Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Shooting yourself in the foot. Repeatedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,108 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Its so hard being a Connacht fan....

Braindead

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Tommybojangles

Here we are saying it again the f****** headless bullshit we have to watch every week since this management came in in embarrassing. I know players have to take some initiative but nonsense like the free kick has to be cut out. We're seeing this kind of crap again and again and again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Even after tonight we'll get the same "Not our night but a brave performance" excuses. It was a woeful showing, complete implosion even before the red and plenty of lads that didn't look related to professional rugby players.

We had to win tonight to show we improved from last year. We'll have the same useless coaching ticket of Wilkins, Sexton, Muldoon and co for another few years yet too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Someone please check the carbon monoxide alarms at the Sportsground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Could easily have come away with 5 points there. So many stupid decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Prendergast should know better but the staff should have him prepared better too. Down three on the road kickable penalty take three end of discussion. Particularly when a good kick from Ioane would leave you ten metres out and a long way from being guaranteed a try.

Also Ioane is clearly a very volatile kicker to be kind, he shouldn’t be kicking anything when forde is on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Josh Murphy is borderline unplayable until he sorts out his discipline. It's absolutely shocking. Yellow and a red card today. Think he gave away 5 or 6 penalties last week.

Twice now Ioane has kicked the ball dead with the game in the balance. Once can happen but to do it twice in four games is brutal.

I'll give Cordero the benefit of the doubt. He's done feck all so far but he's basically still finding his way back post ACL. But I thought Hansen didn't look arsed tonight in general. Fell off loads of tackles.

Very disappointing that we let a poor ulster side off the hook. A few years ago you'd have said 2 points away to ulster is a good night's work but ulster are in bad shape and looked particularly vulnerable here having had lots of injuries and travel under their belt.

Too many silly things happen with Connacht on a consistent basis for us to be taken seriously. The raw materials are there to be a good team but we lack the composure, ruthlessness and discipline to make the next step.

There's no lack of effort from players or management and the spirit looks decent in the group to be fair but it still feels like we are self sabotaging ourselves with poor coaching and haphazard recruitment.

Completely agree on Hansen and like the guy generally speaking but his attitude/approach was unacceptable and a very poor look.

He should be dropped for a game at least. Dropping him for home game v Leinster would send right message that nobody is above having to meet minimum standards. Besides with the way he played tonight, you would be better off with anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Mack wasn't brilliant but it's his his 4th? game in 10 months. I'd let him play his way back into form. He hasn't been awful.

Kicking for touch and missing it was a poor decision. I get the thought behind it; 2 maul tries. But you have to execute then. Taking a quick tap earlier was a bad call as well.

All told over the first 4 games it's a mixed bag but more positive than negative. 3 potentially tough away games with 8 points taken and 5 from the only home game, albeit we got put of jail there.

There's clearly a better belief in the team this year, I genuinely think last year we would be 0 from 4 now.

The risk is things start to slip and these lose results go against us. Hopefully the management can keep the positives and knock off the brain farts

This time last year we had 3 wins from 4 playing probably similar quality teams overall. The warning signs are already there and I think we could be in for another rough day at the office next weekend, even if it's a second string Leinster side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Ulster, Glasgow and Ospreys and home with Edinburgh away. Wouldn't agree those are similar. 3 home last year 3 away this year for starters. And it was coming off a WC cycle

I think the early fixtures fell well last year.

Agree it could be rough next week. Would take a LBP or TBP.

No issue with anyone having a bad game but half hearted (at best) efforts shouldn’t be tolerated, a number of tackles he would absolutely make in an Ireland shirt he just fell off.

He looked like he would rather be anywhere else. Maybe there’s an understandable reason for that but if there is give him some time off. If there isn’t it’s not acceptable and he shouldn’t be picked against Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,858 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

There's lots of talent in that squad, the blame is firmly on the coaches and management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭OldRio

Sorry but it's not all on the coaches. Discipline and execution of simple kicks is an individuals responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭HBC08

Its frustrating alright,that was a weak Ulster team.

You cant blame management for Ioane missing very gettable kicks,or him taking the decision to go for touch at the end and then the unforgiveable execution. Neither can you blame them for a poor referee coming down on the side of Ulster or a moment of madness from Murphy.

They can be blamed for lots of things but not the moments that lost Connacht that game.

Its a dual responsibility. A strong management wouldn't tolerate that thuggery from Murphy. He almost cost us the game last week with a succession of brainless penalties and his carry on last night was disgusting. A strong management would nip that in the bud. After last week he should have been focused on being physical but disciplined. Whatever ban he gets shouldn't be appealed on a technicality or whatever. He needs to take responsibility for that and management do too. If he comes back and it happens again he should be let return to his medical career.

The execution of simple kicks not coming off is 100% on management. It's clear Ioane carries a threat in attack but isn't a kicking option. He was a desperation signing in a position where we have ignored the problem for a number of years. If he's our 10 we need an appropriate kicking option Similarly Hanrahan should only have been a short term 1 year option while we figured out a long term plan but this management (coaching and upstairs) have ignored the elephant in the room for years and when you do that and get in lads who aren't up to it they will crumble in key moments.

'The execution of simple kicks not coming off is 100% on management' That is nonsensical. It's entirely on the player.

