Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭rrs

A few of them would be interesting whether they will be all passed. But a ordinary Club game would be hard to official with so many rule changes. Passing back to the keeper needs to be gone, 3 up at all times would be good.

GAA change the rules nearly every year not a easy job for a ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

How could a ref possibly police 3 left up. It's impossible at club level and at county level would need massive investment in either body sensors or vision systems.

Be tough yea. The Railway Cup games are being televised on Friday and Saturday, see whats it like then.

Looks like another refereeing blunder in the relegation playoff tonight. Ball handpassed into the goal, not touched by McKenna before going over the line and goal given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

It was more a blunder by the umpires. In fairness to Noel Mooney it was a quick break by Laragh and he was chasing the play. The umpires need to be spotting that though. What’s the point of them being there?

Jim Giblin was also on the sideline I think (he and John Emo were linesmen) and he definitely should have seen it as the whole stand could.

Regardless, Laragh were the better of two bad teams. Unless they book lads flights home for next year, they’ll be joining their neighbours quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭celt262

From the clip i seen it's looks like he didn't get a touch and even if he did get a faint touch the ball had probably crossed the line at that stage anyway. Poor work by the umpires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭tazman06

I feel it'll self police. As both need 3 back, if one more goes up, then the defence or such highlights to the linesman. Ref will cop it and eventually they simply won't try it if giving away a foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭mylestheslasher

Maybe but a club level with no linesmen nor neutral umpires I can't see how that can possibly be policed to any reasonable level.

The rules need to be capable of being managed by 1 man to suit club level football.

They went through it on RTE earlier. It's probaly a change at once but some would be good if it they get passed.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2024/1009/1474500-running-the-rule-proposed-changes-to-gaelic-football/

It’ll be interesting to see how the new rules will affect the coaching of players. For example, WAC mentioned that Cavan played two nippy light forwards in Daragh Lovett & Devine, I think it was, to make the most of the reduced cover in defence.

Also, I wonder what will happen re the 3 up/3 down in juvenile games where it’s 11 or 13 a side and sometimes a reduced pitch.

In all fairness referees already are struggling to police the rules that are there so it’s going to be very difficult now.

Also more emphasis on the man markers. Teams were flooding numbers back so it wasn't really a battle with a back and forward. They will need good pace with all the space to exploit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭etuzyuk

Always very wary when I hear of rule changes. Enforcement of rules is not exactly prevalent in GAA culture.

Tap and go is good addition. 3 at the back ok, for a brave team will mean all their runners can't be tracked and maybe more options off the shoulder in opposition half although difficult for referees.

Some of the others sound daft. And still nothing on swarm tackling or steps. If 4 steps was enforced properly and the tackle rule, the game would benefit. Pulling and dragging, wrapping an opponent up, throwing an arm into them as they pass, grabbing their trailing arm. These are all illegal under the rules. So is taking 10 steps.

1 v 1 thrown ins, scoring zones, 2 point kicks and 4 point goals

Pat Clarke was consistent with the rules of the game, and he brought the ball on for both side's after any indiscipline, Gowna management were like animals on the line, and shouldn't be tolerated by the county board, the elderly guy who came on the field after was part of more than a 100 people on the field, something mccabe said to him definitely riled him and he confronted mccabe but the kicks that knocked him to the ground and boot's and punches and standing on him was hard to watch and whatever players done it should face heavy bans and even criminal charges,

Think those will be fine. Goals used to be 5 before. 4 is OK. 2 points too. If the game opens up better we'll be used to these in no time

I agree that he probably shouldn't have been on the field but there were hundreds on the field, I know Tynan since underage football with Cavan and he was very passionate and maybe to a fault, but he never looked for a row but if it came to him he never backed down and I firmly believe that something was said to him for him to square up to mccabe, what happened to him afterwards was a scandal, cheap shots boots kicks all while he was on the ground, I heard he had at least 3 surgeries on his arm and shoulder and he has a permanent injury for the rest of his life, I'm sure he regrets going down that side of the field and I'm not a Ramor man but I watched his kid's crying in the stand watching him being attacked, players should be banned and I'm sure the gardai will be involved, and rightly so, these guys are doing this for a long time now but they made the mistake of doing it all in front of thousands and cameras, I wish Tynan well and I know he's passionate and maybe should stay off social media but he's never too far wrong in what he says

Man is a clown and well known to be. He's fairly wrong in what he says on his personal twitter. He would do well to soul search, keep quiet, and keep off pitches in future

Good to hear a totally impartial opinion from a new poster who definitely isn't one of the people involved.

Could you give any insight to what you believe was said between the two? And he didn’t square up to McCabe, he started to physically shoulder him.

If his kids were in the stand, he should have been more concerned with caring for them and celebrating the win with them rather than going on the pitch to get involved in an altercation.

Hopefully the County board have the sence now to give him the maximum ban from all GAA activities including attending games. Cant have people going onto pitches and squaring up to opposition management no matter what has happened.

He shouldn't have been used as a punch bag either so players involved in that need looking into aswell.

I don't see what problems they're trying to solve. Will probably lead to more problems.

Zones will leave it harder to referee and doubt it will lead to any improvements in open play. Changing points for goals is pretty random.

If you want to open the game up enforce the steps and tackle rule and ban the swarm tackle. Then tweak rules afterwards by all means if you think it's needed. That's my take on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Can't see the referee been able to monitor the scoring arc at club level with linesmen who are not neutral and the amount of controversy that would cause.

If there is 3 up at all times more chance of teams creating goal chances. A lot of teams happy to just fist it over the bar. Putting it up to 4 pts might give them more incentive to look for goal.

The 2pts for outside the 40 will likely cause issues. Not like they have var to fix it.

I did say the 3 up rule might be ok for braver teams. But there's too many rules there fall into the might or random categories and not very obvious how they'll improve the game. The advanced mark is even one brought in because of a previous change that did nothing for the game.

Again I'm not against rule changes but enforce the ones we already have. Enforce the steps and tackle and address the swarm tackle. Then look where the game is at and see what's needed.

I wouldn't have a clue what was said but I know Tynan and I know he wouldn't have followed mccabe for no reason, if you look at the video yeah he gave mccabe a slight shoulder and if you think that's assault then what would you call what happened after that, if Tynan wanted to assault mccabe he wouldn't do it in front of his kids, and he wouldn't just push him

Ok move on its discussed enough here.

I'm not involved but I've seen posts all over the country about this incident, as I said I do know Tynan from county football years ago and he was always very passionate for club and county, I haven't seen or spoken to him in years as I don't be around cavan, what I seen last weekend was an act of total violence no matter what way you try to look at it, yeah Tynan shouldn't have been where he was but there were 100s of others who shouldn't have been on the field, to me it looked like mccabe said something to him for him to follow him , if you want to call that assault what would you like to call what happened after? Tynan or mccabe never looked like they were going to fight and had they been left alone thats as far as it would have went, ban Tynan from football for coming on the field along with 100s of others? What do you think the appropriate punishment should be for those who cowardly attacked and drew boots into him on the ground

I don't see his twitter as I don't use it, what does he say that makes him a clown? He was always outspoken but an intelligent guy, all I'm saying is no matter what he said on social media I'm sure he had his reasons to call mccabe out, to me if the 2 had been left alone it never looked like they were going to fight but 3rd parties who knocked him to the ground and began to kick and stamp on him need more soul searching