Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security guards on Dublin Bus

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

Do these security actually exist? I am in Dublin City Centre every single day and I have yet to travel or see any other bus with security on board or at any bus stops. Looks like this was done purely PR purposes and there is little to no security in reality.

Has anyone encountered these security on their travels or have any of the DB drivers on here have any dealings with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,763 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Per the link below there are only two mobile units and they are focussed on areas where most issues occur.

Given there are over 1,100 buses, your chances of seeing them if you’re in areas with fewer anti-social issues would be pretty low.

https://www.dublinbus.ie/news/introducing-our-new-safer-journey-team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Get Real

This was always going to be the case. It was always either PR or political spin when the idea of transport police was floated.

To run the Dublin Bus fleet, across all the shifts and rest days, there are 3000 drivers.

If these security are working in twos, and say they covered 20% of busses, you'd need 1,200 staff to cover them. That's probably close to the amount of Gardai we have in the entire area of Dublin.

And even if there was 1200 security staff, they'd be hopping between busses. So say they were on the 16 to the airport, but hopped off for another bus on O'Connell at. All that wood happen is, anyone scummy enough to start acting up or engage in anti social behaviour will start acting a fool when security aren't there.

So 1200 staff for realistic 20% coverage Vs 2 units now. It was never going to work. That's not their fault. It's just hugely intensive in manpower to achieve such visibility.

When was the last time you had your ticket inspected? I are lucky if is once a year, if making multiple bus trips each day.

The city centre has high anti social behaviour. Junkies and Roma pickpockets everywhere. Also given it's the main hub for the majority of DB services it would be the very place you'd expect to see them.

So 2 mobile units for 1.1k buses so that's what 4 security guards with absolutely no power for the entire network. What's the point. It's a PR exercise not a solution for ASB.

Also the security guards aren't much use in themselves. There was a video recently of someone being pickpocketed on the Luas and the security had to ask a member of the public to hold down the thief until the Gardai arrived. So the security companies won't even allow them to do a citizens arrest which is about the only power they have.

I don’t disagree that this is a drop in the ocean.

But I would ask whether the anti-social behaviour problems on the buses are happening in the city centre?

That’s different to saying there are anti-social behaviour problems in the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I've yet to see any security - as a daily user of the G2 I thought I would. I had to get off before we even departed the terminus due to a fight between passengers last week.

Most of the routes that serve the troublesome areas also serve the city centre. Take the 27 for example seems to be the route that let's the most ASB issues at either end of the route passes through the city centre .

From what I've read it seems to suggest the security will be travelling in cars responding to incidents. Surely they'd be better off actually travelling on the buses in service. I reckon this is being done for PR purposes and will be dropped as quicklyand unceremoniously at the end of the trial period. It's pointless and a waste of time and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,216 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Most people with cop on can avoid a street situation. You cant avoid a siituation on the bus, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Citrus_8

I'm very irregular train user and recently seen tickets got inspected by two IR staff accompanied with two Garda. This was a big surprise to me. However, what I didn't like that one of the staff wasn't pleasantly polite - was just doing a bare minimum - no good afternoon, no thank you, no have a good trip, nothing.

I live in Dublin for 11 years and my ticket was inspected only once on a bus... However, the last 8 years I only use buses occasionally on the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I get 4-6 buses per day, sometimes could be as many as 10 journeys. I've never had my ticket inspected on a bus in Dublin.

I’m not sure why you’re quoting me - I never disputed that.

I just questioned where the need for the patrols on buses is greatest, and I suspect it’s further out from the city centre on certain routes which is why people haven’t seen them there.