Harris Vs Trump 2024 US Presidential election - read the warning in the OP posted 18/09/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,252 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

NYT gave a number of reasons why people are voting for Trump in an article I posted last night - one of the reasons was a younger audience seeing an entertainment value in Trump - obviously your son is not amused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,301 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I think they're more sick of the GOP abortion bullshit, and women comprise half the population, unlike GOP voters - at best 1/3 the country if that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,118 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Of all of the dumbest reasons to vote for Trump, "entertainment" has to one of the most asinine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

you should be able to do better than what aboutism….

Hard and all to believe …you were young ….once🤪

Let them make their own mistakes 😀

I was totally unaware of Rogan until he told me some of his friends listened to him but he thought he was shite. So it was entirely freely volunteered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Virgil°

Within 3 pages on boards I'm a Trump supporter.

You must truly think we were born yesterday. Noone believes you were anything but a thinly veiled Trump supporter. This trick has been played so many times on this thread already. It's neither clever or original.

Either that or you change your opinions on a dime. Depending on what the last person to hurt your tender sensibilities said. Which would make you a very strange individual. Can you not make up your mind for yourself based on the facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,088 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Except for Trump who has declared that Harris is insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I don't recall Biden ever dancing for 40 minutes at a town hall so ya, I'd say the questions on Trump's mental state are as relevant as those on Biden during the debates. You're complaining about the threads bias towards Harris but that's simply cause she is far more credible than Trump. Most posters don't want a right wing extremist back in office.

Well, that mask didn't take long to drop.

😐️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,813 ✭✭✭✭briany

Pretty facile reasoning for becoming a Trump supporter. If three pages of forum posts is enough to turn you, allow me to turn you back with half an hour of these lies,

Not enough? How about him trying to squeeze non-existent votes out of Brad Raffensperger? A doozy.

Although before the election, he also claimed the election would be rigged, if he lost. What a responsible absolutely not divisive and insane thing to say. Here you go.

Here he is calling Brad Raffensperger an 'enemy of the people'. But the Dems are worse, rite?

As a bonus, here's a perfectly normal thing for a POTUS to say on Twitter after riling up an angry mob near the US Capitol. Totally normal.

Untitled Image

But three pages of boards posts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,275 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Suicide by mod within the hour I'd say. Martyr time.

Biden dancing for 40 minutes might have helped his campaign - especially if he kept in time - Strictly (be) Come President - now that would be a ratings winner !

We all knew that as soon as you started posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

You've clearly missed the multiple events in the last few months around Trump. Plenty have raised questions about his mental faculties. If you're classifying tripping on stairs or not being sure what way to walk off stage as bad then it's pretty bad that you're not questioning Trump's behaviour lately.

You joined this thread today, playing the card of asking questions and being uncertain. Now you're actually backing Trump. Either you're incredibly uninformed or didn't join this topic with the intent of engaging in good faith discussion.

I suspect your an old re reg troll from the early days of the thread - same tone, same attitude. The insults will start soon, then the ban.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Jesus that's frightening. The only good news is he probably won't remember tomorrow. He good genuinely bankrupt the US and escalate multiple wars into one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,829 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

well by your theory he “probably wont remember tomorrow” so it’s unlikely he’ll “escalate multiple wars into one” - you can rest easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,829 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

That sounds more like just being a contrarian than actually supporting Trump.

I think that is the same reason a significant number of people support him. Everyone from Jim Bob and Sarah Jane to Nigel Farage and anyone in between.

People have such an issue with their perception of what the establishment is, they want to burn the whole thing down rather than suggest ways to improve it. Look at how the GOP House Representatives have embarrassed themselves and the institution these past couple of years while they held a majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Omg just saw Harris Texas disaster. It was like chowchessku in Romania.

I'm telling ye kh is a documentary on VEEP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Google translate just shat itself

You've a few options.

1 - Discuss and debate in good faith and let your content speak for itself.

2 - Report inappropriate posts if you feel it is warranted.

3 - Do what other Trump supporters do here a lot of the time, just post their posts, and don't bother responding when asked to explain them or to respond to a counter argument against them (you know, discussion)

4 - Leave

I don't care which you do, but what you're doing now, is neither informative, entertaining, or opinion shifting. And before you plead persecution (as you're already doing), I'm responding to you because of frequent statements you are making about the content and contributors on the thread, you can rest assured I won't be calling you out to respond to anything unless it's in a response to what you've posted. The choice is yours.

It's a discussion forum, treat it as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,297 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

I've seen plenty of normal discussions here involving Romney, Bush, McCain supporters. To date never with Trump.

Whether someone is for or against a candidate they should be able to make a coherent logical argument.

Have you ever seen anyone in an interview with a MAGA hat on making a logical argument?

It's interesting to watch, real time, the degeneration of political discourse into infantile name-calling, quips, anti-science, anti-logic, insults, slurs, racism, bigotry - and that's just by the candidate himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,841 ✭✭✭✭banie01

My son is pushing 21 and the opinion of Rogan amongst him and his friends is the same. Stoner talking head that's viewed as the weird drunk uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,813 ✭✭✭✭briany

'Burn it down' is very much the aim.

There are a class of people emerging of which individuals such as Elon Musk and Peter Thiel see themselves very much as members. They're already elite people due to the vast fortunes they have amassed, but what differentiates them is they dream of a world, or even just a western world, where their status is codified in castes and there is little real social mobility. They see concepts of individualism and egalitarianism as pipe dreams and that the true order of things is rigid hierarchy and unchallenged power. Elon Musk doesn't really believe in freedom of speech. If he were running things, it wouldn't exist, but freedom of speech is a great vector to get to a point where there is no freedom of speech, if you understand me.

Whether Donald Trump believes in the same thing is doubtful, because he's not a deep reader or thinker, but he is undeniably charismatic and a walking political wrecking ball. To the thinkers in the so-called 'Dark Enlightenment' (think of supposed philosophers like Curtis Yarvin), he's very much a useful tool.

The kind of people who make up MAGA and, indeed, reactionaries throughout the West will in no way inherit the benefit of this new order, should it come to pass, other than being given the catharsis of maybe even a lower rung to kick down upon (think of 'others' - immigrants, the disabled, other races and so on), but they play a very important role in being the vanguard of those at the top, while those at the top laugh at them.

Have you ever seen anyone in an interview with a MAGA hat on making a logical argument?

Not in over 4.5 years at this point.

He showed us and told us what he is capable of, there's way too many of his supporters around now thinking it's our fault for paying attention and that we're not allowed to use his words and actions against him. They got us into this mess (collectively speaking rather than specifially), they can face the music for doing so. Why shouldn't they?

The Tories were promoting the very same agenda in the UK until they were booted out.

A return to a type of feudalism.

Yeah, but it's not as simple as that. The Tories significantly shifted the Overton window, helped massively by the narrative that Trump introduced in 2016. Brexit was a bigger direct influence so they were already on their own path but the UK is now in a situation where a Labour government has removed fuel allowances from pensioners in its first winter in power and they a secretary for Health who is a big friend of private healthcare. These are acts which in the past would have been considered as something only the Tories would consider, and yet here we are.

They also have a very influential (more so than the US) print media environment which will prime the electorate for the Tory return in either 2029, or 2034. It's quite depressing how difficult it is to genuinely break away from the chains that restrict progressive government options in both countries.