Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭17togo

Yeah I used to time my journey into work around ot back in the good old days. I can't remember the last time I actually tuned into them on the radio. I just pick up clips of them on social media now.

I think they nerd to reduce the live radio time, maybe to an hour or hour and a half in the evening do a few sports bulletins in the morning/afternoon. Then have an exclusive podcast only available to subscribers, have some more in depth content on that like interviews, previews and maybe some mini documentary style content. That's what I used like about it in the past, when they had coverage of sports or events you wouldn't normally hear about.

It's all gone very bland now.

Might be worth a subscription then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Novfith

The show is 3 hours long during the week. There's some stuff people like.

I like listening to their rugby coverage but when someone like Sean O'Brien comes on, I am going to comment that he's pissed on someone in a bar in Dublin and I dislike him.

Or when Fiona Hayes is on that her voice goes through me and she talks nonsense.

Realistically, the 3 hour show then becomes 30 minutes max of listenable content.

It's human nature for people to speak out more when they are unhappy than when they are happy. Feedback forms will always be dominated by negative experiences despite lots of positive experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

there is no way NT will reduce the hours of OTB, because then they will have to create and pay for more produce to fill in those hours - 7.5 weekdays which is a lot. NT really hasn't created many new shows in a while - the lifestyle ones on saturday/sunday mornings around 8 or 9am and unified i think were the last new shows they have done.

That said, a more general arts show, or even heaven forbid some scripted drama series would be good, but Newstalk has never really even fulfilled its "news/Talk" remit down the years like the UK radio stations. You never know with Bauer we could end up with liveline 7am-10pm one day given what they are slowing doing to Today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I like OTB. It's an easy listen but if you're only interested in football scope out much much better content via specific podcasts. TalkSport and countless others have fantastic football stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Why not just turn it off then if its making you that unhappy? Its a strange mindset you have that you'd listen to stuff you don't like and come on complaining about it.

Live and let live I say. Somebody enjoys their slot on the show.

I suffered through the Sean O'Brien interview as I thought it would be over after not too long a while.

When I hear that Fiona Hayes is going to be on next I switch over which means I miss something after her that I might have liked.

Hayes is a spoofer and is only on to tick a box. A stat for NT to say they're showing gender equality.

I remember her talking about the world cup scrums last year. I think it was maybe Andrew Porter made a comment that it's impossible to know these days which way the scrum penalty will go but then Hayes was asked if she can see what's wrong immediately and she said she could.

So you have Porter who is actually in scrums week in week out not knowing who's right or wrong as well as Keith Wood who said we might need video replays to judge who's right and who's wrong and then we have Hayes, who is somehow able to tell in real time with certainty who is right and who is wrong.

You didn't answer my question - why not just turn it off the then? Or do you just love to complain and this is manna from heaven with two things you don't like?

I told you why I didn't turn it off.

I suffered through it as I was hoping it would be over soon and I'd be able to enjoy something afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭left_hander

So you've had 3 posts here venting your spleen about how much you don't like the show. I think you need a new hobby, or a new podcast at very least.

Could you not have checked back in 10 minutes later? I do it all the time on the show. If there is something really amazing, I'll use one of my 3 free listens on the absolutely turgid OTB Go Loud app.

I too have a feeling you just listened so you'd have something to give out about……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭left_hander

I think if you have only an interest in any one sport, there are better shows. There's tons of football, GAA, rugby, golf specific podcasts which cover it better than OTB. I like the bit of variety they give and then the occasional deep dive into somebody or some topic which I had never heard of.

Like I'll probably read up this weekend about the Rumble in the Jungle as it was 50 years ago yesterday. I've no real interest in boxing but they talked about it last night so I might have a read about it over the weekend. If I hadn't listened yesterday, I'd not have even thought about it.

I'm posting about the show. Maybe OTB are reading this as listener feedback.

I'm hardly 'venting my spleen'.

I like the show, not all of it. It's like asking for feedback on dublins public transport system. The people who are more likely to respond will have negative things to say.

People post because they'd like things to change.

Do you also tell everyone who complains about the cash machine to just shut up and turn off if you don't like it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Did anyone hear the start of AM this morning.

Ger was not enjoying the hair related conversation. Had a right little snap at Colm.

Funny stuff

Well if you can't handle the ringing of a slot machine and a competition being read out then yeah, probably time to turn off!

A bit like watching a GAA match on RTE, or the Late Late Show (which I don't watch but presume it still is), there is often competitions to win holidays, prizes, etc. Or a local GAA club with a banner outside their club "Jackpot 10k" or whatever.

