Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Have they not just become another outlet for the "Perma-outraged" crew?

I don't agree with everything they say, I won't pay for it and don't like some of their presenters. But its one of those "I'll turn off what I don't want to listen to" situations.

I've definitely moved off with Joe though and I think OTB will be in the distant memory very soon. I do think Eoin Sheahan and Will are doing a good job on the evening show, just Joe is producing better content.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Mod Note

Right there is a load of posting going on that most people here know is outside the charter. There will be no further warnings or explanations, read the charter, post better, no personal attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sub3wannabe

Genuine question. Do OTB have some sort of deal that they must showcase the WSL for a certain quota? Not being funny but women's football is a complete non entity within my friends group. None of the girls or lads partners care either. It just feels like there's an undeserved emphasis on it for its current status.

I understand the theory of promoting something with exposure to try and stimulate interest but does seem totally disproportionate on OTBs part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,747 ✭✭✭Allinall

Maybe your friends group aren’t the target audience for OTB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭deisedude

There was a campaign called 20×20 where all media platforms were supposed to increase media coverage of womens sport by 20%. Assuming it's a direct result of that

We're majority, lads in our 30s who are sports fanatics. I would imagine we're the definition of any sports shows target demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

That's what I was thinking too, noticeable alot of the content related to female sports doesn't go behind the paywall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,210 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

We're the definition of any sports shows target demographic.

So what, all women should stop playing soccer because you or your mates have no interest?

Give it another 5-10 years and maybe some of you will have daughters who are looking for role models and maybe the penny will drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,508 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

They're trying to promote women's sport and should be commended for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,600 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The GAA don't do marketing the reality is they don't need to, if they did they could really take over. Their financial structure is sound the connections with business is there. More importantly GAA is tied to the community.

People go to to games at various levels. Those involved are educated and have a certain level of business acumen. The same can be said for Rugby at an even higher level, private schools a culture of high achieving in life . It is one of the failures of soccer in Ireland that is rarely spoken about lack of education and acumen, from the soccer the attitude is more "poor me" than what can I do how can I/we improve? And the soccer supporters seem more interested in the glamour/franchise businesses of the English Premier League. Where is the loyalty and community? That is no foundation to build on.

It is not lost on me that the FAI has to hire in foreign CEO's to run soccer because the talent in Ireland is just not there. Simply put they have no cop on. If they did soccer would be flying since around the 40's/50's etc when Drums v Bohs drew in massive crowds. But their chance slipped.

You can't really begrudge organisations that are well run they deserve everything they get. I am not into Rugby myself, but if they want to fawn about it and pat each other on the back let them at it. You can hardly say the IRFU is badly run can you?

Plus it always makes me laugh that the ownership of Landsdowne Road will revert to the IRFU when the lease is up. And the FAI will be "homeless" again. I can remember the soccer "diehards" laughing when the GAA rebuilt Croke Park. The chat was that the GAA would go bust and the FAI will be able to take over that is the type of mindset you get among the soccer fraternity.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

I don think its a case that the talent is not there - more that any talented people will not touch the FAI job with a bargepole. The whole thing is so politicized that it makes the motions in a county board agm look harmless. Add to that the reality of the FAI being part of even bigger sets of political swimming pools in UEFA and FIFA, where Delaney was doing very well and who would have left friends behind in HQ. You are right about the "Woe is me" phenom what afflicts the FAI though - covered very well in the "only a game" book whereby a chancer mediocre businessman like Delaney was able because of his fathers connections to take over so easily whilst actual successful businessmen on a national and international scale were shafted very quickly (and with the assistance of the likes of Bertie Ahern).

Anyhow, this is slightly off topic, so to get back OT the OTB lads seemed a bit relieved after Sunday to be able to get back into Helgar bashing again, and they do promote womens soccer/GAA/Rugby as a groundwork for the future and that is to be commended. You can always just listen to a pod during those bits if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,600 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Think I read that one, and "beyond the green door" https://www.amazon.co.uk/Beyond-Green-Door-Years-Inside/dp/1841316369.

All the moaning soccer wise has put me off OTB even more than usual to be honest. I lost patience with them when Kenny was there they were terrified to call a spade a spade. A lot of their chat went from aspirational to the pie in the sky. More "off the wall" than "off the ball".

