Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harris Vs Trump 2024 US Presidential election - read the warning in the OP posted 18/09/24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,848 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Coming on the LA Times owner declining to endorse Harris resulting in it's editorial editor resigning in protest, it does seem poor for her. Two major paper owners choosing to sit on the fence on such a nationally important issue doesn't bode well for US freedom of expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

A - Trump said he would tell Bibi to finish the job, and Bibi is actively rooting for a Trump win. Why do you think that is?

B - American Conservatives are up in arms because of the level of support the Biden admin have given to the heroes in Ukraine, but you don't want to support that admin, but would support one that would support them less?

Not sure you know what it is you are saying, did you just come on here to complain about the Left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,310 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

what’s the issue here? The prize is POTUS- there will only be one winner - there’s 2 weeks to go - posters are expressing a running commentary view on an Irish website where the vast majority of posters do not have a vote - if someone thinks “Harris should be doing more”- let them say why they think that- it’s a close race

- “but Trump” doesn’t cut it anymore -

neither here on this thread nor in America where the reality is - in fact “but Trump” is probably the single biggest error anyone could make right now -and given Harris’ change in what she’s saying I think even she accepts that - there’s been far more attempt at detail on policy independent thinking and trying to separate herself from Biden in the last week than there has been at any stage in this campaign

it’s a pathetic meaningless statement that has stifled conversation and discussion on this thread

I said a couple of times on this thread that this election campaign was like a TV series with 'designed for an audience' events such as Biden stepping down, Trump being convicted, the assassination attempt and so on and so on.

And said at the time that I didn't expect we'd get to the end of the campaign without more swings back and forth.

The last week, with the narrative about a swing in favour of Trump (I don't know if it is real or not) feels like this is another end of an episode type thing.

Tune in next week for…….. The sooner it comes and is over, the better.

it’s a pathetic meaningless statement that has stifled conversation and discussion on this thread

But it isn't, why shouldn't a light be shone on his ability and actions, I mean we know definitively what he is capable of in the role (and out of it), why shouldn't that reality be used to counter accusations against Harris that are clearly being made in judging her to a higher standard than Trump.

Every time, you hear 'but Trump', you should counter it with how the person is wrong, not demand they stop saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I have, and you are just telling porkie pies. We can all read.

The way polls are being used here to show Harris doing poorly as against Trump, I'm left wondering if Harris shouldn't pull a surprise out of the hat by doing a walkabout in a neighbourhood over the weekend doing a door to door "meet and greet" the actual electorate on their doorstep.

I know it'd be a longshot and things could go wrong if Trumpers got upset at her upstaging him but that's what her security and the cops are there to sort out. Any trouble from Trumpers would make headlines worth gold for Harris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭CliffHangeroner

Trump is a proven liar. I presume he'll do the complete opposite of what he says.

That's it for me guys off to NY until next Wednesday for a little getaway with my wife to see her family. Half blue and red family looking forward to some healthy debates.

Chat soon friends 💓

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,017 ✭✭✭✭briany

I would say, 'but Trump' if someone disingenuously starts talking about how bad Harris and/or the whole Democratic party is because it's always worth pointing out that Trump is the only one in the piece who incited a violent attack on the US Capitol. Usually this receives no response because there isn't really one, is there? It's the Trump card.

However, this isn't quite the same conversation as what Harris's strategy should be in the last two weeks of the election. I think most every voter knows what Trump is about. It may not hurt to drop reminders about who Trump is just to bring it back to the forefront of some dithering voters' minds, but the meat of it must be a strong, hopeful vision that rallies people and the positive things she intends to do. Something a bit electrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

And you think Trump is a supporter of Palestine over Israel? C'mon, baseline research will help you out with that one.

Lack of support for heroes in Ukraine? Remind us, how is that relationship between Trump and Putin again?

“Every time, you hear 'but Trump', you should counter it with how the person is wrong, not demand they stop saying it.”

Why should I do that?

