Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,009 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

you and other posters have an intense dislike of Farrell

I literally don't. I don't even necessarily agree with Dubinusa on this.

My point is, I don't think he's remotely sh1tting on Farrell here (different tone or otherwise).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Firstly, thank you for not even bothering to deny that you're selectively quoting things to be disingenuous. Maybe this is the start of a new period of openness and transparency between us. Glasnost, if you will.

I don't even necessarily agree with Dubinusa on this.

The word "necessarily" is doing a lot of heavy lifting there. You could just say "I agree with him", the meaning is the same and you'd save yourself a bit of typing. #lifehack

I don't think he's remotely sh1tting on Farrell here (different tone or otherwise).

The "sh1tting all over" comment referred to a lot more posters than him, btw.

I don't hate Farrell.

I'm not being disingenuous.

I don't agree every with everything Dubinusa is saying (tho I agree with some things).

But I'm absolutely certain he's not "sh1tting all over Farrell".

Disagree by all means, but all too often, you lump any criticism of Farrell as "sh1tting all over" him. It's not.

I don't know how much clearer I can be.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I feel like if the "development" players had been just added as full squad members there would be less of an issue for many people - even though it fundamentally wouldn't change anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,586 ✭✭✭OldRio

I personally think some people just love the misery. Even when it's not there.

I mean what the feck would Farrell know about rugby or leadership or how to maintain and improve a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,683 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Moore hasn't made more than 10 apps a season for Ulster since the 2021 season. I'm not a director of rugby, but I can't imagine Ulster's grand plan was to have him starting TH and switch TOT to LH.

Oh yeah and they signed a world cup winning loose head on big money too in the meantime.

So how about you take your own advice on acting the prick.

you lump any criticism of Farrell as "sh1tting all over" him

This is the absolute textbook definition of disingenuousness. (Disingenuity?) Nowhere have I said that any criticism is unwarranted, you know that full well.

The exact point I was making - which again, you've completely ignored - is that none of the criticism of Farrell on the Healy issue has been supported by a plausible alternative course of action. That is not reasonable criticism or fair comment.

I don't know how much clearer I can be.

You're being very clear, don't worry about that. It is very obvious what you think.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,373 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

none of the criticism of Farrell on the Healy issue has been supported by a plausible alternative course of action.

dubinusa has said their alternative is to throw lads in at the deep end and see if they can swim.

thats the level of discussion youre up against in here.

Nowhere have I said that any criticism is unwarranted, you know that full well.

Correct, you haven't. You've went straight to "sh1tting all over Farrell". That's exactly my point.

You've went straight to "sh1tting all over Farrell".

No, I didn't. I have plenty of posts further up in the thread which discuss the selection issues in this squad. Feel free to peruse them at your leisure when the red mist clears.

I mean, if you define "going straight" to something as maybe my tenth comment on day 2 of the debate, then we fundamentally disagree on the basics of the English language which may go some distance to explaining your issues with me.

I don't have an issue with you, FFF.

I have an issue with your persistent "sh1tting all over Farrell" almost any time there's criticism of Farrell.

And I don't have an issue with you, I have an issue with posters deliberately and selectively quoting and distorting things to suit a false narrative that's going on what, two or three years now?

Apart from all that, we should get a beer some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Bromance Rugby forum style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

POM should do the team a favour and retire before the next six nations. He’s holding back so many players development. His spot is protected by his silly IRFU contract.

1. Andy Farrell picks the team.
    2. POM was literally on the bench against SA.
    3. He doesn't have a central contract.

Well this marks a nice change from the "it is scandalous he doesn't have a central contract as captain" argument last year.

He's not really holding anyone back and is clearly in the process of being phased out. Lest we forget he was already dropped to the bench as tour captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Novfith

In an interview with the Irish Times, Sexton confirmed that he is unlikely to go into coaching after he retires.

Sexton stated, “I would never say never, you never know what life is going to throw at you. It wouldn’t be my plan straight away, if an offer came in, it wouldn’t be right for me to coach with guys I played with the last number of years.”

He also mentioned that he wouldn’t want to jeopardize his relationships with the players he coached by having played with them previously.

Sexton went on to explain that rugby has been his passion, and he has been involved in it for 20 years, since he was a kid. However, he feels that it is essential to step away from it to try another walk of life, and then see what happens.

He intends to go into the business world and see if that suits him. He mentioned that he has been doing a bit of work experience there over the last few years, one day a week, so he will delve into it and see how it goes.

Sexton acknowledges that business may not be for him, and he may get the itch straight away and come out of retirement to play for St Marys. 

I find it strange Sexton is back in some capacity as he said he said it wouldn't be right for him to coach players he played with.

Reading between the lines, I would say the corporate world isn't for Jonny and the IRFU are fitting him in somewhere to give him a nice pay packet.

Like I just don't see what this 'consultancy' role is about other than that. If it goes well during the Autumn, does he then just give that up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Unhinged my ring. Marty Moore retiring meant O'Toole had to stay on as th. The plan nuts, was for him to switch over.

why can’t he be phased out right now? What’s holding it back? He’s been injured for months, he doesn’t have the seem mobility he used to have and the best 6 in Ireland is max deegan.

We'll go nowhere quickly if we are relying on Porter to play 65 to 80 minutes. Healy is a 15 minute player at this level. These tests are a good chance to try other options. Not having a go at faz. Disappointed though

and the best 6 in Ireland is max deegan.

This is a big claim.

The best 6 in Ireland is either Doris or Beirne, but even if they're playing other positions, we have Baird, Prendergast and Izuchukwu in the squad as young and talented blindsides. Dropping POM doesn't help Deegan get ahead of them and that's his first obstacle.

Deegan has been playing well in the first few rounds of the URC, but his career has been pretty unspectacular up to now, let's be honest.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ah we'll be grand. Just no luck with injuries at LH and the next crop coming through should be ready in the next year or two.

Lads like Boyle and Usanov are, hopefully, the future. In the meantime we have a few stopgaps who can do a job. It's more important that our handling is good enough to avoid too many scrums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,683 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

What do u consider **** on Faz? Is he beyond criticism? Btw, I appreciate Faz and fully support him. Back in the early days of his reign, I supported him and advised others to be patient.

Bagmen is a poor term. Apprentices would be better. Yes, this squad is old and will crumble without a bit of new life. Age doesn't discriminate. It's just my thoughts and there's no need to get into attack mode. Like every other poster here, my viewpoints are my own, as are yours and if we differ, that's fine.

Thanks Syd.

We are going around in circles. Attack mode is the order of the day. Let's see how we go this autumn? After this block, we will see where we are.

beirne is a second row for Ireland, Doris is our number 8

Beirne started at 6 for Ireland in our most recent game.

At a minimum, he's an option there.

I'm far from POM's biggest fan, but we don't even know if he will be in the matchday squads yet and was dropped to the bench for our most recent game despite being captain.

Prendergast, Izuchukwu and Baird are all young 6s and in the squad.