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Chun the Unavoidable

last night OTB did a very interesting thing - they did almost two hours on the topic of rule changes in sports down the years and how they worked out. There was one odd bit though which was an obsession by the host to claim that the elimination of the backpass to the keeper rule in football was because of Jack Charlton's Ireland team and in specific the Egypt game in Italia 90. (Now, this sort of thing isnt unique to OTB Ciaran Murphy on Second Captains can also grasp one thing as a holy grail for days on end only to drop it when the other lads just do the sensible thing and ignore him). The football expert kind of humored this first mention which was a bad idea, and he kept mentioning it again and again.

The whole segment was to me a great example of a modern sports presenter who doesnt know anything about what they are talking about and their research seems to consist of a few you tube clips they watched earlier that day (a wonderful example is Danica Patrick on Sky Sports F1). I guess he missed the 1991 European Cup final which was the absolute nadir of that era of terrible football and which the RTE lads slated so badly that it made the Egypt game look like Barcelona in their pomp.

For balance - Game On was terrible again last night. Poor aul Greg Allen was named as the producer but publicly shaming him like that didnt have the effect it should have. The presenter started off by speaking like he was actually talking on radio into a mic, then passed to ruby who sounded like he was trussed up in a sack in the corner of the studio. "mmmmm mummmm sligo nnnn" said ruby, I think. I noted that I had to turn the volume up to 44 on the car radio to try and understand what he was muttering about off mic. Not that its just him, they had a lad on from England on the phone on Monday who sounded like he was ringing in a bomb threat from a phone box in 1974 with a hankie over the phone mouthpiece. Can they not attach a mic to the lads so we can hear what they're saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 jimbob2223

That's gas on the rule changes topic. I think it was mentioned in passing on Molloy's podcast last week as a topic that would be good to cover. The OTB lads obviously doing a bit of research.

On another note, all of the Irish sports podcasts/shows seem to blending into one with similar contributors/topics covered across the board. I don't listen really listen to OTB anymore, but have listened to the Indo Sport and subscribe to Second Captains. The latter two are essentially the same podcast the way it has worked out with similar structures, contributors and topics covered.

I'd appreciate if you didn't put words in my mouth.

Women participation in sport is fantastic. That being said surely a sports shows remit is to present content that is of most interest to It's consumers.

I do agree that a small portion of spotlight on niche stuff has value in terms of encouraging interest however let's be real. The WSL is not worthy of the coverage it gets or most women's sports for that matter.

It's obviously a very woke and progressive position to be against this argument I'm simply telling the hard truth from what I experience talking to my friends, colleagues etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,508 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I suppose its like my example. Just making dumb irrational and illogical decisions based off an attempt to virtue signal your progressiveness to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,447 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Is that their role though? I've always believed that it's up to the sports organisations themselves to promote their sport and not up to others.

And that's not just women's sport. When Colm Murray was in the rte sport newsroom he used to relentlessly push horse racing. "and first to racing" was the way it used to go. Head wrecking, especially when 99% of those interested just wanted to see a few PL goals or the gaa results. Broadcasting should be about catering to the mass interest not pandering or pushing a personal one or telling your audience what they should be interested in this.

The truth is that female sport has a small audience because largely women are not interested in watching it. Performative nonsense like reading out a women's fixture like roma v wolfsburg which has no Irish connection and less interest here than a leitrim junior league game won't change that.

Well said.

JD will make a point of giving out "DRL Waves" latest scores alongside Premier League on a Saturday. One is a.muti billion dollar Global franchise and the other is amateur Park football. Its absurd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Bayern currently 2-0 up away to Juventus. And Barcelona hosting Hammarby at 8.00pm. Thanks Ritchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Lads ye would.want to get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Oh yeah I've no issue with it, just saying it's easy to spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Sono

100%

I will never understand why people will listen to something that clearly winds them up only to come on here and slate it, very odd behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Paterson Jerins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,210 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

You think that's the triggered post?

We've seen more examples of snowflake behavior on this thread than anywhere else on the site. And that's saying something.

It's embarrassing behavior from what are grown men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Modern discourse 101 - I hate this thing so much and boy am I going to tell everybody I can from my anonymous soap box.

Women sports will never grow unless some level of media exposure is given to it. If you don't like the content - "move the dial" or just find a new hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,447 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

There's no hate here, nor soap boxing but a bit of a reality check that reading out fixtures that are of little interest to the audience in is nothing more than slacktivism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Remember, folks. You don't have the right to review/provide an opinion on the content that a radio show is producing. Just listen to it, yeah?