Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Damien360

He wasn't great for the final 2 seasons. Way off pace. It was his time to leave by the end of the season before but Klopp it seemed wanted him. That's probably a fairer reflection of him rather than good/bad. A good captain but not much use on the pitch technically by the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

That Reece James one was ridiculous too. It was obvious in real time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭brevity

they will probably have more detailed analysis in their podcast later in the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭CliffHangeroner

Jones for me starts now in place of Szobo on form alone. Szobo may have a better engine but he is very frustrating in the final 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

How far away is Elliott? He'd definitely be getting games ahead of Sob and Jones IMO.

Better attacking wise, probably a little weaker defensively though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,140 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Slot loves Jones, so Elliott might have a little work to do to get ahead of him - but he'll be in the mix for sure. Will be great to have him back. Jones being able to play the deeper role as well as the attacking midfield role will see him play an awful lot I think anyway though, so plenty of room for both.

Elliott's expected to be back either later this month or earlier next month. Probably mid-November at least before he's fit to start you'd think though.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Little true/false Klopp quiz for you...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cj9jp9lwwmno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,917 ✭✭✭mormank

I'm finally getting around to watching the highlights of yesterday's game and can someone tell me how on earth Jones didn't get a penalty for when Sanchez completely took him out??? You can't just go through a player just cos you touched the ball, that's crazy!

Can you imagine if van dijk just completely swiped someone's legs out from underneath him with full force after barely touching the ball. That would be a free kick 100% of the time imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

There was a time when I'd have said great tackle, but I thought if you took man even with ball first it's a free these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Enzokk

Yeah, if that was a defender outside the box that takes out a player that is through on goal due to a deflection off the same defender it will be a red card. Surely they need to take into consideration where the ball ended up and not focus on him getting the touch.

The joke is, if there was no touch but Jones moved the ball away from the keeper and into a worse position, penalty. The keeper touches the ball and it ends up behind him with Jones on goal in a better position, no penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭dogbert27

That's what happened to VVD away to Newcastle last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Nyoni signed his first professional contract with Liverpool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Robert2014

For me, I think the penalty that is given is the weakest one of all the potential ones. I think Liverpool could have had 3 penalties and Chelsea one. I'm not sure how you can give that foul for Reece James and then say Salah dived. It's just people believing or setting an narrative. Saka or Foden gets that penalty imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

I’d a kid’s birthday at the weekend, so I only saw bits and pieces on Sunday, so I watched it back last night.

It was in interesting set up from Slot. The objective was clearly to sacrifice possession to allow Cheslea on the ball and try hit them on the counter. I though that was quite clever as Chelsea have been the most potent team in the transition this year when they turn over the opposition, and I was quite worried that they would score a few against us playing that way. But I felt this really nullified them, they toiled a lot on the ball, and bar 1 or 2 moments we were quite comfortable throughout. Trent, Konate and Virgil were all excellent. As was Grav and Jones just ahead.

Whereas we could have had another 1 or 2, the non peno which was 50/50, but the offside goal and the Gakpo chance, after an excellent counter and brilliant Salah pass should really have been executed better.

We won the midfield battle which was crucial, but Dom in particular was guilty of some poor passing options, I’ve also noticed he is covering a ridiculous amount of ground, this is clearly affecting his technique in some situations, there was 2 situations in the 2nd half where he took the wrong option, but on re watch he was just off the back of 2 full burst sprints from one end of the pitch to the other. He surely won’t be able to keep that up over a full season.

Nunez was actually a difference maker, he had his usual brain farts here and there, but the 2 Chelsea centre-halves were clearly uncomfortable with him throughout. I wasn’t overly impressed with any of Chelsea back 5.

It was a fairly professional performance against and good side, one we could have won by more but for some poor execution in the final 3rd, after initial great build up.

Post edited by Ottoman_1000 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,367 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Results saving Slot from any criticism at the moment, but playing to defend a lead at home is not going to cut it when results go wrong. We've been so reserved under Slot, and considering what we thought we were getting it's a little bit disappointing .

Opinions on Slot before he ever became manager

''

They are hoping that Slot’s brilliant record at AZ Alkmaar and Feyenoord translates to the Premier League..

And they are betting on Slot’s “crazy, sexy football", picking up where Klopp left off.

Slot’s high-energy, hard-pressing and possession-centric attacking tactics will be familiar to all Liverpool fans.

Slot’s aggressive, front-foot attacking football has a heavy focus on utilising the wingers to attack from out wide, creating opportunities for cutbacks while stretching the opposition defense

Perhaps the most instantly recognizable feature of Slot’s football – and surely the trait that caught Liverpool’s eye – is his ultra-aggressive, ultra-intense pressing.

“When we don’t have the ball, we want to win it back as quickly as possible by being aggressive and pressing to win back possession,”

Where is that guy

83e50f6b9d1003d69b37ac9f71cd1105_w200.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

I don't know where that guy is, but I'm happy with the guy that's won 10 of 11 and has us top of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,330 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

rumours that VVD wants a contract to 2027 on his current salary - 220k a week.

if true, no brainer. i don't see him falling off a cliff soon, and you'll see this version of him until at least the end of the 2025/26 season. That extra year should be out of a bit of respect, and he still might be elite at that stage anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

If that's true, I honestly think he's undervaluing himself. Easily worth 250k a week even at the later stages of his career.

If that deal can be done, it should be done yesterday. Best defender in the world, hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

I’d love if that is the case. 220k a week in the grand scheme of things is a bargain for 2 more years of Virgil. Not with 150m and 350k a week could we come close to replacing him within the next 12 months!

I re-watched the game last night and the guy is just ridiculous. Without doing anything stand out, the guy is just a freak. Wins every header, reads the game unbelievable well, like how many times does he actually have go to ground to make a tackle?? It’s very very rare. Never gets beats for pace either, even though he never seems to be sprinting after anyone. Most importantly, he exudes an aura of calm around him which benefits everyone else.

Another takeaway from yesterday, and it has been the case for most of this seasons so far. But Virgil, Trent and Salah were comfortable 3 of the most influential players on the pitch yesterday, considering the contract craic going on the background, at least it does not seem to be yet having any effect. I've never seen Salah track back as much as he did in that 2nd half, he was clearly instructed too, but still, its nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Thats a bargain if those are the terms he is looking for. I see no risk in that and I'm sure the data would back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jem

For me it the sence of calmness that he brings. Silva played to nearly 40 , you cant teach class

Exactly, and barring injury I don't see a huge drop off in VVD levels over the next 2 years. Nd even in that department he's very robust to be fair, only when a certain infant armed keeper try to break his leg, is the only time he badly broke down.

I think he would be the biggest loss out of the 3 players currently up for renewal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

I'm beginning to think Chiesa was just brought in to keep the medical team busy after Thiago left...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,140 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

With no preseason, i'd say it'll be the new year before we see him regularly, even if he gets back into the squad sooner. Better they properly put him through his paces to have him in the latter half of the season when we'll need to rotate, than to rush him into things now and have him break down.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

It was always going to be 'wait and see' with Chiesa. Different tempo of football and no pre-season but they'll get him up to speed (hopefully).

Regardless for that price it had to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

And, in his brief cameos, I'd say there's already signs of him being a good signing. Fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Another injury for Arsenal last night with Calafiori limping off.

Mightn’t be a bad time to be playing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭MICKEYG

It's his passing as well. He breaks the lines a lot. See his pass to Gravenbach for the disallowed goal vs MU and the pass before the 2nd goal on Sunday.