Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,701 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I'm in the same boat, I dont see the change this country desperately needs coming BUT I cannot wait to see the feckers coming to my door looking for a vote and I'll be asking them how does it feel like creating a new industry in this country, an industry that has devastated our hotel/tourism sector and local communities. An industry that that has created/enriched Ireland oligarchs while they put their foot on the neck of the local communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭tom23

Ah look alls well that ends well the owner with the tears on tv assured us he doesn’t do it for profit. Thank god we have people like him. I actually hope he is on this board with all the other heroes and AI contributors.

Mod Edit: Warned for uncivil posting - one day forum ban also applied

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,701 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Europe and particularly Ireland need to learn from our Swedish neighbors.

Think about it, Sweden was once one of the safest countries in Europe but look at it now. This is what mass immigration does to a country and good old Ireland is following suit

A fascinating read

It's so damn scary what's down the line for us

Mod Edit: Warning issued for off topic link dumping - one day forum ban also applied

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭dublin49

I suspect a lot of the current resignations in the Dail are linked to older politicans not wanting to be deemed complicit in what will be judged as a failure by our representatives to properly manage the immigration challenge.The Far right have bought the Government some time with their antics but theres a growing realisation this issue has got out of hand and the Government are floundering around ,unable to regain the confidence of the electorate.They will get it in the neck on the doorsteps when canvassing but not in the ballot box as there is no major party yet reflecting what IMO is been said on the ground.We find ourselves in a right mess and I wonder which main party will blink first and maybe reflect the majority view of their supporters.My opinion is informed by conversations with my peers and I understand I may be wrong but I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

People from the USA have claimed asylum in Ireland, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,203 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Will0483

It should be the main issue as not only is it destroying the very fabric of Irish society, it is also creating unsustainable spending with no end in sight. It's also worsening the property and Healthcare crisises and tying up Gardai resources when inevitable and justifiable protests occur.

We need to reduce AS numbers to zero and begin forced deportations asap before any further damage is done.

None of the main political parties are anywhere near this realisation yet so will have to hear it on the doorstep. I just can't understand why they are so afraid of this issue when there's only a tiny minority in favour of the current farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,543 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

tying up Gardai resources when inevitable and justifiable protests occur.

Neither inevitable or justifiable in the majority of people's opinions.

Gardai do not need to police peaceful protests, unfortunately they have to attend to lawbreakers. It's ironic that one of the complaints about AS is the waste of police time, when the only people who are wasting Garda time are not AS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

You're so blinded you can't even see the reality. Gardai doing the ugly work of government and a dirty multi billion industry, pushing illegal and unlawful ipas centres into communities that don't want them, haven't been consulted, are fed lies by public representatives and then labelled in the media because they dare stand up for whats right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Their wont be many of the current government knocking and having a chat.

They know they are home and hosed and they are not stupid and know how the majority of the country feels.

You will get leaflets in the letterbox during the daytime and they will scamper away.

They probably won't even do it themselves and get others to post them.

Ha just to edit that I heard leaflets coming through the letter box just after lunch yesterday.

I was throwing them out and hour ago and looking through the junk ads and see a leaflet from our local FG TD.

I was working from home yesterday and their wasn't a knock on the door.

I remember years ago when they would canvass in the evenings and discuss their policies.

Post edited by Backstreet Moyes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Both Bertie and Tonight show veering off the play book in the same day is a bit of a hammer blow for the narrative.

Expect to be having more of these conversations in the near future as people realise the complete mess they, their children, and this country are now left in.

Whatever about "the far right", the people calling out the goverments insanity have been right so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

I said it after the RTE bailout, if VM contuine to feel hard done by, don't be surprised to see them making an editorial decision to push back against government ministers and policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭batman_oh

There were people here claiming what has happened in Sweden is all far right lies. That the Swedish are happy with how well it all went. They are now paying some of them 30k to leave out of desperation. But we continue allowing everybody in and are content to have 1000 men living in tents in a field with zero idea of what to ever do with them (and more of these supersize camps to come apparently) and hundreds of hotels/B+B's as permanent asylum accommodation. Once we are meeting our 'obligations' who cares what the nett result is outside of profits for the people benefitting from it.

They will have to boil "the frog on this one " as the Establishment went so far down the pro immigration road they cannot quickly do an about turn as even they would blush at that.Fly a few kites here and there ala Bertie and gradually move to a position of " Mistakes were made ,we are where we are and lets look forward not back",the Ukrainian influk with some justification will be used as the reason for the eye off the ball elsewhere .We cannot expect any action on those that are here,best to hope for is we catch up on what our European counterparts are now introducing and show some vigour in holding the line on implementation.We need to address the appeal process so its not used as a brake on all solutions,and requesting folk not entitled to stay needs to move to forcible removal ,All reparition of families needs to be suspended,and any arrivals from UK sent back to Belfast on the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,311 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I have seen the far left active on social media and they are an abhorrent group.

At least with the far right they are hate filled and up front about it.

The far left push for increasing the population of towns and villages knowing their services are beyond stretched before more people are added.

They then give themselves a pat on the back and move onto the next town knowing that they are going to cause unrest and violence where they dropped off the last asylum seekers.

They only get back involved to try suppress information about crimes by asylum seekers.

The far left are devoid of compassion for Irish people and for asylum seekers.

The far left are just as bad and probably worse then the far right.

Like I said at least the far right are honest about what they are.