If you mean the player shouldn't be taking the kicks in the first place I agree.

Regarding Murphy. His ill discipline is his own fault. He has to own that. Blaming his thuggish behaviour on others is diminishing his own responsibility. I would imagine his failings to himself and his team will be clearly spelt out this week.

Ultimately its two sides of the one coin. It's like for example putting a first year apprentice wiring a house and then blaming him when it goes up in flames. You can blame the person you brought in out of desperation for getting it wrong or you can look at your recruitment process and see that it was poor planning from Connacht in the first place that left them with inadequate options. If you want to blame a sub standard player for not being up to scratch that's fair enough but blaming someone for not being capable of doing a job they're not able to seems pointless.

I never said Murphy didn't have to own it. He behaved like a thug and should accept the consequences but clearly the message about his indiscipline in Wales last week didn't get through during the week so I don't know why you expect it will get through this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Coach's live and die on the performances of their teams. This team is assembled and selected by the coaches and the outcomes on the pitch will determine the future of the coaches. As it should be.

I am much happier with our intent and style of play so far this season than I was last season. I am not unhappy with the outcome of 13 points from a possible 20 to date.

Heffernan, Joyce, Prendergast and Bmurphy were excellent yesterday and bundi, Bealham Sean o Brien were solid.

Our back 3 are a slight concern. Cordero seems good positionally but not great under high ball and a little headless in attack. Mack looked great first 3 weeks but looked Injured yesterday and a bit off but he's quality and I'd back him. Bolton needs a run of games.

I'm a big Josh Murphy fan, we desperately need his dog but it comes at a price sometimes. I'd play him every week because no one else in our team has his fight. Of course you want to channel it a bit better but let's be honest he took a yellow for the team in a maul on his own line. I've no issue with this. Silly and costly red though.

Lastly, well done Ulster they targeted our ruck and brought huge physicality that took us 30 mins to get to grips with. Let's hope they bring the same to games against others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭FtD v2

So much of what has been good about Connacht’s pack’s performances over the past few weeks has been the intensity and aggression Josh Murphy has brought.

Especially the last two weekends he’s gotten that completely wrong and become a liability but would agree, when he gets it sorted he’s still a starter in that pack for me who is crucially important. The comments calling him a thug etc from other posters to me are harsh and unfair.

Pete Wilkins and Co deserved a lot of criticism last season, but this year to me Connacht look a lot better coached team with a coherent shape and attack. Josh Ioane (who’s largely been a good signing) has made two complete brain farts in 2 games, which have massively cost the team. That’s not on Wilkins for me.

I also think they came out on the wrong side of seem really questionable and significant decisions last night which had an outsized impact on the game.

Josh is hardly a first year apprentice? Therefore the comparison is frankly ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

Ioane is the Kiwi Jack Carty, hope they didn't pay to much for him. That's twice in 2 winnable matches he's made a balls of it

OK say putting a 1st line support person on charge of the back end server if you want another comparison. Ultimately you're putting someone at a job they're not capable of doing. A smarter person than me would come up with a more appropriate analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I do think that Murphy has added some badly needed aggression and dog to the Connacht pack this season. Who were probably a bit too nice last year. 5 or 6 pens conceded last week and a yellow and a red this week is just overstepping the line though.

Just watching the replay this morning and Ioane missed that touch by a mile. it wasn't even close. Really lost control of the kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭lavrenti

Josh Murphy will have a 3 or 4 game ban to work on how to channel his aggression. We need his aggression. He's a bloody good forward, but at this rate of transgression he's making Abraham Papali'i look like a saint!

Agree Mack was poor last night (he waved Timoney through for the winning try) and if he's not held back by Ireland from the game against Leinster next weekend he should start 15. Cordero has been poor and needs to be dropped. Bring Jennings or Smith in at 14 and leave Bolton at 11. Next weekend also we need Forde either at 10 or at 12 to cover the kicks if either Carty or Ioane are selected at 10.

The pack I thought were very good last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭digger958

Couple of things here. Cordero is a winger by nature so Jennings at full back sounds good.

As for previous post about trip to Perpignan. Flights with Aer Lingus to Barcelona turn out at 250 for 2 13th to 18th. Train to Barcelona Central station, train to Perpignan, stay 5 nights in Perpignan. Accomodations plus travel adds up to just below 600. Bit of grub, beer, game and extras means a decent week for not too much expense.

Also Josh Murphy was excellent the first two games. He just has over intensified his efforts. Still a great man to have. Love his aggression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,858 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You can literally blame every try conceded down to poorly coached maul defense and missed tackles. Players aren't being thrown a tackle bag during the week by Wilkins and Co and hoping for the best. These are pressure situations, that despite it not appearing that way, are actually worked on by the coaching staff. I don't know what Mul is coaching for Lineouts and we've certainly not improved defensively under Fardy too.

Things like Murphy getting sent off are anomalies. The game was lost on a lot more than that red and Ioane's poor kicking.

I'm not saying the players are without fault either but it doesn't surprise me that things have gone to absolute shite since Friendy's farewell season. I genuinely believe this is the best squad we've had in nearly a decade and any supporter being honest with themselves should be able to admit that we dropped 2 points rather than gained them at the weekend. That was an understrength Ulster side.