Sinn Fein and how do they form a government dilemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

All of it was covered by the media so the tweet is in fact doing the opposite of what Chris_P_Bacon on X was trying to do. He is just too stupid to realise that. I do love these idiots always have a load of flags after their names. As if anyone gives a s**t if some plonker on twitter sticks a flag after their name, I bet he used to go around with the crossbones all those dopes did for a few months.

I dont vote for John McGahon. Its the voters choice.

Its the latest bout of whataboutery. It never changes

So anything to back up the political motivation claim? or just going to throw out random cases over the last 30 years for a reason Im not too sure why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

I never asked if you would vote for John McGahon, I asked if you think FG should be running him as a candidate in the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,980 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Shinners have imploded on themselves, good that the electorate had a chance the see the real party behind the masks.

The obsession with John McGahon by SF supporters is hilarious, no matter what the topic is bring it back to John. Is it because when he was court over the assault it was a PIRA smuggler who was involved in it? is that what the obsession is about?

If people don't want him they won't vote him in. I wouldn't vote for him and I don't think he should be a politician.

But Im sure you will continue to talk about him and post about him at the same time as defending a lot worse been done by SF.

You also are slagging off a TD, but at the same time have no problem lying and spreading fake news about a TD online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

But when it suits SF to run to a station to do an investigation to look good in the media or deflect from their own ways of carrying on and use a barrister to deliver it after the horse had bolted from the party. Talking out of both side of the mouth, and another thing voters aren’t foolish and certainly Mary’s run the referendum again is being remembered by women and rural voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,779 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Seems they can't win.
    Are you saying they shouldn't have brought it to the Gardai?

What 'ways' do they carry on? Have you details of how the internal investigation was run?

Scrambling and its funny to see.

I wonder what McMurphy and his 20 accounts think of this 😂

Would it not be true to say that the folk depending on tropes and debunked trash-talk are the ones 'scrambling'?

Must be different here to everywhere else where people have to depend on tropes, trash talk and unbacked up opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭pureza

Both of those were covered by the media extensively at the time and are mentioned ad nauseum on these threads

I understand a criminal conviction was not received in the twix case and IIRC in the civil case 30%-40% of the compensation figure was reduced as the judge divided up the blame

Both cases were fully in the public domain which is another distinction with the SF cases

The fact yer man is running for Fine Gael in the next election with his less than Stellar reputation is interesting,it’ll certainly tell us what voters in Louth think of him

SF’s current travails are to be fair just a storm at the moment,they are the main opposition,they are not going to go down in seat numbers at the next election

I wouldn’t mind the views in this place,they are activist views mostly from people like all on social media that would argue with their own farts

I’m not buying the SF are doomed lines.

Simon will get a surprise and it’s not one he’d like. People will only focus when the campaign is on and SF will be rising

The polls are only a guide close to election which is what we are at now

Last time around FG fell like a stone and it was reflected in the election

Why do you think it will be different for SF? If anything I would expect another few skeletons to fall out of the wardrobe in the next few weeks

Plus the bigger issue for SF is once the election starts then people look at policies, SF bag of spanner’s will be quickly pulled to pieces and they won’t be able to just pass it on to the next interview.
    Between that and the online army in overdrive abusing everyone and anyone I am wondering why you think this will suddenly turn around for SF?

FG will be highest percentage this time, they'll form a government with FF, 5 or so % points behind where they were in 2020.

They'll have enough to go in together on their own(or is it 'in as one' now?) hopefully, no whipping boys an girls to take the blame.

The ever burgeoning arrogance of power will do the rest.

Francie makes yet another prediction after years and years and years and years of mkaing predictions and all of them wrong.

Will this one be right? who knows but I doubt it.

The one constant in politics, the so called "interested in politics" account on boards haven't a clue what is going on in Ireland or with the population. Funny to watch

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

SF don’t have any serious policies ready for this election and that’s if all the other stuff hadn’t happened. My only recollection of anything they’ve come out with is “Tine For Change”, whatever that actually means, and O’Broin’s stupid housing plan which I’d say even the people he’s aiming it at realise is a load of bollox. In the meantime SF have spent they’d time doing their best to put various sections of society against each other. In truth the one actual policy they have is reunification. Lots of voters have had enough prior to this week but by now I’d say those who were still on the bandwagon ate jumping off it considering there options. They ahead have a core support base but you’d even question if they’re happy now as well. Not good really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Personally I'd like to be able to buy a house in this country at some point in time and SF seem to be the only ones with an actual realistic plan to make them affordable.

I really couldn't care less about the drama with Brian Stanley, there's so much unknown about that situation it's impossible to form an opinion on who did or didn't act appropriately. At the very least it seems members of SF are actually held to account for their actions which is more than can be said for Paschal Donohoe taking direction from Israel, Simon Coveney inventing jobs for Zappone at the taxpayers expense, the lad with the twix bar or the ignored abuses of power from Niall Collins and Robert Troy in FF.

30 years later and FG still haven't gone to the gardai about the dealings of Michael Lowry, it's really some neck for them to try and hold opposition parties to a higher standard than they do for their own members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Oh, we still talking about Dear Leader Gerry Adams not being in the IRA, despite overwhelming evidence. Even ex-IRA lads claim that he was.

