If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

FFS, I give up. Yep that's €6,400 for a 7 month old heifer.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,167 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Not really bought a lot of really light stores before and after Christmas last year. Have being topping up since. I have 80+ for going to grass next year. I expect to buy a few more but I am undecided whether to buy stores or weanling/ yearlings for 2026. No point in buying cattle that there is no margin in

These are mostly the stores I bought last winter. The ones I bought last winter cost on average 300 euro accross the lot coloured and Fr. Photos are from about a fortnight ago

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭morphy87

You have great grass, going by the photos those animals are going to leave a nice margin, great looking stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Dunedin

would you not buy a few sucklers Bass. You’d make a fortune and they’d eat that grass that them other bucks are walking into the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Hershall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,167 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's calcium it also increases appetite of cattle and they tend to grow more than flesh out

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Focus86

how much limestone flour do you use per head per day

About 10-15 grams per 100kgs but make sure cattle are on minerals and vitamins as wwll

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭older by the day

So do you mix the limestone with the mineral and scatter it on the silage. Any minerals in particular or just a normal beef mineral powder

No usually spread one first and the other afterwards. If putting it on bare concrete put the li.e first

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's Cubicle lime but make sure that it is not hydrated( burnt) lime based. Costs about 5 euro a bag. Mineral suppliers are.now putting a certain amountmin there M&V's but it's only around 20% of the product. 5 years ago they were not( well the ones I bought anyway)

It's also excellent to government finishing cattle as it helps prevent acidosis

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Jim Simmental

Bit of a how long is a piece of string question but does anyone know/feel does there be much demand for weanlings in December? Have most of the lads fully stocked up at that stage ?

debating here when to move some, thinking of moving most of them on in mid December as I have enough meal on farm at the minute to last till then.

All spring born CHX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

if your keeping until Christmas you are probably as well to hold them until early February I find most of the time. You’ll have a good bit of the winter covered and February always sees a good lift for weanlings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Shippers are the floor under the weanling trade, if ships are going then trade will be good. Generally the shipping of cattle slows done in December so demand for weanling would fall back. So would sell before the end of November or wait until February.

Post edited by Anto_Meath on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Dunedin

+1 or even to March as the grass buyers will be poking their heads up then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭limo_100

In a similar situation myself have a few good shapey weanlings to sell was going to go next week roughly 400kg's have I missed the boat or am I ok as in prices havn't eased off just yet? Or should I hold tight until march

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I'd lamp them into the mart ASAP if you've it on you're mind to sell them. The shippers are very active atm and the weanling trade is strong for all weights once they've some bit of quality. It's a long time till February/March and it not the first of November yet. If you've the place, fodder and desire to winter them then it's a different story but otherwise I'd sell them sooner rather than later.

I can't see weanlings being any dearer this side of Xmas tbh, beef/forward stores perhaps but it's the shipping that's really lighting up the weanling trade atm and it usually tails off towards the end of the year. Cattle usually get a lift in February but they'd want every euro of it for the cost incurred over winter.

December along with June/July is a funny time in the mart business in my experience. You'll see odds and ends of cattle that aren't about the rest of the year and there's often value due to less men being about or interested in stock. I'd be slow to keep any bundle of nice and saleable weanlings about till mid December tbh. The shipping could be called off for a few weeks and a lot of domestic customers are full up or don't want the hassle of fresh cattle coming in close to Xmas.

Looking at Granard last night and Carnaross tonight prices seem to be holding strong. That sort of weight R grade weanlings are averaging around €3.30 / €3.40 per kg. Seen some plainer ones making a little over €3 per Kg and I seen some making over €3.70 per kg. Lighter ones are in the region of €3.50 / €3.60. Holding tight is grand but would €300 a head bring them weanlings until March, so they would need to be coming into around €1,600 then to cover themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭limo_100

I will go next week and see how I go. Yeah I was watching aswel surprising that the as and he dairy crosses and making 3 a kg.

Yes the bonuses for the Hex * AAx is keeping a floor under them.. some lads seem to think thar it is worth more than it actually is. But again you are looking at smaller weights with the dairy cross cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Jim Simmental

are the shippers only interested in weanling bulls ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

The agents are buying smaller quantities of heifers too in the last few weeks so I'm assuming there shipping them as well. But bulls would be in the majority of what's being bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭minerleague

Normally buy a few store heifers ( 1.5year old) to run with my own sucklers ( may keep 1 or 2 as cows if suitable) but cattle seem very dear compared to what similar cattle made in factory ( last years bought in) Are the bonuses for AA and HE cattle going in the purchase price?

The price AAx & Hex cattle are making in the marts at the minute remind me of years ago when sell bullocks with 1 sub. You would get paid the premium in the ring & the person buy the animal had to take all the risks to ensure they got the premium on the animal at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭kk.man

IMHO there are being left in the mart on the sale day, Cant understand the money being paid for small framed HE and especially AA cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Was talking to a work colleague today, he has filled the sheds with AAx and Hex heifers averaging 480 kgs and reckons he will have to get 5.70 a kg hanging to make money when everything is paid for a t the end of the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭epfff

570 available this week for aax

Probably 10 less for hex

I think he is safe.

@Sheep breeder ye, that's mad money and doesn't make sense.. €5.70 would be a serious price and I am hoping it comes to pass.. but if it does lads will then turn around and give a bigger price for replacements next year meaning they will need over €6 in 2026 to have the same return.

Now in reality beef probably needs to be around €6 to give farmers a fair return. But as a beef man said to me yesterday, while his beef cattle are returning €150 - €200 a head more, his replacement are costing him €150 a head more & it's mostly Fr he feeds.