The only place that matters is America and the only people that matter are American voters - if some poster on here gets off saying “but Trump” every second post to absolutely everything that’s said as a criticism about Harris campaign all they’re showing me is that they don’t have the ability to discuss and debate objectively -

we’re on an Irish website observing what’s going on in a democratic election in another country - this baiting and stifling conversation and trolling is just boring at this point and I’m calling it for what it is - it makes the thread a complete toxic environment to post- its back to “oh you criticised Harris you must be a Trump supporter so” sort of rubbish

are you not bored with that line yourself at this stage? Polls are neck and neck and “but Trump” is the best some posters can reply with - where this is a discussion forum - I haven’t once seen these posters opinion on why the polls are where they are - some posters are making honest attempts to try - and their discussions are being shot down with “but Trump” -ha ha ha -very witty

PS- Sky News this evening - Trump leading 4/6 battleground states and one tied - good luck with “but Trump”!

The thing is that no one accusing Harris of doing a poor job on what the Israeli Govt is doing in Gaza has put forward how a Trump administration would do any different to persuade or force that Govt to change tack. Trump has taken much the same tack on confronting Netanyahu's Govt on it's hostile treatment of Gaza as Biden and Harris, all because the US has it as part of it's foreign policy, regardless of which party has the administration, that Israel should not be destroyed by it's neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Chomsky's 'manufacturing consent' talked about media owners subtly affecting news and opinion by selecting journalists who would favour the owners interests. When that fails, the blunt instrument is to just veto the journalists and force them to do outright propaganda.

If the US media had any spirit left, this would cause a massive outcry, walkouts and strikes. But it won't because there is no real press freedom left

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

it would appear the “freedom” is gone - but then again I’m not entirely sure we have “free press” here either to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,230 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

He won't have a landslide victory. He might win the electoral college, or he might steal the election through the courts, like Bush JR did.

If that happens, we'll just all be along for the ride. Literally nothing we can do about it here in Ireland

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

I posted here a couple days ago of Trump being asked what he would do, if he wins, to help provide better childcare for people.

He spoke for 2.5 minutes and no one, can extract anything from what he said (I posted the transcript) that is even remotely identifiable as a policy.

So when people use the argument that they aren't fans of Harris because they don't know what policies she has, their hypocrisy deserves to be called out.

If Trump wins, and he well might, it isn't going to be the fault of Harris not communicating her policies, it will be the fault of those who ignored Trumps and still voted for him.

The die is close to having being cast, whatever is going to happen, is going to happen, it's possible that so many people have already their minds made up who they are voting for, and much more importantly, if they are going to vote, Harris has done very well in my book, not perfect, but who is, she's fighting against an electorate that do not want to believe the facts that are in front of them.

I used the Sanitation Commissioner episode from The Simpsons as well on this thread, if Harris loses, Like Frank Patterson, she can walk away with dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Dingaan

Donald Trump is clearly exhausted today. Oh shoot, that was last week's memo on talking points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

"I used the Sanitation Commissioner episode from The Simpsons as well on this thread, if Harris loses, Like Frank Patterson, she can walk away with dignity."

Me too. I even posted the transcript 😁

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Well firstly I’m in total agreement with you that she can walk away with her dignity intact if she loses- in fact I’ve said previously on this thread that the only people I would ultimately blame are dim supposed democrat voters who either didn’t vote or voted for an alternative candidate.

But yet I’m still being essentially labelled a “Trump supporter” - it’s boring and it’s bad faith posting at this stage .Ive made my position clear many times on this thread - I won’t be held hostage by some “gotcha” post (not yours btw) that’s just tiring at this point - and it won’t stop me criticising her strategy with two weeks to go and neck and neck polls - - if I feel it’s warranted- that I’m certain of

We won't know for a couple of weeks, definitely not until after the election, just exactly what the situation with the polls is.

There's been a lot of commentary that they are gamed, or at least are not as effective as they have been in the past. Personally I am not saying that, I simply don't know and there are very few people who I trust to truly have their finger on the pulse, it's too easy to game poll results, so who knows.

I'm fascinated at how so many can look at Trump and think he is the answer in spite of the absolute abundance of irrefutable evidence to the contrary. This isn't people hate CNN/MSNBC etc etc and so don't believe them or think they are pushing a narrative.

Trump's words, actions, thoughts have been published, by him, more than any President in history. Like with paying taxes, ignorance is not an excuse, the evidence is there, but people are choosing not to see that evidence, and that is interesting. And depressing and scary and frustrating and all the rest of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭nachouser

Posters on here, who are clearly anti-Harris keep saying she should be doing more. It's happening daily. She needs to reach out, she needs to spell out her policy on people who walk dogs and don't pick up their poop. It's nonsence.

