Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Just to be clear you are unwilling to answer the question? Not really surprised given how the select few self claimed "rational thinkers" are a carbon copy of each other. All bark, no substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

“The least thanked posts on here are the most accurate and realistic”. Such as allowing any AS anywhere in the world to go to any port in the world and be taken to Ireland no questions asked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,317 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Post edited by Backstreet Moyes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

We've seen it all before - 'Because the far-right parties didn't do well in the elections' - this is translated in some people's minds to - 'Everyone in the country is happy with the situation', and this means that the poster is now part of a large (yet imagined) majority, purely in their own heads.

That's the level we're at here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Ukrainian refugees don't need to be here. The choice, for them, is not between Ireland and a warzone.

Outside of the main urban centres and Eastern fringes Ukriane is relatively safe and habitable. It is a vast country, perfectly capable of accommodating its own refugees. Poland is available to those who still wish to leave the country: a culturally similar neighbour and bitter enemy of Russia. There are immediate, obvious options.

Even were there not, they are free to relocate almost anywhere else in Europe. Yet, a wildly disproportionate number have bypassed multiple safe jurisidiction to avail of Ireland's weakness, laxity, naivety and generousity. This is not by coincidence or accident.

We are being exploited under a cloak of a childish attempt at morality; with a ruthless corporate impetus being its hidden heart.

We are, as a nation, being planted and looted.

And we all know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Mainstream parties also know that this is a hot topic and that’s why they make a show of doing something to tackle this in the run up to an election. Something that is conveniently ignored by the people who claim “everyone is happy with the situation based on election results”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Why exactly do these people constantly go for the deliberate bad spelling - implying that anyone who could possibly disagree with them and the media must be educationally subnormal.

If there is a want of understanding somewhere it is surely those who cannot form a coherent argument, preferring mockery and childish name calling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Photobox

Is it any wonder. Words like 'flat earther' 'pro trump' been bandied about for anybody who has a concern with immigration. Childishly black and white view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

And we all know it.

What’s this ‘we’ business?

You’re free to tell yourself whatever you want, you’re not free to include people who don’t share your views. The only people Ukrainian refugees, or any refugees for that matter, need to be able to justify themselves to, are the authorities.

’We’ are not being exploited at all, nor ‘as a nation’ are ‘we’ being planted and looted. Ireland is fulfilling its international commitments in regards to refugees and asylum seekers. When other countries abandon their responsibilities, then it’s up to the remaining countries to provide protection under numerous international agreements.

It wouldn’t be any different if you were to up sticks and feck off to another country, appealing to their authority for asylum to be granted refugee status. From the way you’re talking about Ireland, I don’t expect it will be long now 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Yet another clear example of hateful disinformation being spread about IPA's.

Taking just your first claim that of the 30k+ arrivals between 2018 and 2022 only 5k reported they were in employment you ignored the following from the report I shared.

1. Approx 25% of those arrivals were children.
    2. A significant proportion were restricted from applying for employment. Almost half the total figure arrived in 2022 and those arriving in the last six months of the year, which was the majority or arrivals for that year, could not apply. "The disparity seen in 2022 is likely due to the rapid increase in international protection applications that year and the six-month waiting period to access the labour market."
    3. The report makes numerous references to the lack of available data on numbers taking up employment vs applications. Applicants are only recorded as being in employment where they and their employer return a form within 21 days. "Nonetheless, the data on the number of applicants in employment are poor. This is because, after entering employment, the applicant and the employer are required to submit a form containing details on the employment concerned within 21 days (Section 3.3) and not all applicants return their forms to indicate employment."
    4. Due to these data limitations more detailed research was undertaken into the employment status of communities with high IPA numbers. The report found that in the African community… "previous research found a higher unemployment rate among African nationals, the reasons for which were believed to be in part due to the length of time spent in the international protection system without access to work, new data indicate that the gap has now significantly decreased, with African nationals and Irish nationals on par for unemployment levels.

So tell us did you read the study and chose to ignore these points? Or did you just find the first figures you could use to make false and derogatory claims about IPAs and go with these?