The country badly needs a center party with common sense to get rid of these lunatics who cause nothing but unrest and violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,060 ✭✭✭conorhal

The last time I was in Stockholm was at the hight of the refugee crisis, when train loads of asylum seekers were arriving at the central station daily.

You know what shocked me the most about Stockholm (apart from the cost of everything)? I was there for a couple of days doing the touristy thing and I could count on my left hand the number of hijabs or minorities I encountered. You'd see more minorities if you stood around on Henry St for 5 minutes than I saw in two days in the center of Stockholm. It's pretty easy to live in a 'refugees welcome' bubble when they are clearly shuffled out of sight and thus out of mind of the well to do.

I don't know what it's like now of course, that was nearly a decade ago, but here, every town and small village is impacted by mass migration and people have just had enough of it. If you walk down Henry St or any part of the north inner city today, it's pretty easy to get the distinct feeling that you are the minority in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Its a bigger problem I fear than just whatever way the wind blows in Simon Harris' little echo chamber he has surrounded himself with up in Dail Eireann.

Human trafficking and money laundering have alway been a problem that this state has never got to grips with. We now have entire goverment sanctioned industry facade dressing it up as altruism.

Human traffickers, drug mules, money laundering shopfronts are all just the sharp edge of the industry which now has NGOs, human rights legal outfits and accommodation "providers" draining off the state resources to facilitate it.

When the adults do return to the corridors of power, the human trafficking and money laundering industry here is going to be a lot harder to disrupt. They have turned this country into a free for all.

All the while, those conversation about why you can't get a doctor or book a driving test will soon become why I don't feel safe for me or my kids living in this country.

If you've been reading the news, there's been hundreds of incidents at AS centres tying up lots of Garda resources especially in rural areas that have no business hosting young lads with nothing to do all day.

Nobody in their right mind would want a local hotel closed down to make way for an AS centre. Thousands of jobs in shops and Restaurants have gone as tourists have nowhere to stay in many small towns.

All of this upheaval is for what exactly? Not one single benefit to Ireland will come from all this splurging.

Im not blind at all to the reasons Gardai are stretched. It's policing Irish people who can't stay lawful.

Like I said peaceful protests don't require gardai.

There are not hundreds of incidents. There are incidents, same as there are incidents everywhere in the country. There is nothing disproportionate. Incidents happen everywhere.

It's been disproportionate in every other European country. A post above referred to the fact that 75 per cent of all murders and serious violence in Sweden this year involves a first or second generation migrant. That is grossly disproportionate wouldn't you say?

The cover ups and the great silence on this topic is over. The stakes are too high for this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

Decisions are made by the government, not activists on social media. It’s true that more people moving into a town can stretch resources, but that’s really an issue with how well the government plans and funds things, not some hidden agenda to create chaos. Also, the far right are not honest about what they are. They lie about everything and use the tactic of misinformation because it doesn't matter to them whats actually true and we've seen that time and time again. The ends justify the means to them. As soon as a crime is committed by someone who isn't what the far rights idea of "Irish" is, they go on racist rants, spreading misinformation and blaming all migrants, trying their best to cause a riot situation which endangers the public. A crime doesn't even have to be committed, they'll make it up themselves. Countless examples of them telling people to get out on the street and do something. Fake stories about migrants committing an attack and trying to get the migrants beaten up or whip up fear as we saw with fake child abduction stories and fake rapes. A father at a playground was targeted when he was simply taking his child to a playground. The far right all got behind the obviously fake story. This will be all stamped out in time with hate speech laws obviously, which is why they are terrified of those laws coming in. The far right are a stain on society and are overrepresented online, as we saw when most of this forum was in turmoil after achieving 0.42% of the vote.

Perhaps a link to the actual study and everything involved might help with the above post to a opinion of one man. I don't just believe everything I see on the internet.

There are no cover ups in Ireland and AGS have already stated there has been no increase in crime rates in relation to AS or refugees

No link between asylum seekers and increased crime, authorities state

https://www.newstalk.com/news/clear-disinformation-that-asylum-seekers-are-linked-to-crime-analyst-1635023

https://extra.ie/2024/01/17/news/irish-news/gardai-no-increase-crime

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/social-affairs/2023/03/15/no-link-between-asylum-seekers-and-increased-crime-authorities-state/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-41306890.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭creeper1

"temporary" is the new permanent.

When Mosney was first used to host AS it was presented as "temporary"

Lies.

When they started acquisition of hotels for this racket it was touted as "temporary'

Lies.

When Ukrainians started filing in getting undreamed of benefits it was touted as "temporary"

More Lies.

Here's something they should temporarily do.

Temporarily suspend the right to asylum.

Poland is doing this by saying Putin is sending them in.

So please do this "temporarily" Muppets in government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭rgossip30

So are you saying an irish person can arrive in Dublin airport or a port and be admitted without a passport .

. You got proof !!

Yep. I am saying that. I'm also saying that UK citizens don't need a passport to gain entry to Ireland either.

Irish citizens do not need a passport to enter Britain either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

So passport checks in Ireland are useless then?

As always when a pro immigration supporter contributes to this discussion ,"far right " will be mentioned within the first few sentences.We have moved beyond this being an issue for the far right,this is a centrist ,middle of road ,ordinary person on the street issue so please lets park the "Far right " label as its out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

”Decisions are made by government, not activists on social media”. Interesting take, without ‘activists’ and campaigners we might never have seen the likes of Repeal the 8th, marriage equality etc. Reform is badly needed so hopefully we will continue to see activists seeking change