Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,218 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

There's always plenty of work on a farm. However with OAD you should not need a zero grazer, maize or a diet feeder. Whole point shoukd be a simple system. With a OAD system it's a bit easier to manage the labour side of it. Its easier for parents to stay involved. Spring workload with a job is tough going but slurry, silage, hedgecutting etc should be contracted out.

Will 3-4 quality bales per cow get you over the shoulders and a bulk cut for the dry cow period?

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Have you been at calf mart intakes and watched the sales in person or online. If jex is the dam it's 10 and 20 euro for the angus and herefords. Charolais now some are throwing them on the jex but it's still lucky to get 50.

Some people are delusional too. The house could be on fire and they'd say it's fine. The goal for jex is to get rid of the calf. If it brings some money it's a bonus. But that's fine as we're reliving our youth in NZ and putting on the All Black jersey and having those all black cows. A country that brought the concept of killing dairy calves to the world. And sure maybe there's beer money from some 15kg calf. It's bolloxollogy. If Tirlan bring out a condition or Bord Bia in the pricing structure for a more holistic approach to dairying. Then the jersey question will be gone for good. I can see it coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Trust me, we run a labour efficient, tight ship. No extra feeds, it's grass, silage an nuts. Most of slurry is hired out, hedge cutting hired out, most of the silage work, we mow ourselves but that's manageable at the moment.

We keep the beef heifers as we are fragmented, so I know the difference in work, there is virtually no work with the cattle. There is a different level of management and husbandry required to keep dairy cows going, even OAD when they are under less pressure.

Yes in a normal year I'd like 3 bales top quality silage per cow, and stemmy dry cow stuff to keep the cows getting over fat pre calving.

In fairness a b&w herd doing 6500 litres and struggling to get to 3.6 fat and 3.3 protein isn't representative of the majority of b&w herds. He needn't have gone to crossbreds to improve on that, but it was the fastest route I suppose. And I'm not against crossbreds as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

You have a lot of that right in fairness, except the bit about the replacements, which is the only real point in my original post. Not many cows can do what I'm asking them to as they're not bred for it. The average dam of an ai sire gets well above a tonne of meal and OAD just triggers a different genetic switch.

My post isn't about profit or comparing systems as there's a personal reasons why I'm farming this way.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Replying to kev hog on SCC;

Grand til the end of lactation and volume goes down below 10l. I won't be winning prizes, but I'm not getting any penalties either.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

That's fair enough, the only one I'd see as weakish there is the fertility. I'd be very disappointed with anything above 5% and it's been below 2% the last 3 years, (in 11 weeks), touch wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭Gillespy

With all the completely arbitrary regulations in farming, is there anything around welfare issues with once a day milking? Cows packed, bursting with milk isn't exactly a good image is it? But people haven't a clue it's a thing so it's ignored. As tempting as it is some evenings i wouldn't even dream of doing it with cows sub 20 litres at the moment. Nevermind during peak summer months. Milk your cows for God's sake or get rid of them if you're too lazy to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

maybe I am delusional but some ppl are as passionate about jex crossbreds as you are about the Irish Friesan. I personally see no issue with the calves as long as they’re looked after. They’re putting alot of effort in now on how to maintain the jex herd while trying to improve their calf for sale. I think they should be given credit for that tbh. There still is some there who are taking the piss with calf quality but they won’t get away with it for too much longer

We still have the odd crossbred calf here and the shippers will take them at a month old if they’re a well looked after calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,350 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What age are your parents? Is it sustainable/fair for them to do so much work?

Get over yourself, your welcome cone see the cows at peak, no issues whatsoever with them bursting with milk. And I guarantee you laziness isn't a thing where i'm from.

In there 70's. I don't ask them to do anything, in fact the opposite, I have consistently tried to get my father to do less but the attitude he takes to that is, it's an insult and I'm saying he is not able.

Ye agreed, I'd like it less. It's a small herd though so a couple of cows has a bigger weighting.

Once they're happy at it that's the main thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Once the heat goes out of it, approximately 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

Be ware of the zero grazer.

https://www.independent.ie/farming/dairy/henry-walsh-how-we-are-controlling-our-tb-outbreak-and-trying-to-find-out-what-caused-it/a394438101.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Collapsing calf quality and carcass weights/grades isn't because of the tiny % of Jrx herds in the country, its because of the icbf adopting a policy to breed a new Zealand type low maintenance 500kgs mature live-weight type cow...

