to give that place back at all ?

That's an incredibly odd interpretation. Nowhere does it state Lando had no opportunity to give the place back. He should have and that's why he was given a penalty (ultimately). He was deemed to have left the track and gained an advantage. However, the reason for leaving the track was taken into account in that Lando had committed to the overtake but due to Max's incredibly late breaking, Lando had no other option but to leave the track. It takes the circumstances into account.

There are very clear and obvious differences between the two scenarios. You might disagree with the FIA's thought process but it is not a demonstration of inconsistent stewarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,723 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Ah here. I thought I was missing some interesting F1 news and all it is is ye two arguing. Get a room.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Horners statement is false. Telemetry cannot tell you if someone is or is not going to stay on track. Its just data to be interpreted. Eyes can be a pretty good judge. Watch it back, pretty darn clear Norris made the corner, was ahead at the apex, and was entitled to space. Its a slam dunk penalty.

Pretty obvious Horner is biased in his statements and him stating Norris wouldn't have made it proves nothing. I'm sure Zak would say Norris would have made it if asked, again, proves nothing.

https://www.planetf1.com/features/max-verstappen-telemetry-data-shows-he-fell-into-own-trap-twice

Who Pissed in your porridge this morning ?

Lando P1 in fp1 is the latest news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Busman Paddy Lasty

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 714 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Folks move on, I get it that its hot topic but move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭niallm77

So max can seal the deal in Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

More or less has it in both hands already.
    Delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,176 ✭✭✭✭klose

I believe I read if he finished within 2 points of Norris in Vegas he wins it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

There's 60 points available from final 2 races (25 for the win, 1 bonus for fastest lap, plus 8 for the Qatar sprint).

Mac has more wins, and he's 62 points clear. So if Lando doesn't finish 3 points or more ahead of Max in Vegas it's Max's championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭CONSI

To be fair that was some drive by verstappen to come through from 17th with no DRS. Just seemed to have so much confidence in the car when loads of others were sliding off. Dont think its fair of Lando to say the win was down to luck and not good driving. He was lucky aswell only to get a 5000 fine for the restart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭McFly85

Just saw that Johnny Herbert was on the stewards panel this weekend so no surprise that Lando got off lightly. But in the grand scheme of things it really doesn’t matter - his championship fight never really materialised this year and was definitely more hype from Sky than anything. Hopefully next year the McLaren can be competitive from the start.

Masterclass from Max though, will absolutely be remembered as one of his best races ever, and highlights why he will be regarded as one of the all time greats.

But in the grand scheme of things it really doesn’t matter

Might make a difference in the constructors tho. While McClaren are ahead, its not insurmountable.

Unbelievable race from Max. Poor from Lando and a bit unlucky but I think Max wins the race even if Norris doesn't pit just before the red flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,888 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That's the end of the drivers championship anyway.

ItIt's About a 40 point swing to what I was expected after qualifying.

Great drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

That's pretty much it for the championship.

I was supporting Lando but can't really begrudge Max. He's been very good all season. And yesterday he did as much as he could and was having a great race, even if he was lucky in how it turned out with the red flag and getting a free pitstop.

I was relying on all the luck going Lando's way to pinch the championship so it wasn't likely. Looking forward to next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

He was 20 seconds clear at the end of the race. No luck Involved. He'd have won regardless of the free pit stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Gandalf said it best. "There never was much hope, just a fool's hope."

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,043 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

he might have had difficulties getting past some of the front runners rather than running in clean air after the red and free pit stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

I wouldn't have thought so, considering both Russell and Lando both thought he'd have won regardless also. He was in a league of his own yesterday, and he would have dealt with each car eventually.

Sure poor oul Lando could barely keep in on the track at restarts so he wouldn't have had to worry about him anyway. Hew as always getting by Gasly and Ocon and Russell wouldn't have held him up for too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

With that win, Max has scored more points than Lando since Miami. That's kind of unbelieveable, but also why he will be a deserved champion this year. Comparisons to Button in 2009 are way off.

Oh yeah, that's absolutely not how it works.

The pitstop gave him track position over the fast cars ahead. I doubt he would have won the race without the free pitstop. Not really the point though.

I felt sorryfor Tsunoda. When he pitted from third on the same lap as Lando and George, he chose wet weather tyres and he was a full 6 seconds faster than them on the next lap before the VSC and red flag. If he got a few laps on those tyres it would have been very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,888 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think they should leave the full wets at home because it seems they can no longer use them. As soon as it gets wet enough for them, its nowadays no longer safer to run. Its quite annoying and really takes away the benefit of taking an early chance onto the wets as its a gamble you can rarely win….. you go onto wets and if it gets wetter, race is stopped. If rain reduces at all, you are on the wrong tyre.