Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Israel are going to start WWIII

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,617 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Yes he is bad- he propped up Hamas to forestall a two state solution. Finally you have abandoned your right wing hypocrisy and acknowledge he is bad. Well done Sean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭REDBULL68

Going by the announcements, that the US are sending the super doper anti missile system next week, I'd say its already in place and Israel will attack Iran fri or Sat, ya don't tell people unless it's already there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,785 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The more advanced the war technology, the more civilians needless die.

The more civilians are targeted, the more civilians needlessly die.

Israel have demonstrated that they have absolutely no qualms about murdering innocents, destroying civilian infrastructure, targeting medical personnel, killing international journalists, or cutting off much needed supplies to a starving people. They have levelled Gaza and made the area uninhabitable in the hope that the Palestinians will just fuck off and have been gradually stealing land and illegally occupying it for decades in the West Bank.

Absolutely none of it is down to accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭yagan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭brickster69

Strange times lads, send them weapons, don't sanction them, support and justify everything but don't mention genocide whatever you do.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

There is a lot of focus on the needless killing and maiming of civilians but we also have to look at what Israel has done to the country. As you said, it has been levelled. It is unihabitable.

This is a UN report from November 2023 (don't expect cheerleaders to read it). Imagine how bad it is now. 45% of housing units were destroyed in Nov 2023.

Gaza: Destroying civilian housing and infrastructure is an international crime, warns UN expert | OHCHR

The world must act now to end the horrifying and massive attacks against civilian housing and infrastructure in Gaza, which comes at a tremendous cost to human life, a UN expert said today.

“Carrying out hostilities with the knowledge that they will systematically destroy and damage civilian housing and infrastructure, rendering an entire city – such as Gaza city - uninhabitable for civilians is a war crime,” said Balakrishnan Rajagopal, the UN Special Rapporteur on the right to adequate housing.

The expert said systematic or widespread bombardment of housing, civilian objects and infrastructure are strictly prohibited by international humanitarian law, criminal law and human rights law.

“Such acts amount to war crimes and when directed against a civilian population, they also amount to crimes against humanity,” Rajagopal said.

….

I also notice this UN report from 2018 which was interesting. Israel sure do hate the UN spying on them.

Gaza "Unliveable", UN Special Rapporteur for the Situation of Human Rights in the OPT Tells Third Committee - Press Release (Excerpts) - Question of Palestine

With an economy in free fall, 70 per cent youth unemployment, widely contaminated drinking water and a collapsed health care system, Gaza has become “unliveable”, the Special Rapporteur on human rights in the Palestinian Territories told the Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural) today, insisting that all parties — particularly Israel — bring an end to “this disaster”.

MICHAEL LYNK, Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights in the Palestinian Territories Occupied Since 1967, drew attention to Israel’s persistent non-cooperation with the Special Rapporteur’s mandate.  As with his two predecessors, Israel has not granted him entry to visit the country, nor the Occupied Palestinian territory.  He recalled that cooperation is a fundamental obligation of the Charter of the United Nations.  The World Bank described Gaza’s economy in free fall, contracting by 6 per cent during the first quarter of 2018.  In fact, the United Nations has stated that Gaza may well be unliveable by 2020:  safe drinking water has almost disappeared, the economy is cratering and “the state of unlive-ability is upon us”, he said, urging the international community to insist that all parties bring an immediate end to this disaster.

Not genocide though. Fair play.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

They knew an attack was planned . That's all i am getting from that article ? They didnt know the exact attack was planned on Oct 7th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I dont see why, china always play the long game , they have no recent history of frontal invasion type stuff and it would be bad for business.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,407 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

That is unbelievable. Is she not aware that bombing of schools, hospitals etc is completely illegal under international law, even if those doing the bombing are of the opinion that terrorists are hiding out there? She is literally claiming the commission of war crimes are acceptable. Imagine her claiming that a hospital or school in Tel Aviv would be a legitimate target for Hamas if they felt there were some IDF or Mossad people inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭thereiver

I read that the IDF s policy in Lebanon is troops move forward they shoot anyone they see. This will result in massive civilian casualties

This is described in an article see guardian UK /comment

Im not sure why they are shooting at UN peacekeepers

They are breaking international law by blocking food supplys to gaza if this trend to shoot civilians continues Lebanon could be another gaza in terms of civiliian casualties

Post edited by thereiver on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,407 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Apparently, Netanyahu told Biden in a private conversation that civilians are a legitimate target for Israel, as the US had done this many times in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Well, they could have actually taken the initiative to allow the international sympathy gained after 7 October to actually build empathy for their side of the story and shown restraint instead of enacting vengeance. Hamas is not capable of consistently launching similar style attacks and the Israelis are well capable, on full alert, to defend their border. This was Israel's opportunity to show that it is genuinely only concerned with defending itself, not being the attacking party.

Hamas, and those who back them, knew exactly what they were doing on 7 October and Israel has walked straight into the trap — like their American allies post 9/11 they have escalated the issue beyond the Rubicon, instigated wars they have no ability to win in anything beyond the short term, sown an entire new generation of new (and probably stronger than ever) hatred against them — and they look to be testing the resolve of their most important ally.

Restraint, a longer term view of the operation, not reacting with vengeful emotion. That's what they should have done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

They are literally burning civilians alive in tents located in what are supposed to be safe zones right in front of your eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭2Greyfoxes

Yes, it is a war crime, not sure any one is seriously denying that.

Not all War crimes are Genocide.

Clever word play may win debates, but it doesn't make it true.