Theirs no real reward for breeding a quality dairy beef animal in Ireland, when you see American dairy farmers clearing 800 euro for 2 weeks old angus calves and what you'd get here, it would make you question the viability of the whole thing, we are at some disadvantage on so many levels to other dairy exporters its getting to a critical level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭visatorro

Chat on machinery thread about mixing ration yourself. I'm not set up to do it and had massive problems with birds before feeding a ration so I'm slow to try it again. Friend of mine has indoor herd. He was mixing a ration himself for 307. For a couple of reasons he gave his spec sheet to a couple of miller's to make a nut. One was 400, he eventually got it for 360. Some difference even at the 360 across a herd of hi yielding cows.

I used to think like that. My parents are in their 80s now, they are very lucky with their health and appreciate it . They are very active still in their own lives and on the farm, at their own pace and level, and I facilitate them where appropriate. They're strong and capable while many of their peers are suffering from common and serious symptoms of "old age" and needing care.

I now see them as a real example of how muscle loss is the greatest factor in people losing their ability to live independently.

As my father says, "if I stop, I mightn't be able to get going again so easily".

It applies to us all really, from a surprisingly early age too, use it or lose it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

Would i get away with feeding any earlier, well rolled and sealed. id be crossing the pit face every 3 days and taken out with a shear grab. I'm eager to start feeding as soon as possible as i need it emptied for the start of January as the shed doubles up as a calf house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,770 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Doctors now recommend weight training for the older among us. It's to keep muscle mass and bone density. If those are gone especially the bone density, they're gone. On a farm the weight training can be the simple going of moving around and lifting the odd yokes. Or attaching clusters once or twice a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Fed mine here day after harvesting. Advice I was given was make sure that no posinous weeds in maize field before cutting, feed plenty straw and bread soda with it and don't go over 8/10 kgs a cow. Been feeding 2 weeks. Put silo king additive on it. I was feeding wholecrop before I replaced it with maize so maybe start at 5kg a cow and work up

You got me there, I definitely wouldn't be categorised as a "busy bo11ocks".

When your cows are dropping milk before morning milking I suppose you milk them 3 times a day for a month or two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭straight

I Just watched Graises video on YouTube there. Different world in Wexford, talking about grazing wet ground in Feb. I think it probably has more to do with being in a low rainfall area than anything else.

Can Guys over that way not pronounce friesian or what like? I mean a black and white cow is harder to say and just makes things more vague. I don't get it. I'm just guessing by black and white that they mean friesian.

Noticed a big slow down in my dad in this last year. He's 80 in a few weeks. Trying to make enough time that my mam isnt burdened. I have him with me most days herding or whatever for an hour or so. Very important that they keep involved .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,218 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's a combination of different factors. It could be partially corrected by use of the right bull especially with AI. However a lot of larger units after finishing using AI for replacements buy the smallest genetically beef type bull they can as the cows will spit out the calves no bother without requirement for calving labour. A better bull type would solve a lot of the issues. You are correct it not just down to JE breeding

However when you compare costs you may not be too far behind other unit types with margin per cow. You have no requirements for Maize, zero grazer, loader or a feed wagon. 3 decent round bales per cow gets you over the shoulders. A fairly average 100ish HP tractor would be more than adequate. On average national milk solid your direct costs are probably down around 20c/L..… unless you are renting a lot of expensive land or still in a development stage. Obiviouly with you high milk solids and low volume its works out more than that and you be managing tax issues as well.

Any system is about finessing it.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭cosatron

can't access the article. can someone magical put it up. i know for a fact that Henry does allot of aero grazing the last couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭ginger22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭Gillespy

My conscious is clear on how the cows here are cared for. How can't you see it's a welfare issue? Paticularly early lactation cows. And what about the culling needed to get it to work I always read about. Deliberately giving cows cell count and mastitis problems, yeah great farming that. Fair City isn't that good is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Arm Wax

what kind of diet and changes do you guys make for drying up your cows before and after tubing