“I'm fascinated at how so many can look at Trump and think he is the answer in spite of the absolute abundance of irrefutable evidence to the contrary”

Again Tell me How, I don’t disagree with you or indeed the rest of your post - and also I’ve asked that question myself here a few times but it’s usually shot down with “ah Trump supporters will worship him regardless” - the fact is, there’s a growing trend towards Trump - I’ve watched the news tonight - polls are not where they should be for Harris -

I don’t have an answer as to why the polls are the way they are- I tried to give my view earlier today but either ignored or “but Trump” reply 🤪

Anyway-,you’ve been respectful in your posts - we don’t have to agree on everything - thanks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep, I see the same thing on twatter. It's like a script they run through. Personally I think Harris is bland as feck and American election candidates need the razzmatazz and five second soundbites to both reach the hard of thinking and plough through the noise, but good jaysus Trump is dodgy as hell. Forgetting his record(not just criminal), his ex political and biz partners distancing themselves from him, or outright calling him well dodgy, hell even his running mate mentioned a certain Austrian corporal referencing him(I actually think Vance is more dangerous), you just have to listen to the guy speak for five or ten minutes and if someone can't see how dodgy he is I really don't know what to say. MAGA!!(hat Made in China)

What's puzzling(or maybe it isn't considering world history) is how so many people today seem so partisan, even cult like about their guy. Not just Trump. Look at the reality distortion field, nay hero worship, around someone like Musk. Imho a significant enough number of people actually want some sort of "benevolent dictator" so long as a) he's their guy and b) he's far enough away from their daily lives. Serfdom at a distance where you don't have to think too much.

We used to think if people had all the information of humanity at their fingertips humanity would be better and grow and think. Well now they do and it turns out we were wrong and conspiracy nuts, morons, firebrands and all the bad actors that would turn them to their purposes are the loudest voices and there appears to be a lot of them. Or rather their numbers are massively amplified by social media like Twatter and Arsebook. We here talk of the (re)emergence of a multipolar world, but imho we're missing that one "pole" out there is social media's reach and that's in the hands of a tiny number of very wealthy people.

Look at all the conspiracy nuts who think Bill Gates/WEF/Lizards/EU/Jews are a cabal out to control them, yet the same muppets worship Musk who is the Richest Man in The World©, gets massive cash from taxpayers, has access to world leaders and US secrets, is personally and publicly ploughing millions into directing the course of a democratic election(for a candidate that has openly said he'll end federal support for EV's. Eh…), while losing billions in the platform he bought to do it and wants to insert chips in people's brains(but vaccines are baaaad man PureBlood™). I mean WT actual F? Hell, I've seen utter windowlickers like flat earthers and moon landing deniers praise SpaceX because Musk's attached to it. I don't have enough palms or faces spare to express the level of my incredulity involved.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭embraer170

Musk talking to Putin regularly and dancing around in support of Trump. Giving his campaign tens of millions (and even far more than by with the whole Musk X machinery behind Trump).

LA Times, Washington Post refusing to endorse Harris because their owners fear of retaliation if Trump gets elected.

It is all rotten.

i really don’t care - I’ve given very clear views on this thread and I reserve the right to criticise Harris if I feel she’s going in the wrong direction based on time left in the campaign and the polls -

I’ve always maintained people who don’t pick up dog poop should be shot on sight 🤪

But seriously -I do think some of her policy as posted here on this thread in the last few hours is a mixed bag / some of it is clear and some of it is not at all policy, just cobbled together “aspirational “ crap - that’s coming from someone who doesn’t want to see Trump elected -,so yes, I think she needs to make more of an effort in some aspects ……GIVEN THE POLLS.,

If she were way ahead, then no, keep doing what you’re doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

National polls have both candidates tied 48% piece on a National poll ( popular vote) how the heck is this happening?

Unbelievable stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,571 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Regarding Harris calling Trump a fascist, this pretty much nails it

Yep- I think the “but Trumpers” are slowly hiding away at this stage -whilst America hasn’t spoken ….yet, it’s clear there are massive issues in America in terms of the direction that society wishes to go - I’m not sure they really know themselves as a country but Harris clearly hasn’t resonated as an alternative…..yet at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

I think most have made up their mind at this stage. Will be interesting to see the results that's for sure.

very revealing that’s for sure regardless of who “wins”