Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭tazman06

How can he square charity work and mental health stuff with being openly racist and hateful to minorities? He cannot have this both ways

Yes. I've a personal problem with racists. Also he's a hypocrite as he was an immigrant in his past too

You're fooling nobody here Martin. So transparent it's ridiculous

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Tynan never hid behind different names not like the gobshites on here, he always faced the public as himself and has bigger balls than me or you

Did I say he wasn't? But he's lived abroad, so he's been an immigrant, but now complains about immigrants. Hypocrite

My point being that he has been a immigrant, yet now complains about immigrants. He's a hypocrite

You're fooling no one Martin. No one bats this hard for anyone. I wouldn't even for my own best mate if he did what you did last weekend. Grow up, coming in here with a new account pretending you're not him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Who has confirmed it for you? What membership does he pay for himself? Not for any children now, for his own registration with the GAA.

Why do you constantly mention him being a father of 4? It’s not exactly a relevant point. Is a person a lesser person if they’ve 2 or 3 kids? Are they a better person if they've ten? I fail to see the need to constantly reference that he has four children. If anything, as I’ve already said, he should have been more worried about them than abandoning them to invade the pitch.

Sounds like he has something to hide to be honest if he won’t reveal what was said to him. Either way, no matter what someone says to a person, you can’t turn around and chase after them and start shouldering them.

What exactly are the “life threatening injuries”? He posted himself that he had a broken shoulder bone. I wouldn’t wish one on anyone but it’s not “life threatening”.

Post edited by Cavan_King on

In fairness he's been very clear that it's not him. He just knew him 30 years ago and followed his movements very closely since and seems to harbour deep affection and awe for the man and be able to guess his inner thoughts. We have no reason not to believe him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

WAC did a great podcast on the game, brilliant interview with Jim Gavin. Players mentioned included Evan Crowe, Peter Devine, Sean Clarke, Rory Curran along with the names mentioend above. Ray on the free podcast was saying he was hoping to bring in a number of new faces to keep the panel fresh and was happy that lads responded to come in for a friendly at this stage in the year. Wasn't all new faces, both Oisin Kiernans, Faulkner, Oisin Brady, Darragh Lovett, Gary O'Rourke and the Gunner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭ipitydafool

Wow, came in this morning expecting to see all the new posts about the Junior and Intermediate club finals this weekend but last weekend fracas still being brought up. Better if it left to the relevant bodies to sort out at this stage but I will add that early last week, distance was definitely being put from the person in question and Ramor, the membership aspect was mentioned by people specifically involved in that club and not sure they would have reason to lie about it, if so easy to disprove.

Thought Belturbet did a good job putting it up to Knockbride on Saturday evening in the first half but Knockbride had that extra class in the end, they will be delighted to have gotten out of Junior, had too strong a team and panel of players coming through for the last few years. Belturbet are in good shape to make another run at it next year, playing Divison 2 will help and seem to have gotten some extra scoring power this year than before when overly reliant on Enda Henry. The wing forward Colm Dennehy in particular was very good whenever I seen him in the championship and got a couple from play on Saturday night.

Didnt get to see the Intermediate final, only some Twitter updates but some going from Arva, that is 4 from 4 in finals in the last 12 months. Anyone know what the injury to Holla was? must of been bad to force him off and he looked like he was on crutches after accepting the cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭etuzyuk

I don't know why anyone is doubting unbelievablegeoff's "integrity". Shocking stuff :)

I mean, if a guy i barely knew, who I played football with 30 years ago was involved in an incident, the first thing I would do is get onto boards.ie to set the record straight. But wait a minute geoff, you said you felt strongly enough on needing to comment as you saw the "crap people are posting all week"?? But you're only a boards.ie member since the 12th? Are you psychic that you know what's happening on boards talking about Tynan and need to come over, create an account and then wade in? Totally unsuspicious, happens all the time. :)

Wait a minute, didn't you say you in one of your posts that you know Tynan and you know "he wouldn't have followed McCabe for no reason" but then a post later you only know him from underage football? Hmmmm.

Then you're not about in Cavan so you don't really know much about Tynan, yet you do know that Tynan's kids play for Ramor. Hmmm.

You don't know Tynan or much happening in Cavan but somehow you now know that Tynan didn't apologise for comments made over a pulled podcast where serious allegations were made? Hmmmm.

You haven't spoken to Tynan and don't know what McCabe is alleged to have said to him and yet you claim that Tynan "has said it's something he will not reveal in a court of law". Hmmmmm

And whilst not following Twitter or anything to do with Tynan you're seriously quick off the mark to talk about all his charity work. I hope anyone I played underage football with 30 years or so ago are as interested in my life now. You're some man Geoff!

"Tynan never hid beding different names not like the gobs*tes on here". Errrm, didn't he have a log in here in the past, quoting stuff that was said on same podcast. Hmmmmm.