For anyone genuinely interested in the economic impact of migration to the country, the report has numerous interesting findings on how still existing barriers to employment and integration could be tackled. Of course our so called 'patriots' ignore all this, instead choosing, as per usual, just to spread lies and hatred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

By "we" he means the far right echo chamber I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭tom23

Backic, McDonald and Cairns are all ideologically aligned on immigration. The only two parties that can put in any tighter controls on immigration are FG/FF and that won’t happen unless the whole fat arse falls out of the economy and its slashing budgets time. Until then there will be 20k or more arriving each year and taxpayers will pay for them. ireland as we knew up until 2015 is gone. It’s a different country now.

Good post. It's much more enjoyable for some to just take the route of dismissing facts and not reading articles of that type unfortunately. That's how misinformation spreads and a lot of people make easy money off it. It's easy to see how that happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Perhaps her wish to come here and build a better idea had something to do with the war that's happening in her country?

Pesky refugees, looking for a better life away from war!

By 'tighter controls on immigration ' you mean what exactly? Because you then go on to post about AS. So tighter controls on immigration ?

Completely - apparently voicing a concern that perhaps we should look a little deeper into the stories told by some who arrive and perhaps look into a possible criminal record is akin to wanting to create a version of Belsen on the Quays.

These people are unable to have a rational debate and one is badly needed.

You could miss the point by a greater distance but you'd need to get three trains and have a long walk.

Care to point out the hateful disinformation?….again twisting what was said into what you want to have been said. 🤣

My entire point was the report does not prove your assertion that there was "strong uptake". Everything you have quoted has just proven this. If anyone has misrepresented the article it is you - it does not back up what you implied it did. Again, you seem to struggle to understand the contents of what you post.

Post edited by twinytwo on

Read your post again… i think you should also look up the definition of an echo chamber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭enricoh

We are not being exploited at all- Why were Ukrainians 10 times more likely to pick Ireland last year than any other country in the EU?

Was it - the weather?

The Guinness?

Or the fact that paddy the eejit gave full dole, hotel room n meals?

A lot of people make easy money off it- is this the refugee industry you are talking about? Banty mcenaney will fill ye in about the easy money! That ain't a million dollar smile, bantys going for the billion- don't bet again him!

What have I fabricated? Why would I need your opinion? You made a statement about the creation of an echo chamber, incorrectly I will point out (again). People disagreeing with you does not make it an echo chamber. But by all means roll with whatever excuse you need.

Post edited by twinytwo on

Paddy the eejit, much like your stereotype of refugees only exists in your imagination.

I’m not interested in why asylum seekers are picking Ireland over other countries, I’m only interested in Irelands policies with regard to refugees. That’s what you and others don’t seem to get - asylum seekers have no say whatsoever in Irelands policies in relation to refugees, so they can’t be held responsible for the decisions of the Irish Government, they certainly aren’t responsible for International Human Rights Law, and they’re not responsible for having cause to leave their home country and seek asylum elsewhere.

Personally speaking, I’ve always been proud of Ireland’s international reputation as the land of a hundred thousand welcomes. It’d be a shame if the tiny minority of begrudgers had any say whatsoever in determining policy, and thankfully that‘s not happening either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Last polls I saw had 75-80% saying we had taken too many refugees, a tiny minority of begrudgers u might say!

Do u live in Ireland?

I’m not interested in polls. I’m referring to the tiny minority among the population who begrudge Ireland accommodating asylum seekers. There aren’t too many of those about, thankfully.

As for your question - I’m gonna need to see some ID, officer 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Ah not this guff of the hundred thousand welcomes, why not mention the famine while you're at it. When you have people sleeping on tents you stop adding more.

Or just make more room, which seems to be the approach the Irish Government are taking:

The Government is examining more than 90 submissions for properties to lease or purchase for asylum seeker accommodation.

At the end of April, the Department of Integration opened a submission process in a bid to source suitable properties for acquisition or lease as International Protection accommodation.

Meanwhile, the Department is working on establishing several “reception centres” as part of its response to a crisis in asylum seeker accommodation.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41466628.html

Just the same accounts in the comments sections really. A lot of the same people leaving comments under different alt accounts also. Most people don't bother reading them at this point I'd say. Fooling nobody at this stage. It's just a dopamine hit for far right types. Twitter is the same thing and… some forums. I can guarantee you that 99% of those commenters are card carrying Burke family supporters. Just look at their crazy videos and see the same accounts commenting things like "The Burkes are saving Ireland!!!" lol