Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are we so fat?

I mean in Iceland. But with regard to the cold and dark here, yeah that's an excuse (unless it's a wild storm - although I was out walking in the fairly wild conditions last Sunday morning, I love windy Autumn weather) however, excuse or not, that is a reason why many people don't exercise for months every year.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭yagan

Plus when I was a kid and cars weren't ubiquitous we'd laugh at fat yanks who drove to the shop.

Now many forgo even a ten minute walk by taking the car to get their 2ltr of diet coke.

Hands up I live in a wealthy costal area of Ireland daily swimming is a big thing a very out door lifestyle, over weight people are rare, you never see over weight children so there must be a connection between an easily accessable outdoor lifestyle and weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,035 ✭✭✭jackboy

I would say it's mostly down to our terrible diet. Most food in supermarkets that are advertised and seen as healthy are highly processed junk. Maybe about 10% max of the food in a typical supermarket would really be fit for human consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭Marty Bird

Poor eating habits and eating ultra processed foods and the huge consumption of sugary drinks IMO are the main problems.

Its amazing that after a once in 100 year pandemic and all the focus on health. I’ve never seen so many fat adults and kids since then its crazy and getting worse by the day.

🌞6.02kWp⚡️3.01kWp South/East⚡️3.01kWp West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭batistuta9

so are we the amongst the strongest in Europe? lot of rugby lads would be overweight too though.

bmi is useful in a way, especially on whole populations. plenty who just dismiss it completely, standing with a belly on them like they're 10 months pregnant. Irish don't like being told they're overweight, that finnish doctor, eva something got a lot of hate

poland surprised me on the chart, the ones here women are slim & a lot of the men roid heads, maybe that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

What about more people working in offices these days, more sitting behind a desk and snacking on junk etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

All the fat birds still thinking they have the same figure they had when they were 18?

I find the best way to reduce your own number is to get Dr. Ronny to measure it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,045 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Diet and sitting on our holes mainly.

The weather is just an excuse for laziness and more hole-sitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Anyone who is overweight eats too much, be it healthy or crap food, there's plenty of people with sedentary lifestyles who are not overweight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,035 ✭✭✭jackboy

I don't know anyone who is obese on a solely healthy diet. It reminds me of an obese girl at work who claims it's down to her metabolism, and says she eats salad for lunch everyday. Yes, she eats salads a lot but stuffs her face with buns and sweets at her desk for the rest of the day. Metabolism my eye.

why do so many Irish people hate themselves and anything Irish that might be a better question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,983 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Because your ma keeps feeding me cream cakes after i've fcuked her

Well in a roundabout way, an Gorta Mor has a lot to answer for.

Well it's a separate topic to this, but yes it's very much a thing.

Dr. Eva could be a right cu*t though. If you're a doctor, your duty is of course to encourage patients to get themselves to a healthy weight, eat nutritious food and keep active, however that's totally possible without yelling at them.

But yeah I dislike dismissal of BMI. Most people aren't built like rugby players.

This evening it was pitch dark by 7pm and bucketing down. I'd bet not one person who says the weather is an excuse went out running in it. It is an excuse but a fair one. No excuse for being plonked on your hole between May and September though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,803 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

You more or less answered the question . I grew up in the country where to get to shops / villages meant a walk or cycle. Plus we grew our vegetables and picked mushrooms from the fields , fruit from the hedges and orchards . We had sandwiches for school lunches and never went to fast food joints during school . The ability of people to source their own food has completely disappeared . Even in the 80’s and 90’s people from villages would forage about the land and lake . Why do that when you can ring just eat to deliver a load of processed crap to your door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Im big boned.🫠

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭User567363

All the people talking about exercise are wrong, sure a mars bar has more calories then youd lose running 4km

People need to learn anything sweet is bad, just cut out sweets, treats, sauce, and drinks and before long everything will taste better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭blackbox

I eat too much.

very sad and as obesity related diseases continue to increase, the outlook looks very bleak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭banie01

BMI as others have mentioned isn't a great measure. There's a move towards the BRI (Body Roundess Index) as a better alternative measure of chonkiness. Try the calculator here

As an example, my BMI is 27.5 but, my BRI is 4.92. BRI is being used in my Endocrinologist clinic as a more reliable measure of body & metabolism.

On the topic of the "Why" we as a nation are getting fatter. While the famine itself was a 170yrs ago, Ireland's age of plenty didn't really begin until the 1990's. Until then the volume of processed foods and snacks, let alone excess calories was miniscule. One of my own abiding memories of my childhood, is having enough but never extra.

A few interesting studies on the genetics of populations descended from famine survivors points to increased risks of metabolic issues such as increased adipose and body fat along with hyperglycaemia and other adaptations to "store" fat and calories in at least 2 succeeding generations.

By that measure, we are hitting our post lean times peak. Couple that with the usual suspects of cars, poor public transport and sedentariness? We are IMHO at the peak of the 2 generation post shortage blow out. Health and fitness are becoming more focused upon than ever. But, the advent of skinny jabs and the medicalisation of treating obesity via GLP1s and similar rather than diet & exercise come with risk too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Agree. We're getting fatter and less healthy because we're eating more. Ready meals, food available 24/7, home deliveries, eating out more often, larger packets and bottles of everything in supermarkets. Everything is bigger, even coffee cups and crockery. We must be the marketing guys dream consumers, we buy into the hype that we need more, bigger, better, super-sized, whether its food, motors, media, clothing, all kinds of stuff, just more of everything.

Years ago, society had a negative view of people being overweight, magazine models, celebrities, tv actors and personalities, and many in the public eye were generally thinner. Now it's not seen as a problem if a person is overweight here because there are so many overweight people on tv and in the media, and joe public sees it as perfectly ok because it's so common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭endacl

The weather’s not shite. It’s just weather. Jaysus. People are awful soft.

very true for you. However, people need to realise, being fat is not ok for health reasons nor it never will be.

Often we read of people who lead very long healthy lives are those who stop eating after 5 or 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭CliffHangeroner

People where tougher years ago. One small example is you'd regularly see women walking back from doing food shopping with 2 bags being carried on each side could be a 2klms walk each way and now they drive a massive SUV as close to the shop door as possible and fill it to the brim with all sorts of crap they wouldn't have bought years ago.

Even cycling now is easier with electric bikes and scooters everywhere meaning people don't burn as much energy getting to their destination. don't think ranting and raving about public transport is the answer either look at NY or London for example world class public transport systems and they've massive problems with unhealthy people also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Hooked

THIS.

We don't move anymore. Sedentary lifestyles…

I'm 46. Have seriously changed my diet the last year… cut WAY back on my drinking. But I can't get away from the fact that from 9-5.30, 5 days a week I'm in a chair. Sure - I play a few games of ball a week and I'm relatively fit. But all those other days in front of the screen, at home on the couch or lying in bed - ain't good for us.

We need to move more. MUCH more.

Also - that BMI scale is utter nonsense. After a recent heart screening lately I was classed as obese. Not overweight… OBESE. I'm 6'2" and have a big frame - wide shoulders. In my 20's when I was running the roads 3 days a week and at my lightest I was 14 stone and fit as a fiddle. I'm now 46, and 16 stone. Sure, I've a stone at least to shift… I know that.

But the BMI telling me I should be 12 stone 7… will ya F OFF…