Geoff, it's a real tough one to square all those circles. It's such a complicated one to solve, we might need the Scooby Do gang to come in and solve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭rrs

Good young team Knockbride and great for them to win a Junior. Gave a good account of themselves in Div 1 this year and missed out on Junior last year as Arva were very strong so it was on the cards, but these things don't always work out. You still need to go out on Breffni and perform in a final if you want championship laurels. Well done to everyone in the club.

Another fantastic achievement for Arva. 4 finals in 12 months is indeed some going. Will take a bit of beating with that mentality if they stay injury free.

Best of luck to the 2 of them in Ulster. It will be interesting to see how they match up. I see on other forums there's a fair bit of bitching from certain Northern people on the Cavan system, and sending "senior teams" 😅 into the Junior and Intermediate championships. Hope we rub their noses in it and feck the begrudgers.

Massive pressure on Knockbride, played well in division one and everyone was saying they would walk Junior. Cavan teams have done well in Ulster in Junior so hopefully they give it a right rattle.

Arva are just incredible. When you think back to 2022- they went into that final as strong favourites having given Drumlane a right trimming in the group stage. Would have been easy for lads to walk away then, but that's some run they have put together. No doubting their class but I was wondering how much they would have in them after being on the go non-stop since last year and they did look leggy at times against the Cucus. But they're a different beast and probably saved their best for the final, which shows their class. Looked like the Holla got a bad knock on the ankle scoring his goal, hope it's nothing serious. Ballyhaise showed last year that a strong Cavan intermediate team has enough to go all the way, but the Holla would need to be fit to drive them on.

Beat me to it KTF, and much more succint than I was :)

Yes I was going to mention about the Ulster club championship in my post but forgot, definitely be interesting to see how they get on, hopefully Knockbride will see what going on the run Arva went on last year can do and give it a good rattle as they definitely will have to be one of the stronger Junior clubs in the competition. If Holla out for an extended period of time can see Arva maybe running out of steam at some stage, their players have been on the go an awfully long period of time now considering the Junior club they won was last January, hopefully I am wrong and Finbar O'Reilly has them very well coached plus they have dept there but still near impossible to replace someone like Holla if he is out for any of it.

Northerners can go and have one, every county free to have whatever structure they vote and wish for, none are without flaws but one thing is for sure, it wasn't designed by us in Cavan so we could be sending 'senior teams' into these championships 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭rrs

I think Arva kicked the final away in 22. They changed free taker 3 times in that final. Finbar Reilly, Stephen Smith and Ivors S/C coach have done a great job with them since taking over last year. They had the players as the bulk of them played underage at some stage with Cavan.

I see Mickey Graham could be part of McCabe's management team with Westmeath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭celt262

Be interesting to see if Graham lands there with McCabe alright after he stepped down in Leitrim they wouldn't be to happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 breffnitightlips

Mickey Graham ▶️ Kilmacud Crokes

Post edited by breffnitightlips on

I think most of the online noise was coming from our annoying farney neighbours. Don't remember anyone in Armagh complaining about Cullyhanna being an intermediate team, and less said about Derry sending in back-to-back intermediate winners into Ulster…

Any idea on the Junior draw? I know we have Down for senior / intermediate.

I didnt see anything on the official Ulster gaa website but here- https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/gaa/ulster-club-championship-2024-draw-30080094 it is saying that Cavan play the winners of a preliminary round between Derry and Tyrone Junior club winners which seems to be Killeeshil St Mary's for Tyrone and Craigbane for Derry- can be sure both will be strong

Also shows the benefit of having our club championships finished in early/mid October, a week or two for celebrations and still time to get back at it for this competition then.

Does anyone know what happened with Graham and Leitrim exactly?

Rumour is that Leitrim were going to be down alot of bodies for next year with players going away or not committing and has got a better offer lined up but who knows for sure 🤷

Correct Ipitydafool, I believe it's the winners of Derry Tyrone. I'd agree with Baconsarnie, massive pressure on Knockbride to win the Junior. It's a monkey off their backs' now, a great run in Ulster or beyond would be terrific for the young group of players. Arva have a tougher task ahead and will definitely have a huge target over them. They've been on the go a while now for sure but if they have a full team out they will not lie down. 4 finals in 12 months is testament to that. You can be leggy, up against more talented opposition etc but sometimes that inner steel of just not giving up can go a long ways.

Not sure on Graham. He would have had plenty of offers to mull over but I just cannot see him teaming with McCabe! Leitrim buy in was poor I believe and they were down a good few players. If this is the only reason he had for leaving, it's probably poor form to back on your word.

That's my issue with all these rule changes. Swarm tackling is the root cause of a lot of problems. Even the blanket would be far less effective if there was no swarm tackle. If they are not willing to enforce steps and tackle and address the swarm tackle, I'd have absolutely no confidence in them whatsoever of making up rules to improve the game.