The arrogance of voters surely?

Does anyone this year voting FF or FG not know what they are voting for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I think the statute of limitations came in decades ago on whatever may or may not have been done backin Lowrys time,the legislation may have been different too and of course mass media & social media were in their infancy compared to today

I personally like the SF housing idea except for the banks as far as I know not agreeing to lend if the land is not part of the deal

I don’t like that and would like to see evidence of the model working in other countries

You’d need a state owned bank I’d say and with the exception of the bail out,EU rules might be a problem there?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

In truth the one actual policy they have is reunification.

I don't think this is even a policy - more of a goal and not one which they are likely to achieve given how the likes of MLMD mouthing off about it only serves to worry the unionist community.

Personally I'd like to be able to buy a house in this country at some point in time and SF seem to be the only ones with an actual realistic plan to make them affordable.

If you say so! 🙄

I really couldn't care less about the drama with Brian Stanley, there's so much unknown about that situation it's impossible to form an opinion on who did or didn't act appropriately.

Well the SF fans on here certainly know which side to support. They've spent days defending the party line on this (and doing their best to tarnish BS).

Maíríe Cahill is saying the teenager who received messages was 16 at the time. SF are saying he was 17. I know which one I’d believe.

Plus, given the age of the recipient and that NOD spent much of his time in Dublin, SF should have notified the gardai and failed to do so. In addition, he continued to access LH, continued to be paid, continued to receive expenses. It's almost like SF didn't prioritise it.

Her book Rough Beast is a genuinely horrifying look into the depravity of the Provos and SF. A rape victim being brought before her attacker in a grotty room above a pub in Belfast. The threats, the hatred of the police, the party above everyone and everything.

You are forgetting that the previous leader of SF stood by while his paedophile brother worked in youth clubs (in Gerry's constituency) and did not inform the police. In addition, GA ignored requests from one of his brother's victims to stop him working with children.
    Given how the fanbase idolise GA, should anyone really be surprised with anything we hear about SF?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,980 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

^

Glad somebody sees through those imposters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,570 ✭✭✭✭L1011

SFs housing plan is to subsidize the construction of unmortgagable properties and hope they can wheedle a bank in to lending on them. Not much of a plan even if they did publish the bulk of a book on how they think they can do it.

Well the SF fans on here certainly know which side to support. They've spent days defending the party line on this (and doing their best to tarnish BS).

SF voters in supporting SF shocker!

SF have laid out their 'line' with as much detail as they can give about the process. It would be totally wrong of them to reveal what the various complaints were at this stage and before the Gardai look at it. That is actually protecting Stanley as much as it the complainant.

Stanley has countered with allegations and has revealed zero detail to support those allegations. He has also made an allegation (abusing privilege) that is wholly and factually wrong.
    I have said if Stanley proves his allegations then the situation will need to be reassessed. That's where we are at.

*I don't and never have idolised anyone, Adams is a flawed leader with all the human frailties and mistakes that leaders make and I never voted for SF with him as leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,550 ✭✭✭JVince

I take it you didn't read their plan.

Developers tried to keep a straight face when asked for their comments. Banks just refused to answer.

The ONLY way to bring house prices down is to build build build. The planning system was unfit, thankfully this is changing imminently. Still not perfect but way way way better.

Services need to be supplied and infrastructure needs to be built to allow for new commuter towns close to the main cities. Seven Mills is an example, and at some point it would be great to see a new town on the Odlum lands past Rathcoole with a rail spur.

61,000 housing starts this year. Needs the same for a few years.

sf plan was to reverse all the progress and start with their walter mitty type ideas that have zero chance of working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,765 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It does seem that SF have conjured multiple other controversies to distract people away from their housing plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mikep

The biggest issue for me in the housing plan is their assertion that the state will build the houses .

I'm assuming that this will be done using local authority personnell.

That's going to have to result in massive pay rises for local authority labourers and foremen etc

This will then precipitate massive pay claims across the public service.

Costs will be astronomical!!

Rapist and paedofiles are terrible

But if they are a SF rapist and paedofile then its ok.

That seems to be the thought process of the Sinn fein supporters.

The amount of excuses and rubbish posted across boards for years defending what Adams did is incredible.

The amount of abuse and comments made about Mairia Cahill not just on boards but on every social media across Ireland

It would be the same if the victims in this case came out, how dare they sully the name of Sinn Fein.

Disgusting. It won't stop either, Im sure we will have more excuses and comments trying to defend Adams and belittle what he actually did as if it was something anyone would do. As I said disgusting.

I voted for the GFA. I voted for those involved in a conflict/war (involving many sides) to get involved in democratic politics.
    I fully recognised that that was going to be a difficult path to negotiate and would not happen overnight and that there would be baggage.
    I never cared if Adams was in the IRA or not from the point of view that what earthly difference would it have made if he was or not?
    I do think that overall he has led his party, post the GFA, well and has navigated that 'difficult path' well. On the one hand keeping disparate views in his own party onside and on the other embracing democratic means.