Understanding and explaining things, is not the same as justifying them, if in doubt… please re-read this statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,312 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Yes the West is really in trouble. That thin veil of righteousness has more and more holes.

In Germany it is stated national interest to support Israel. It's as good as written into the constitution. It is not but it might as well be the sentiment is so strong and for obvious reasons. And so Germany continues to deliver heavy weaponry to Israel - along with the US & UK. I think they are the only three major players left doing so at this point.

But even the German Greens with current foreign minister Baerbock - who is as thick, ignorant and stubborn as they come when it comes to western righteousness - paused and asked for some assurances from Israel wrt those weapon sales. Obviously in conjunction with SPD chancellor Scholz.

And the fact they did that is being made a major topic by conservative opposition in the parliament. In unison with conservative MSM they go 'how dare they'. As in what a scandal they should resign over it. Just asking for assurances German weaponry will not be used in massively disproportionate responses causes such outrage. So thats how 'committed' Germany is and that obviously has a huge influence on what the EU can do or not do.

So between a EU paralysed by Germany's stance, a fully committed UK and the US being what it is - this is how it unfolds in front of us. In years to come people will look back in horror and say omg and the world just stood by and watched. But thats whats happening apparently and I dont see a way out.

Post edited by CalamariFritti on

Morw than likely China is watching what goes on in the various conflicts where the USA has some commitment, and gathering as much data on military performance, capability, and what not.

Seeing how the USA responds is a way for China to make a more calculated action.

The USA may be a colossal military engine, the likes this planet has never seen before, but even they can be undone by geographical limitations. 3 separate conflicts scattered around the globe will put a heavy strain on their ability to come to the aid if their allies.

Understanding and explaining things, is not the same as justifying them, if in doubt… please re-read this statement.

What do you describe it as ... slaughter of civilians, mass murder, extermination of undesirables. As the murder in North Gaza ramps up when does it switch to a genocide of gazans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭scottser

James O'Brien made the point yesterday that it took over a year to get to the levels of Israeli inhumanity we are seeing currently. You don't go straight in to firebombing refugee camps and killing journalists, aid workers and UN staff - you have to work up to it.

Genocide

noun

the deliberate killing of a large number of people from a particular nation or ethnic group with the aim of destroying that nation or group.

"a campaign of genocide"

Israel while being absolute war mongers are not aiming to destroy a nation or a ethnic group. If they were, they wouldn't have any Arab nationals in their country, and most certainly not have Arabs in high positions of power.

It is a very complex situation, that doesn't fall nearly into a small category. If Israel were in the process of trying to wipe out the Arab population in that part of the world then it would be a Genocide.

Edit.

Israel are committing several war crimes, that is what they are guilty of. Again, war crimes, that is what Israel are in the process of doing against civilians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,949 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Do Israel blow them up or do Hamas use them as shields? If you build your base of communications at a hospital you are putting your own people in danger are you not?

Human shields? That's the Israeli justification for blowing up hospitals and schools.

When you look at the damage in Gaza it's hard to argue that Israel does precision bombing.

Every dead infant would have been a future Hamas mastermind seems to be the Israeli justification.

I suppose the fact that it is complicated might be of some comfort to the children videoed burning alive, them and the 40k other people. It is clear as day that is real is hell bent on ethnic cleansing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Screenshot_20241011-110029.png

That's one section you comment on. What do you think about destroying the vast amount of hospitals, schools, housing, water treatment and power facilities all while deliberately withholding food. Do you think that would maybe fall under point 3?

I really don't believe the Hamas command center defense will stand up in court, nor will using the excuse that a single Hamas fighter in a school is a reasonable excuse to drop a 2000lb bomb on and kill dozens of women and children etc...

Would it be permissable for another country to engage in all out war against Israel considering the threatening rhetoric of the current Israeli Government towards them

Would you take issue with someone describing the deaths and starvation of Israeli civilians in that scenario as just unfortunate because it was total war?

You have set a dangerous precedent: any country can now engage in total war and if any other country objects they can point to Israel and say commiting war crimes, while regrettable, is justified because they are engaging in what they believe to be self defense. We should just forget about international law and laws of war altogether.

I am beginning to think David Mc Williams might be right afterall when he said politically the EU wield no power against Israel but economically they do because trade with the EU is worth 48 billion to Israel. If the EU grew a pair and threatened to cease all trade with Israel Bibi would soon be reined in. Unfortunately the EU won't go against the Americans.

Some EU members have already gone against Israel's genocide by recognising the Palestinian state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭brickster69

Looks like that mossad spy Iranian general who was assasinated a few weeks back made a swift recovery

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭thatsdaft

Largest export destination in EU is Ireland, as I illustrated earlier we import more from Israel than Italy or Spain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Yes, the US are stretched, I get the trade problems with China but I dont see any winnable conflict for the US at the moment. There has to be more to the US than simply being a blowhard, meanwhile the Chinese are bound to be sharing/selling manufacturing abilities to Russia and Iran. Geo-politically the US made a huge mistake by driving Russia and China together, Kissinger would be spinning…

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Israel while being absolute war mongers are not aiming to destroy a nation or a ethnic group. If they were, they wouldn't have any Arab nationals in their country, and most certainly not have Arabs in high positions of power.

Lets be clear here. The very existence of israel was built on the genocide of the Palestinians by zionists. The israeli state could not have been formed without the ethnic cleansing of Palestinians and zionists were quite open about driving out Palestinians and calling for mass migration to displace them. Any Arabs inside the occupied territories of israel are merely those Palestinians who israel hasn't genocided yet. Yet being the key term.

Netanyahu himself described the Palestinians as being a "demographic bomb".