Its not the only place with game of chance advertisement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭rrs

There seems to be more off the ball stuff free on Youtube. Things like Vinny Perth and Gareth McGlynn were normal behind a paywall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Island Voter

Ok, lets calculate. 5 hours a day in total. So, maybe 10-15 mins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I presumed that was a 1 off with the title deciders tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sub3wannabe

Very poor audio from The Brandywell tonight. "Stevo" sounds like he's in with the crowd on speakerphone. Can barely make out what he is saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭kazamo

Did you actually listen to the conversation from Keith ?

Utd are good against the better teams but not great against better defenders

Incoming manager uses wingbacks……..best wingback is the player they sold…..Wan Bissaka ….he is good going forward

And the fascination with McTominey was only mind boggling.

If you were in the pub and someone started with any of the above, you would assume they rarely watched football.

I used to listen to OTB a lot but over the past year, listen to it far less. Maybe the subscription model gave them notions but the standard has dropped.

Unlikely to post here again, as I have given up on OTB. NFL coverage last January was good so may pop back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

No I didn't, but what was said wasn't my point. My point is that the whole football analysis is a circus of nonsense.

I never listen to football analysis because its all about the social media clip and follow up. Complete rubbish across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭kazamo

I commented on something that was on OTB which is the title of the thread.

You responded to something you never listened to and could have made your comment anywhere on boards 🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

i subscribed recently. Travel a lot so find the pod really good for catching up. However the pundits on the soccer in particular are disappointing. They seem to have went away from using journalists like Dan McDonnell and a host of UK journalists who used to give a decent insight into the game. We are now left with Vinny Perth Keith Doyle Shane Keegan etc who are fine if LOI is your thing but for the PL are very poor. I’ll stick with it a little longer but disappointed so far. GAA would be my other option for listening to OTB for. Have zero interest in Rugby, none in American sport or womens football so can’t comment on the content there. Find Eoin a decent host though to be fair but Joe Molloy a big loss.

I was listening a couple months ago and a few LOI heads were talking about the Ireland football team. Grand.

I think it was Shane Keegan who was decent to listen to but then there was this other lad, I think it was Vinny Perth who had some awful accent and he kept turning the story onto himself with his own experiences.

It was the time the u-21s drew a game and needed to win v Italy and Perth was thinking he was some coaching guru saying 'Now go and win it' and turning every talking point back to his own experiences. A total dose.

I hate listening to all those LOI heads with their strong Dub accents. Might not bother most people but it's an awful accent and I think if you can't pronounce words correctly or fully you shouldn't be on national radio. Richie Hogan for example is great to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,597 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You prefer "owight mate, at the end of da day, early doors" of the English pundits/players or "in these moments" of the non-native English speakers of the EPL instead? Pep Guardiola gets the "shoots" occasionally and he finds it hard to keep clean sheets or as he says "sh!ts".

Even more of an odd complaint when you consider that soccer is a predominately working class sport, played by working class people. Therefore it is self evident that the players are predominately going to have working class Dublin accents. As Irish soccer is dominated by Dublin in the majority.

They are not suddenly going to become erudite, well read, and knowledgable about the game of soccer, with better elocution as well. Most ex-footballers left school at 15/16.

Maybe you preferred Robbie Keane when he started using the phrase "Ever so well" from his time in England. Or better still when the same Robbie referred to "D-fence" when conversing with his American colleagues during his time the MLS?

I think your post is probably a microcosm of what is wrong with Irish soccer. A preference for "Engerland" and all that entails when it comes to soccer.

"Shure lookit" your complaint is the equivalent of a fella giving out about country accents, in the game of hurling!

A daft complaint, when you step back and think about it.

Once a pundit is knowledgable on a sport, it should not be relevant what his/her accent is. Enthusiasm should be the second prerequisite after knowledge of the sport.

I agree on Vinny Perth though.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

There's a big difference in hearing a manager or a player speak and a regular pundit picked especially for their 'analysis'

It's painful on the ears to listen to people who can't pronounce words correctly and that goes for all accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Paper review was an awful listen this week.

Usually I really enjoy it but the combination of Adrian and the guests just didn't work.

They need to nail down a presenter for it as it is one of tye best segments of the week but has dipped since Joe jumped ship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I like Shane Keegan and I'm from Wexford. But a bit like Gizzy Lyng an accent so broad can be heard to listen to all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭rrs